World Bank: 19 Million In W’Africa Face Hunger

Date: 26-10-2012 2:59 pm (11 years ago) | Author: franel
- at 26-10-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago)
«§» 26 October 2012

While as many as 19 million people in West Africa’s sahel region live with the threat of hunger and malnutrition, about 400 million hectares of land in the region remain uncultivated, the World Bank has said.

The World Bank said this in a report released on Thursday.

It also stated that Africa has the capacity to feed itself and earn a lot foreign exchange if it implements the right policies in agriculture and trade.

The report said that Africa’s farmers could potentially grow enough food to feed the continent and avert future food crises if countries in the continent remove cross-border restrictions on  food trade within the region.

According to the bank, the continent will also generate an extra $20bn in yearly earnings if its leaders can agree to dismantle trade barriers that blunt more regional dynamism.

The report titled, “Africa Can Help Feed Africa: Removing barriers to regional trade in food staples”, said the World Bank expected demand for food in Africa to double by the year 2020 as people increasingly abandon the countryside for the cities.

The bank urged African leaders to improve trade so that food could move more freely between countries and from fertile areas to those where communities are suffering food shortages.

According to the report, rapid urbanisation will challenge the ability of farmers to ship their cereals and other foods to consumers when the nearest trade market is just across a national border.

It said with many African farmers effectively cut off from the high-yield seeds and affordable fertilisers and pesticides needed to expand their crop production, the continent had turned to imports to meet its growing needs in staple foods.

Speaking on the report, World Bank Vice-President for Africa, Mr. Makhtar Diop, said, “Africa has the ability to grow and deliver good quality food to put on the dinner tables of the continent’s families.

“However, this potential is not being realised because farmers face more trade barriers in getting their food to market than anywhere else in the world. Too often borders get in the way of getting food to homes and communities which are struggling with too little to eat.”

The report noted that only five per cent of all cereals is imported by African countries come from other African countries while huge tracts of fertile land, around 400 million hectares, remain uncultivated and yields remain a fraction of those obtained by farmers elsewhere in the world.

For World Bank’s Lead Economist for Africa and principal author of the report, Mr. Paul Brenton, the key challenge for the continent is how to create a competitive environment in which governments embrace credible and stable policies that encourage private investors and businesses to boost food production across the region.

Posted: at 26-10-2012 02:59 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Senegal at 26-10-2012 05:49 PM (11 years ago)
Really?
Posted: at 26-10-2012 05:49 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- neloceleb at 26-10-2012 06:06 PM (11 years ago)
normal thing
Posted: at 26-10-2012 06:06 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- babybluee at 26-10-2012 06:08 PM (11 years ago)
The Lord Shall see 'em through....'( Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry

Posted: at 26-10-2012 06:08 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Amor1444 at 26-10-2012 06:12 PM (11 years ago)
Hunger amid wealth: private jet, private yacht, private uni, private everything.
Posted: at 26-10-2012 06:12 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- cadanre at 26-10-2012 06:23 PM (11 years ago)
These dubious world bank, IMF, Paris Club or whatever they call themselves. I don't trust them at ooooooooooooll.

Posted: at 26-10-2012 06:23 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Noble12 at 26-10-2012 06:50 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 26-10-2012 06:50 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bigdad95 at 26-10-2012 07:03 PM (11 years ago)
we allredy know that,but who will bell the cat,with all the corrupt leaders Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed
Posted: at 26-10-2012 07:03 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- micc at 26-10-2012 07:23 PM (11 years ago)
I c
Posted: at 26-10-2012 07:23 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- denmal at 26-10-2012 07:44 PM (11 years ago)
May God grant us wisdom
Posted: at 26-10-2012 07:44 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jabanz at 26-10-2012 08:08 PM (11 years ago)
aite

Posted: at 26-10-2012 08:08 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 26-10-2012 08:21 PM (11 years ago)
In abundance of water my people are thirsty, what an irony.
Posted: at 26-10-2012 08:21 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 26-10-2012 09:05 PM (11 years ago)
k
Posted: at 26-10-2012 09:05 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Solidstonez at 26-10-2012 09:48 PM (11 years ago)
hmmm

Posted: at 26-10-2012 09:48 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zoe61 at 26-10-2012 10:12 PM (11 years ago)
why woun't they go hungry when the government has loot and milk their resources dry
Posted: at 26-10-2012 10:12 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- livinsaint at 27-10-2012 02:47 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: bigdad95 on 26-10-2012 07:03 PM
we allredy know that,but who will bell the cat,with all the corrupt leaders Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed

Thats just it, u have said it all,,, who will bell the cat?
Posted: at 27-10-2012 02:47 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 27-10-2012 04:03 AM (11 years ago)
What is the World Bank going to do about it?
Posted: at 27-10-2012 04:03 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- analyzation at 27-10-2012 06:33 AM (11 years ago)
Africa, a land blessed but impoverished. what a Race
Posted: at 27-10-2012 06:33 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- colenzo at 27-10-2012 07:07 AM (11 years ago)
i hear you

Posted: at 27-10-2012 07:07 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 2bify at 27-10-2012 09:05 AM (11 years ago)
WE CAN ALL BELL THE CAT, WE ALL KNOW THAT OUR POLITICIAN ARE THE CAUSE OF ALL OUR PROBLEMS, I WISH  AM AN ARMY MAN, TO GOD WHO MADE ME/////  I WILL JUST STAGE A COUP, KILL ALL THOSE 4KING LEADERS AND MAKE MY COUNTRY GREAT, OHH MY DEAR ABACHA, WHOEVER KILLED ABACHA WILL NEVER SEE GOOD THING IN HIS LIFE, ONLY IF ABACHA HAD LIVED LONGER, THEN WILL OBASANJO, ATIKU, LATE YAR ADUA, IBB, I MEAN HE SHOULD HAVE HELPED NIGERIANS KILL ALL THOSE FEW THAT MAKES THE COUNTRY JAGA JAGA, ITS NOT TOO LATE COS THEY MAY ALSO DIE LIKE GADDAFI 
Quote from: livinsaint on 27-10-2012 02:47 AM
Thats just it, u have said it all,,, who will bell the cat?
Posted: at 27-10-2012 09:05 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

6. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

7. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

8. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

9. Daughter Of 14th Emir Of Kano Replies X User Who Described Her Husband As A ''Yoruba Man''

10. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

11. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

12. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

13. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu

14. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

15. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

16. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

17. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

18. “My Album Is Coming To Save You All From Shitty Music” – Zinoleesky Tells Nigerians

19. Igbos Contributed To The Development Of Lagos, Abuja, Other States -Enugu Ex Gov, Nwodo

20. Veteran Journalist, Ray Ekpu Loses Wife To Cold Hands Of Death

10. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So