Petrol Scarcity Hits Lagos Harder, Product Sells For N200 per litre

Date: 18-09-2012 7:00 pm (11 years ago) | Author: franel
- at 18-09-2012 07:00 PM (11 years ago)
«§» 18 September 2012

The current fuel scarcity on Monday unduly influenced the price of the product in Lagos forcing motorists out of desperation to buy from the black market for as much as N200 per litre. The official price is N97 per litre.

BusinessDay checks revealed that more filing stations have joined the growing numbers of stations without the product. Findings along the long stretch Lagos-Badagry express road showed that a number of filling stations along the road did not sell yesterday, as they claimed non-availability of the product when our correspondent visited.

As usual during scarcity of this essential product, major highways and streets have become sale points for black marketers who are seen lining up the roads with kegs and beckoning on motorists to stop by and buy.

They are found majorly on such roads as Ikorodu road, Lagos-Badagry expressway, Apapa-Oshodi expressway, Festac-Amuwo bypass and some streets in Festac and Satellite towns, selling the product for N200 per litre.

Along the Lagos-Badagry expressway particularly opposite the Nigerian Army Cantonment, several of the black marketers who include underage children, women and young men were seen either standing or sitting by the road with several kegs containing fuel in front of them. This particular spot had over years become notorious for black marketing of petrol in Lagos.

There are insinuations that most of the black marketers are wives and children of soldiers from the army cantonment. They were selling the product for N200 per litre as none of the filling stations close by was selling.

Isiaka Yahaya, Auditor General of the Sahara Unit of Petroleum Tanker Drivers (PTD), said that petrol scarcity might linger in Lagos for some time.

He alleged that inability of marketers to import the product caused current scarcity. Yahaya said that the marketers could not import petrol because of government’s failure to settle subsidy claims of some marketers.

He said that only one depot in Apapa was loading trucks with the product.

“Out of the more than 10 depots in the area, only one was loading trucks and the loading capacity is going down on daily basis.

“Before 200 trucks were loading, but now hardly would 60 trucks load in a day,” he said.

Yahaya urged the Federal Government to engage the marketers and other stakeholders in the sector in dialogue to ease the sufferings of motorists.

The National Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG) has urged the Federal Government to call on the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) and the Petroleum Pipeline Marketing Company (PPMC) to effect the repairs of the vandalised pipeline at Arepo, in Ogun State, to ease the scarcity being experienced in Lagos.

Tokunbo Korodo, Lagos zonal chairman of NUPENG, who made the call in a chat with BusinessDay on Monday, also said the tank farms in Lagos were drying up as a result of the disagreement between the Federal Government and petroleum products marketers who are not importing enough owing to the debt being owed them by the government.

Meanwhile, the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) has said that it has taken measures to end the current fuel scarcity in Lagos and some parts of the country.

Fidel Pepple, the acting group general manager, group public affairs division of the corporation, on Monday stated that the fuel shortage is due to the shutdown of system 2b, a major pipeline that evacuates between nine to eleven million litres of fuel from Lagos to Ibadan, Ilorin and the north due to serious vandalism by oil thieves a couple of weeks ago.

He said that to alleviate the problems resulting from the shutdown of the pipeline, the NNPC has stepped up distribution through tankers.

Source: BUSINESSDAY News

Posted: at 18-09-2012 07:00 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 18-09-2012 07:01 PM (11 years ago)
It is not that bad in my state. Honestly because we can get refined oil from Niger Republic.

Posted: at 18-09-2012 07:01 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 18-09-2012 07:18 PM (11 years ago)
I pray it does nt last long.
Posted: at 18-09-2012 07:18 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jamesbondchick at 19-09-2012 03:02 AM (11 years ago)
God save 9ja Sad

Posted: at 19-09-2012 03:02 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 19-09-2012 03:44 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 18-09-2012 07:01 PM
It is not that bad in my state. Honestly because we can get refined oil from Niger Republic.
Oh, you are from NIGER? I see Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 19-09-2012 03:44 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- neloceleb at 19-09-2012 05:38 AM (11 years ago)
Naija for life..lol
Posted: at 19-09-2012 05:38 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- proly at 19-09-2012 05:56 AM (11 years ago)
Nawaoooooo
Posted: at 19-09-2012 05:56 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- harunakoni at 19-09-2012 06:34 AM (11 years ago)
Wetin man go do..
Posted: at 19-09-2012 06:34 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- mickky21 at 19-09-2012 07:31 AM (11 years ago)
too bad...........thought tht had become a thing of the past.........soo sad
Posted: at 19-09-2012 07:31 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aso4life1 at 19-09-2012 08:36 AM (11 years ago)
We have oil gushing out of our land but we lack oil...naijaHuh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh???

Posted: at 19-09-2012 08:36 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Fuck_Muslims at 19-09-2012 10:03 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 18-09-2012 07:01 PM

see this bush woman, wat do u guys use fuel for..... to power your cows Huh?
thank God for the net, i wounder if u would have known if there was anything like fuel scarcity.

Posted: at 19-09-2012 10:03 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Biafranwar at 19-09-2012 10:27 AM (11 years ago)
ALL HAIL BIAFRA
Posted: at 19-09-2012 10:27 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dizhadah at 19-09-2012 11:56 AM (11 years ago)
hmmmmmmmmmm with all the ....  Lips Sealed
Posted: at 19-09-2012 11:56 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- simele at 19-09-2012 02:56 PM (11 years ago)
i hope my boss will increase my salary for this week
Posted: at 19-09-2012 02:56 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toibeli at 19-09-2012 06:07 PM (11 years ago)
Shameful Embarrassed
Posted: at 19-09-2012 06:07 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 19-09-2012 09:11 PM (11 years ago)
pity
Posted: at 19-09-2012 09:11 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- chicanorose at 20-09-2012 06:25 AM (11 years ago)
too bad. God pls see us through

Posted: at 20-09-2012 06:25 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ikpotokin at 20-09-2012 09:01 AM (11 years ago)
WHERE IS YOUR STATE WHERE YOU ARE GETTING REFINED FUEL FROM NIGER?
Posted: at 20-09-2012 09:01 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Treasure2 at 20-09-2012 09:29 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: simele on 19-09-2012 02:56 PM
i hope my boss will increase my salary for this week
Posted: at 20-09-2012 09:29 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Bettygirls at 20-09-2012 01:35 PM (11 years ago)
God is in control
Posted: at 20-09-2012 01:35 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac