Honest taxi driver rewarded less than $3 for returning $10,000

Date: 29-09-2012 11:13 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Boss
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 29-09-2012 11:13 PM (11 years ago)
A sum of 10 UAE dirhams (less than $3) was the reward received by an honest taxi driver, who returned a sum of 36,000 ($10,000) left behind by a passenger in the cab, a UAE daily reported.

“I have to admit I felt a little bad because I spent a lot of time trying to track the passenger down and even spent more than an hour waiting at our office for him to come and collect the money. But I would have returned the money with or without the reward, so it doesn’t matter,” UAE’s the Gulf News quoted the Pakistani driver, Shaaban Ali, as saying on Wednesday.

Ali discovered that the passenger, a Saudi, has left his bag behind, so he had to go in a few rounds looking for him, but he failed to find him, so he took the bag back to the office.

“The bag contained Dh36,000, the man’s passport and some other documents,” Ali said.

In an hour, the passenger was contacted and he came to the office to collect his belongings. “He told me thank you and handed me AED10,” Ali told the Gulf News.

According to the newspaper report Ali’s family — wife and parents — live back home in the Pakistani town of Kohat.

It was not the first incident to have taken place with drivers of the taxi company. Another Pakistani driver, Sajjad Arif, has recently returned valuable belongings to a Nigerian businessman.

“A laptop bag with 106,500 Nigerian Naira (AED 2,480), passport, laptop, blackberry, cheque books and watch was left behind in my cab,” Arif, who hails from Sialkot in Punjab, Pakistan, was quoted as saying.

“We are here to earn our money by working, and not to make easy money. No matter what I would not even consider for a second about holding on to someone else’s belongings,” he said.

Arif said that the next day the passenger collected his belongings and thanked him cordially. He added that he had returned back mobile phones and other belongings to passengers several times before.

Posted: at 29-09-2012 11:13 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Unikpearl at 30-09-2012 01:10 AM (11 years ago)
Nice
Posted: at 30-09-2012 01:10 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 30-09-2012 03:40 AM (11 years ago)
Mr. Nice guy...he try...haha! Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Posted: at 30-09-2012 03:40 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- maryclaret at 30-09-2012 04:00 AM (11 years ago)
The so called passenger shouldn't even have bothered giving him any money cause that thing he gave him was just a downright insult. mschewww....Anyways, it's always good to do good cause we're doing it for God and not man.

Posted: at 30-09-2012 04:00 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 30-09-2012 05:35 AM (11 years ago)
GOD bless d taxi driver.
Posted: at 30-09-2012 05:35 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kelvin_babyboy at 30-09-2012 06:44 AM (11 years ago)
Well we all both christians and muslims believe our reward is in heaven. Even if he was giving nothing,he should have no reason to be sad.  I admire his honesty and i wish we all could do the same

Posted: at 30-09-2012 06:44 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- blessland at 30-09-2012 06:49 AM (11 years ago)
Dis is very discouraging
Posted: at 30-09-2012 06:49 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- CHUKAGLY at 30-09-2012 06:52 AM (11 years ago)
It is only God's blessing that can last long. No matter what humans reward u with it will just last for a short period of time.

Posted: at 30-09-2012 06:52 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- lafenwajo at 30-09-2012 07:29 AM (11 years ago)
nt fair Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 30-09-2012 07:29 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Noble12 at 30-09-2012 07:45 AM (11 years ago)
Chai! For naija nw dat kind thing dey? Agboro taxi driver dem
Posted: at 30-09-2012 07:45 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- micc at 30-09-2012 07:53 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: maryclaret on 30-09-2012 04:00 AM
The so called passenger shouldn't even have bothered giving him any money cause that thing he gave him was just a downright insult. mschewww....Anyways, it's always good to do good cause we're doing it for God and not man.
U are right
Posted: at 30-09-2012 07:53 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 30-09-2012 07:56 AM (11 years ago)
your own time too is coming,GOD will enrich you too
Posted: at 30-09-2012 07:56 AM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- jazzy007 at 30-09-2012 08:19 AM (11 years ago)
The man try,they 4 give am national hero award.
Posted: at 30-09-2012 08:19 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 30-09-2012 08:23 AM (11 years ago)
i  c
Posted: at 30-09-2012 08:23 AM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- dickman2 at 30-09-2012 08:33 AM (11 years ago)
if the taxi man carry the money run ,,una go say na bad person..but now una see na..3dollas..what is 3dollas..anyway na god go bless am for his kindness not man..
Posted: at 30-09-2012 08:33 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Neglito at 30-09-2012 09:11 AM (11 years ago)
Don't worry, God will reward you handsomely.
Posted: at 30-09-2012 09:11 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 30-09-2012 09:27 AM (11 years ago)
i c
Posted: at 30-09-2012 09:27 AM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- kelvin_babyboy at 30-09-2012 10:29 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Neglito on 30-09-2012 09:11 AM
Don't worry, God will reward you handsomely.
yea God will reward him sexily

Posted: at 30-09-2012 10:29 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickman2 at 30-09-2012 10:47 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 30-09-2012 10:47 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 30-09-2012 10:56 AM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 30-09-2012 10:56 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
[1] 2 3 4 5