Widow Battles Nollywood Actor, Osuofia, Over Land

Date: 15-10-2012 6:44 am (11 years ago) | Author: franel
[1] 2 3 4
- at 15-10-2012 06:44 AM (11 years ago)
«§» 15 October 2012

A secondary school teacher, Mrs. Gloria Ayogu, on Sunday said she would consider legal actions against Nollywood actor, Nkem Owoh, popularly known as Osuofia, if he failed to pay damages for allegedly demolishing her house in Enugu State.

Owoh (L), Ayogu and her children in front of the demolished building

Ayogu, a widow and an employee of Federal Government College, Enugu, has since 2008 been at war with Owoh over a piece of land at 9, Ikpeama Street, Emeheluaku Layout, Trans-Ekulu in Enugu metropolis.

The widow said she had long reported the case to the police and vowed to see the matter to the end.

She said her late husband bought and registered the landed property before he died in 2004.

She claimed, “Osuofia and his thugs appeared in 2008 and threatened me for four years against building on the land.”

According to her, shortly after she completed the bungalow, which she said she built with a loan, and was on the verge of moving in, “Osuofia finally made good his threats and pulled down the house on September 30, 2012.”

Narrating her story further, Ayogu said, “The property was bought same year my husband died and was registered in his name. We started developing it until my husband took ill and later died, about three months after we relocated from where we were living.

“Some years later I discovered that the documents to the property were missing. I searched everywhere but could not find them. I went to the man who sold the land to us and he advised that I report to the state Ministry of Lands. I went there and they asked me to put up a newspaper publication on the missing document, which I did in about three different newspapers.

“I first went to the police and obtained police extract before the loss of document was published. I also put a caveat on the property so that no buyer would come in case people attempted to use it for fraud.

“We were living at Egwuaga Street then, so we relocated to 9, Ikpeama Street in Trans-Ekulu, Enugu. The land registrar gave me new documents covering the property and he advised me to be vigilant and look after my land.

“In 2006, Nkem Owoh, popularly known as Osuofia and some people came to ask me who I was and if I was the owner of the property.”

Ayogu stated that Osuofia also asked her if she was legally married to her late husband, and if she was ready to go to court should the need arise.

She said, “I didn’t see them for some time until one day he resurfaced and said I have to stop work on the site because at that time I had started building. Not long afterwards, he demolished the house.”

Ayogu added that she would not be intimidated and was not ready to lose the only property her late husband left for her and her children.

However, when contacted by our correspondent, the actor denied the allegations.

Osuofia said, “This woman is going to put herself in trouble. I bought a land and the land is causing trouble between the woman and her husband’s first wife. They are struggling over the same piece of land, so why would the woman say it was me that demolished her house?”

“Why is she trying to scandalise my name when she knows there is a family dispute over the land? I don’t know anything about the demolition. I bought the property but they are having problems there, I mean the two wives. Why wouldn’t this woman go to court and sort these things out once and for all?”

While Owoh insisted Ayogu and her co-wife were struggling over the land, the widow maintained that she was the only wife of her husband and that there was no tussle over the land.

When Osuofia was asked to give the contacts of whoever sold the land to him, he said it was long he bought it and had lost touch with the people.

Posted: at 15-10-2012 06:44 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- philwaves1959 at 15-10-2012 08:34 AM (11 years ago)
OSUOFIA OSUOFIA LAND DISPUTE WITH A WIDOW! BE VERY CAREFUL ON THIS MATTER COS IT COMES WITH LOTS OF PREDICAMENTS. U BOUGHT A LAND FROM SOMEBODY AND NOW U CANNOT LOCATE WHO SOLD THE LAND TO U. WHO IS FOOLING WHO. ABEG COMMOT UR HAND FROM THE POOR WOMAN LAND OR ELSE  ELSE ELSE THE GODS WILL DEAL WITH U.
Posted: at 15-10-2012 08:34 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- donfanny at 15-10-2012 09:03 AM (11 years ago)
ukwua is mad he dnt hv d contact

Posted: at 15-10-2012 09:03 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- ZION7ZION at 15-10-2012 09:15 AM (11 years ago)
I dont know why people like taking risk, God has bless him with talent, wealth, yet he is inviting the wrath of God, the tears of an innocent widow can be dangerous, he should be very careful, if he want to be Alfie and enjoy the fruits of his labours Angry Angry
Posted: at 15-10-2012 09:15 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 15-10-2012 09:31 AM (11 years ago)
land mater
Posted: at 15-10-2012 09:31 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- jamesbondchick at 15-10-2012 09:36 AM (11 years ago)
Nkem! Nkem!! Nkem!!! Leave this widow oh, odawise your wife will be like her & your children will be like her children! Angry

Posted: at 15-10-2012 09:36 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jimblack22 at 15-10-2012 10:00 AM (11 years ago)
Osofia,u are cruel,mean n heartless! Upon al the wealth n properties u hav,u stil hav the mind to tussle wit a widow. Smbody who u can offer help n encourage her in such situation. U are greedy  Nke ha, Owoh, u want to snatch her properties wit dat ur movie sweet tongue. No way. U said u bought lung ago? Thief na d tin wey u bi. God of widows is alive. He dosn't sleep,hence u wil be totaly be disgraced in Jesus name.
Posted: at 15-10-2012 10:00 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- colenzo at 15-10-2012 10:00 AM (11 years ago)
WHY ARE YOU PEOPLE SO DEMENTED IN CONCLUSION ,YOU HAVE CONDEMNED THE MAN ,
THE STORY IS NOT STRAIGHT ,ONE DOCUMENT IS MISSING HOW ARE YOU SURE THAT THE LATE HUSBAND DID NOT SELL THE HOUSE
WHEN HE WAS SICK?

Posted: at 15-10-2012 10:00 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jimblack22 at 15-10-2012 10:01 AM (11 years ago)
Osofia,u are cruel,mean n heartless! Upon al the wealth n properties u hav,u stil hav the mind to tussle wit a widow. Smbody who u can offer help n encourage her in such situation. U are greedy  Nke ha, Owoh, u want to snatch her properties wit dat ur movie sweet tongue. No way. U said u bought lung ago? Thief na d tin wey u bi. God of widows is alive. He dosn't sleep,hence u wil be totaly be disgraced in Jesus name.
Posted: at 15-10-2012 10:01 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bettygirls at 15-10-2012 10:05 AM (11 years ago)
wonders they say shall never end. kai!!! Ukwa, with all the monie wey u get u go live this poor woman?it is strange that God blesses somepeople with almost everything and they deny it.how on earth will u forget or misplace ur landlords contacts?what a shame, pa stop disgracing ur self. u pas this level na.dont take advantage of the poor woman. God is watching
Posted: at 15-10-2012 10:05 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 15-10-2012 10:05 AM (11 years ago)
I Understand The Woman's Situation Such Things Happen All The Time. But, There Is Always Two Sides Of A Story. Let's Hear From Mr. Nkem Owoh too, Then We Can Analyze And Draw A Favorable Conclusion.
Posted: at 15-10-2012 10:05 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ochekawu1 at 15-10-2012 10:25 AM (11 years ago)
"Do not move the ancient boundary stone and encroach on the fields(land) of the fatherless, for their Redeemer is mighty, he shall plead their cause with thee" (Proverbs 23:10,11)
Posted: at 15-10-2012 10:25 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- denmal at 15-10-2012 10:41 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: colenzo on 15-10-2012 10:00 AM
WHY ARE YOU PEOPLE SO DEMENTED IN CONCLUSION ,YOU HAVE CONDEMNED THE MAN ,
THE STORY IS NOT STRAIGHT ,ONE DOCUMENT IS MISSING HOW ARE YOU SURE THAT THE LATE HUSBAND DID NOT SELL THE HOUSE
WHEN HE WAS SICK?

Thats how stupid people run to conclusion.
Posted: at 15-10-2012 10:41 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BAGUDA at 15-10-2012 10:50 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: DMG17 on 15-10-2012 10:05 AM
I Understand The Woman's Situation Such Things Happen All The Time. But, There Is Always Two Sides Of A Story. Let's Hear From Mr. Nkem Owoh too, Then We Can Analyze And Draw A Favorable Conclusion.
YESOO; SOME PEOPLE WILL STUPIDLY JUMP IN CONCLUTION WITHOUT HEARING FROM BOTH SIDES; I HAVE ALSO READ THE NEWS BEFORE NOW; THE WOMAN SAID THAT SHE LOST THE ORIGNAL PAPERS OF THE LAND; SO MAYBE OSUOFIA HAS THE ORIGNAL DOCUMENTS;SO IF OSUOFIA GENUELY BUGHT THE LAND WITH THE ORIGNAL DOCUMENTS ; THEN WE HAVE NO CHOICE THAN TO BEG HIM TO RETURN THE LAND TO THE WOMAN OR USE MONEY TO SETTLE THE WOMAN;  HE IS A MAN OF THE PUBLIC AND A STAR  BUT THAT WILL NOT MAKE HIM LOOS WHAT BELONG TO HIM; SO PLEASE DONT RUSH TO CONDEM HIM WITHOUTH CAREFULLY LISTENING TO THE TWO PARTIES INVOLVED;:::::::: I REST MY CASE
Posted: at 15-10-2012 10:50 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dizhadah at 15-10-2012 10:56 AM (11 years ago)
 Undecided
Posted: at 15-10-2012 10:56 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- naijaeze at 15-10-2012 11:04 AM (11 years ago)
 Sad Sad Sad wetin de hapen 4 film don de hapen 4 real life oh. Osuofia take time oh
Posted: at 15-10-2012 11:04 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- cocoeni at 15-10-2012 11:16 AM (11 years ago)
land matter don turn to big thing 4 naija na....make dem talk am eazy, and settle de matter.
Posted: at 15-10-2012 11:16 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- babybluee at 15-10-2012 11:27 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: DMG17 on 15-10-2012 10:05 AM
i wonder oo... so because he's rich or famous he should be cheated on?? i mean i can't comprehend that at all...let them go to court and sort it out

Posted: at 15-10-2012 11:27 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- United11 at 15-10-2012 11:32 AM (11 years ago)
Osofia means....clearing bushes, my actor, u wan clear that poor woman bush? i beg...!  get another land including...plus this one and give to that poor woman, b..cos you have more than enough pls, pls pls.
Posted: at 15-10-2012 11:32 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Chigozirim at 15-10-2012 11:36 AM (11 years ago)
Well am not in support of mistreating a widow. Biko Osuofia anakwala nwa mbia ihe ya. Be warned!
Posted: at 15-10-2012 11:36 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4