Why We Introduced Chinese Language In Public Schools – Fashola

Date: 04-10-2012 4:39 am (11 years ago) | Author: franel
[1] 2 3 4
- at 4-10-2012 04:39 AM (11 years ago)
«§» 4 October 2012

On the 10th of September 2012, I posted, "Lagos State Govt To Introduce Chinese Language In Public Schools."

Recently, Governor Babatunde Fashola has justified the reason for the introduction of Chinese Language into Lagos State public schools’ syllabus, saying “it is an economic decision from the government.”

Fashola who spoke at the third edition of the youth stakeholders’ forum and the graduation of over 900 trainees under the Lagos Ignite Enterprise Employability Project III, held at the 10 Degrees Event Centre at Oregun, Ikeja, added that it would enhance the commercial skills of the pupils who will be the next generation of businessmen in the state.

He said that the decision was taken to prosper the country’s economy especially Lagos State, adding; “it was also based on the inroads that China is making in the global economy through industrialisation.

According to him, “It is an economic decision. And the debate is now in the public domain. The China Economy is ranked among the first five economies today. They have started doing business in Nigeria and many African countries.

“And there is need for us to understand that if we must engage countries with such economic potentials, we must learn their language urgently, if they (Chinese) can learn our local language with ease,” Fashola added.

He said in Lagos for example, Government often finds it difficult to get Nigerians who can act as interpreters even at contract vetting sessions which often leave the state with the choice of employing Chinese to act as interpreters of documents prepared by the Chinese.

The Governor, however, said that learning Mandarin as the Chinese language is called, is not compulsory but optional for the pupils.

Fashola noted that in the past, “our parents learnt Latin before it became a dying language in the country. And when they discovered that the French economy has great potentials and possibilities, they began to learn their language and abandoned Latin. This was made easier with the influx of French companies in the country.”

On whether it would affect pupils from speaking the local language, the governor explained; “The responsibility for teaching local language lies at home. Parents should speak their mother tongue to their children. Leave them, when they get to school they will learn how to speak English.

He lamented the attitude of parents in the state, saying “we have become too English that we do not speak our local languages at home anymore. This is the internal change and internal value.”

Posted: at 4-10-2012 04:39 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 4-10-2012 05:06 AM (11 years ago)
Abeg e. Na only chinese kn d biznes wetin happen japan and others. Very soon u go introduce us to alien language.
Posted: at 4-10-2012 05:06 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- franel at 4-10-2012 08:42 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: stephen153 on  4-10-2012 08:14 AM
Wia sun pun ching cao san tun chong ta wu laa sing
Please, what are you singing Huh? Shocked

Posted: at 4-10-2012 08:42 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 4-10-2012 08:42 AM (11 years ago)
Grin
Posted: at 4-10-2012 08:42 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Biafranwar at 4-10-2012 08:49 AM (11 years ago)
Supported. It's a good move because federal government of nigeria has blocked the brain of nigerians so maybe this chinese language will help to unlock all the brains that has been blocked by the federal government. Sorry but it's true
Posted: at 4-10-2012 08:49 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- daviddhao at 4-10-2012 09:09 AM (11 years ago)
sorry I can't understand what you are singing...is it mandarin or cantonese?
Posted: at 4-10-2012 09:09 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- ukanwnne at 4-10-2012 09:44 AM (11 years ago)
we have useless leaders dat keep making useless laws dat has no impact on pple's life.
Posted: at 4-10-2012 09:44 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bettygirls at 4-10-2012 09:50 AM (11 years ago)
chinco language
Posted: at 4-10-2012 09:50 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dizhadah at 4-10-2012 10:36 AM (11 years ago)
 Grin
Posted: at 4-10-2012 10:36 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- annastacie at 4-10-2012 10:53 AM (11 years ago)
it means nigerians your suffer just start  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 4-10-2012 10:53 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- annastacie at 4-10-2012 10:54 AM (11 years ago)
it means nigerians your suffer just start  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 4-10-2012 10:54 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ainnylove at 4-10-2012 10:56 AM (11 years ago)
mscheeeeewt!!!! shey na chinese go solve nigerian problems
Posted: at 4-10-2012 10:56 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Princestevo at 4-10-2012 11:01 AM (11 years ago)
yamaha suziki yakashama! singing in chinco langwa.. Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 4-10-2012 11:01 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- maryclaret at 4-10-2012 12:00 PM (11 years ago)
It's a good idea...the more choices the better BUT some people still haven't learned nor embraced the English language so I don't know how this one will work...lol #justsaying

Posted: at 4-10-2012 12:00 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- franel at 4-10-2012 12:05 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: stephen153 on  4-10-2012 09:00 AM
singing in Chinese
Which of the Naija ghetto Chinese Huh? Roll Eyes

Posted: at 4-10-2012 12:05 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- kooldbj at 4-10-2012 01:04 PM (11 years ago)
na copie copie we go dey dey? We no fit use our own dialets to teach, lik dem start dia own 4 china?
Posted: at 4-10-2012 01:04 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- cocoeni at 4-10-2012 01:24 PM (11 years ago)
hissss....passing
Posted: at 4-10-2012 01:24 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Boss347 at 4-10-2012 01:24 PM (11 years ago)
Da furk? This is what you get when u over praised a Blackman. Fasola thinks he simply can impose any law just because he's one of the best governors in the country. Chinese language has nuttin to do with Nigerian economy weda now or in the future. Educate yourself more and ur other politician about good leaderships

Posted: at 4-10-2012 01:24 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickman2 at 4-10-2012 01:42 PM (11 years ago)
oboy wahala dey ooo..where we go start from ..nigeria we too dey over do things oooo.which one be chinese languege again..
Posted: at 4-10-2012 01:42 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- JBoyEscalante at 4-10-2012 01:44 PM (11 years ago)
It's okay. If in the near future China becomes the world power, it's perfectly ok. Besides, these guys are all over the place in every African country, developing - talk about engineering, power, telecomunications and a host of other sectors, their economy is stable (if not getting stronger). It wont kill  to learn what they have to offer; starting with their language... Afterall, of what benefit are the French and Spanish languages being learnt in some schools? Hmmm! Just my thot
Posted: at 4-10-2012 01:44 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4