Saudi Begins Deportation of 1,000 Nigerian Female Pilgrims, 177 Already Deported

Date: 27-09-2012 1:15 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Charles colins
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 27-09-2012 01:15 PM (11 years ago)
The Kano State Pilgrim Welfare Board says it has suspended further airlifting of intending pilgrims to Saudi Arabia following the deportation of 171 female pilgrims to the country for failing to travel with approved male guardians for the ongoing hajj exercise.

The deportees arrived Malam Aminu Kano International Airport, yesterday [Sept. 26], onboard a Max Air plane which touched down at about 4:55pm. About 111 of the intending pilgrims were from Katsina while the 60 others were from Taraba state.

About 111 of them were from Katsina State while 60 were from Taraba State. Most of them were seen in tears, looking weary and upset.

Some of those who narrated their ordeals to reporters said that they were returned despite their wailings, screaming and pleas to the Saudi officials to allow them to carry out the annual religious ritual.

One of the deportees, Amina Jalingo recalled tearfully that:

“We were held in Madina for two days without food. None of us could sleep because the environment was so cold. Most of us collapsed on the floor, sobbing and pleading after we were told that we would be deported. All our pleas fell on the officials’ deaf ears”.

Another deportee, Aishatu Muhammad, claimed that she was turned back even though she travelled with one of her relatives. “When we reached Medina, my male relative was allowed to pass freely, but my own passport was handed back to me by the Saudi officials. We don’t know what sort of male guardians the Saudis want us to present,” she narrated.

According to Daily Trust, the returnees were brought back because the detention facilities where the initial 1,000 female pilgrims were detained was so congested that they could not accommodate more pilgrims.

According to unconfirmed reports, about 200 pilgrims among the 1,000 in detention shared a single toilet.

The Executive Secretary of Kano State Pilgrim Welfare Board, Alhaji Laminu Rabiu, who revealed to reporters at the airport, said the decision to suspend airlifting of pilgrims was taken as part of efforts to address the current impasse between Nigeria and Saudi governments.

Laminu said he was at the airport to receive 60 Taraba pilgrims who apparently appeared to be stranded as none of their state officials could be seen at the airport.

The Katsina intending pilgrims requested to be immediately flown to their state. The pilgrims arrived at the Umaru Musa Yar’Adua Airport, Katsina yesterday night and proceeded to their respective homes.

Posted: at 27-09-2012 01:15 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lekan22 at 27-09-2012 01:18 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 27-09-2012 01:18 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 27-09-2012 01:32 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 27-09-2012 01:32 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- IS2COOL at 27-09-2012 01:41 PM (11 years ago)
God help us, its the fault of the Nigerian gov't. They would av fore warned the gov,t but they wouldn't share the info, now its their fault that these females suffered
Posted: at 27-09-2012 01:41 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- latuak at 27-09-2012 01:42 PM (11 years ago)
o gaaa ooo. I reserve my comments cos i didnt verify d situation
Posted: at 27-09-2012 01:42 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- suspark18 at 27-09-2012 01:49 PM (11 years ago)
Will Nigeria government refund their money now that they can not perform hajj
Posted: at 27-09-2012 01:49 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- onlyGodknows at 27-09-2012 02:02 PM (11 years ago)
We don't need all these travellings, make your home liveable, and there is your Makka. Welcome, home is still the best.
Posted: at 27-09-2012 02:02 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Fatai7 at 27-09-2012 02:05 PM (11 years ago)
What sort of rubbish is dis
Posted: at 27-09-2012 02:05 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Boss347 at 27-09-2012 02:11 PM (11 years ago)
Da furk? Allah no fit perform? Hahaha... Confirm make una stay house. Pele!

Posted: at 27-09-2012 02:11 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 27-09-2012 02:19 PM (11 years ago)
Welcum bak home jare.
Posted: at 27-09-2012 02:19 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 27-09-2012 02:20 PM (11 years ago)
Welcum bak home jare
Posted: at 27-09-2012 02:20 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- cadanre at 27-09-2012 02:30 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: onlyGodknows on 27-09-2012 02:02 PM
We don't need all these travellings, make your home liveable, and there is your Makka. Welcome, home is still the best.

There are some things you don't understand. Your home can NEVER be your Makka no matter what. Can you call your very home your Jerusalem? If yes, that would be what you don't understand. Our govt and NAHCOM made mistake, the very mistake they have been making. Male guardian is compulsory and such mistake should never be repeated in future.

Posted: at 27-09-2012 02:30 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 27-09-2012 02:34 PM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 27-09-2012 02:34 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- papadip at 27-09-2012 03:01 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 27-09-2012 02:30 PM
There are some things you don't understand. Your home can NEVER be your Makka no matter what. Can you call your very home your Jerusalem? If yes, that would be what you don't understand. Our govt and NAHCOM made mistake, the very mistake they have been making. Male guardian is compulsory and such mistake should never be repeated in future.

Let’s face it there is no other place like home. Saudi Arabia has no respect for women. Women are being treated like second class citizens we all know the facts. Nigeria that I know has more respects for women than Saudi Arabia. We should not be blinded by religion.
Posted: at 27-09-2012 03:01 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 27-09-2012 03:47 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: papadip on 27-09-2012 03:01 PM
Let’s face it there is no other place like home. Saudi Arabia has no respect for women. Women are being treated like second class citizens we all know the facts. Nigeria that I know has more respects for women than Saudi Arabia. We should not be blinded by religion.

A society that punished a woman that was raped...., there reason being, why was she moving around without a male relative.
Posted: at 27-09-2012 03:47 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 27-09-2012 03:59 PM (11 years ago)
good for them enemy of God's ppl will never know peace in jesus name -Amen
Posted: at 27-09-2012 03:59 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- simele at 27-09-2012 04:12 PM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 27-09-2012 04:12 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eoadex2003 at 27-09-2012 04:16 PM (11 years ago)
Hmmmmmm!
Posted: at 27-09-2012 04:16 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- oyinajibola at 27-09-2012 04:45 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: papadip on 27-09-2012 03:01 PM
RESPECT YOU SAY!!AV U EVA BEEN THERE OR DID ''CNN,BBC,ABC,etc TELL YOU THIS??...MY FRIEND,DON'T ALWAYS BELIEVE WHAT YOUR EAR FROM THE NEWS(especially the american media)....YOU MAY BE RIGHT ANYWAY...IF THEY CAN NIGERIA WOMEN GO TO HAJJ FOR YEARS WITHOUT MUHARRAM...THEN WHO KNOWS HOW MANY LAWS OF ISLAM THEY AV BROKEN FOR WHAT EVA REASON....YOU MAY BE RIGHT AFTER ALL..
Posted: at 27-09-2012 04:45 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Biafranwar at 27-09-2012 05:06 PM (11 years ago)
They should go and bomb saudi embassy and kill many muslims in their state for revenge
Posted: at 27-09-2012 05:06 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. Family of Late Sound Engineer Have Refused to Exhume His Body From Riverside Despite Donations

2. How Yahaya Bello Moved $720k From Govt Account to a BDC - EFCC Boss, Olukoyede Narrates (VID)

3. Ondo Police Arrests Man Who Said He Saw Fetish Items in Car of 'Yahoo Boy' & Was Lynched by Mob

4. Our Teachers Are Aware - Students of Lead British School Speak About Bully!ing at The School

5. Another Nollywood Legend, Mr Zulu Adigwe Passes On

6. EFCC Uncovers How Emefiele Printed ₦684.5 Million With ₦18.9 Billion

7. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office