Women wing, CAN condemns Boko Haram

Date: 06-08-2012 4:49 am (12 years ago) | Author: Steph.
- at 6-08-2012 04:49 AM (12 years ago)
…calls for nationwide prayer, fasting

The National Women Wing of Christian Association of Nigerian (WOWICAN) has condemned what it described as senseless killings and destruction of properties by the dreaded Boko Haram group saying “as women, our children and husbands are being killed on daily basis across the North”.

Speaking in Abuja on Thursday, the Acting National Chairperson of the association, Princess Liyel Lucy who led executives of the association on a courtesy call to the Executive Secretary of Universal Basic Education (UBEC) Dr. Ahmed Modibbo Mohammed called for a nationwide prayer and fasting to halt the killings.

While emphasizing on the need for peaceful co-existence among Nigerians regardless of their faith and ethnic background, Princess Lucy expressed optimism that prayers to God to stop the carnage across the country.

This was as she commended the federal government in its effort to create assess to basic education especially in the construction of almajiri schools across some Northern states as well as provision of infrastructure and learning materials through UBEC to primary schools in the country.

She however requested for support from the Commission to kick-start the nursery and primary school of the association which according to her has been slowed down by the paucity of funds and other logistics saying “it will be highly appreciated if you will use your good office and person to render the much needed assistance”.

Responding, the Executive Secretary of UBEC, Dr. Ahmed Modibbo Mohammed who praised the effort of the women to establish a school reiterated that the provision of quality education is everybody’s responsibility.

He noted that that faith based organizations worldwide are playing unique role in the provision of moral education and as such should be encouraged.

While giving assurance that WOWICAN would be supported provided that the school when operational would refrain from charging exorbitant fee adding that since schools in Anambra were returned to the missionaries the performance of the schools has remained the best in the country. 

Posted: at 6-08-2012 04:49 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- BendelArmedRobb at 6-08-2012 10:07 AM (12 years ago)
Naija i hear say Usain Bolt is origin from Nigeria   Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes    E real name na Olamide Olusegun Usain Balogun . Naija una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 6-08-2012 10:07 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BendelArmedRobb at 6-08-2012 10:36 AM (12 years ago)
dis people Boko haram and goodluck jonathan beef never stil finish   Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes     Naija una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 6-08-2012 10:36 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 6-08-2012 11:01 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: BendelArmedRobb on  6-08-2012 10:07 AM
Naija i hear say Usain Bolt is origin from Nigeria   Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes    E real name na Olamide Olusegun Usain Balogun . Naija una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Bendel Insurance, you are very fast in breaking news oooo, I hear say he is one of former Inspector general of Police TAFA BALOGUN'S Pikin...he had Usain while he went for Police training in Jamaica.

Posted: at 6-08-2012 11:01 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Ifemylove at 7-04-2013 08:24 AM (12 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 7-04-2013 08:24 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 7-04-2013 03:38 PM (12 years ago)
 Grin Grin

Posted: at 7-04-2013 03:38 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- PidginMOUTH at 7-04-2013 03:53 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: BendelArmedRobb on  6-08-2012 10:36 AM
dis people Boko haram and goodluck jonathan beef never stil finish   Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes     Naija una too much oo  coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 7-04-2013 03:53 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- PidginMOUTH at 7-04-2013 04:03 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: BendelArmedRobb on  6-08-2012 10:07 AM
Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 7-04-2013 04:03 PM (12 years ago) | Hero