Book on 419 wins $50K Giller Prize_Author says Scam is 500 Years Old…!!! (Page 2)

Date: 31-10-2012 7:20 am (11 years ago) | Author: Tony Ladipo
- papadip at 31-10-2012 06:55 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Senegal on 31-10-2012 05:24 PM
So?

What's your point?
Posted: at 31-10-2012 06:55 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PidginMOUTH at 31-10-2012 07:38 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 31-10-2012 07:38 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 1-11-2012 12:45 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ugbest19 on 31-10-2012 03:27 PM
From the article Advance fee fraud :
 This type of scam, originally known as the "Spanish Prisoner Letter", has been carried out since at least the 16th century via ordinary postal mail.
From the article Spanish Prisoner :
 The Spanish Prisoner is a confidence game dating back to at least the 17th century.
Ok so given the word "at least" the two statements are not actually contradictory. However, we may want to do a little more digging and decide which date should go in both articles

I have posted this comment on both talk pages. Dalf | Talk 20:58, 8 Jun 2005 (UTC)
 I think I have sorted this one out. The scam seems to have started in 1588. I have added extra information and a reference. I will put a note on the other talk page as well. --NHSavage 08:50, 4 September 2005 (UTC)
Sorry, but there is insufficient evidence so far that such a confidence scam actually occurred in the 16th OR the 17th century -- that this is not a historical "urban legend." Who were the individuals fooled by this scam? What archival documentation is there? I'm a historian. I want factual details regarding the actual events.68.72.87.246 23:33, 28 January 2007 (UTC)

I was trawling through some late-1930s The Times on microfilm a while back, and there was a Spanish Civil War related entry describing a confidence trick involving the "proverbial money/prisoner trapped behind enemy lines" scam.

"Begging letter scams" and "bubble company scams" (as with the South Sea Bubble do go back further than this.

"Probably" there is a conflation of stories/ideas (whether by perpetuators or readers). Jackiespeel 16:19, 2 February 2007 (UTC)

Looking through The Times personal columns at various points in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, while pursuing other matters there are some adverts which appear to be related to the Spanish Prisoner scam ("Persons with the surnames... please apply regarding Unclaimed Properties and Estates" (Jan 1870), "Indian merchant who has had all his stock stolen requires funds to return home (Jan 1921).) Jackiespeel 19:36, 8 March 2007 (UTC)

Should point out I was going through the microfilms of The Times: a more relevant advert appers 24 July 1937. Jackiespeel 18:25, 15 October 2007 (UTC)

The scam in the movie of that name is really not a variant of the Spanish Prisoner. The Spanish Prisoner scam has to do with the premise that a small upfront payment will release a much larger amount. There are two scams presented in the movie, but neither relate to the premise above. I guess Mamet liked the title or something but it has nothing to do with the actual plot. fhapgood (talk) 14:20, 6 July 2009 (UTC)

Useful info… Thanks… The essence of this post is simply to say 419 was not invented in Nigeria or in Africa…
Posted: at 1-11-2012 12:45 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Biafranwar at 1-11-2012 01:56 AM (11 years ago)
Good one
Posted: at 1-11-2012 01:56 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- donklass at 1-11-2012 02:38 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: papadip on  1-11-2012 12:45 AM
Useful info… Thanks… The essence of this post is simply to say 419 was not invented in Nigeria or in Africa…
  I WONDER WHY YOU GUYS ARE BENT ON DENYING NIGERIA
  OF THIS 'SNGULAR' INVENTION
Posted: at 1-11-2012 02:38 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 1-11-2012 07:50 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 1-11-2012 07:50 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ela214 at 1-11-2012 01:56 PM (11 years ago)
gud 4 him n whateva
Posted: at 1-11-2012 01:56 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 1-11-2012 02:11 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aso4life1 on 31-10-2012 10:40 AM
Good post that makes sense to me but not like the one from naimtalktrash and his employee, Radio without battery.

Grin Grin Grin  Make I tel yu make na no use redio wit no batiri oh… di tin go eletrokutu una ….. wetin bi naimtalktrash... wat langgage bi dat…… na afgani wurd bi dat…. I beg…

On a serious note I have been following the preview of this book since May of this year. I wanted it to win and it did. Oyinbo made it look like they are saints and they are not this book has confirmed that. Oyinbo also invented  “Mobilization Fee” a criminal idea that benefited western companies and is still continuing.
Posted: at 1-11-2012 02:11 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dizhadah at 1-11-2012 02:19 PM (11 years ago)
very interesting...
Posted: at 1-11-2012 02:19 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dlimelite at 1-11-2012 04:38 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: aso4life1 on 31-10-2012 10:40 AM
Good post that makes sense to me but not like the one from naimtalktrash and his employee, Radio without battery.
Hehehehehehe  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 1-11-2012 04:38 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- 419BigBoy at 1-11-2012 05:16 PM (11 years ago)
Why Ferguson why?
We don't need dis kind of international publicity in 9ja. We live to loot, rob, and prey on the masses.
Posted: at 1-11-2012 05:16 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jamesbondchick at 1-11-2012 07:25 PM (11 years ago)
Smh @ yahoo boiz... I for like read am sha

Posted: at 1-11-2012 07:25 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jamesbondchick at 1-11-2012 07:28 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: 419BigBoy on  1-11-2012 05:16 PM
Why Ferguson why?
We don't need dis kind of international publicity in 9ja. We live to loot, rob, and prey on the masses.
419 big boi, na u & ur gang dem write about o,una beta repent! Tongue

Posted: at 1-11-2012 07:28 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 1-11-2012 11:01 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 1-11-2012 11:01 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 2-11-2012 07:34 AM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 2-11-2012 07:34 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 25-10-2013 02:09 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: 419BigBoy on  1-11-2012 05:16 PM
Why Ferguson why?
We don't need dis kind of international publicity in 9ja. We live to loot, rob, and prey on the masses
Grin Grin Grin.....
Posted: at 25-10-2013 02:09 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Shegzan at 25-10-2013 06:23 AM (10 years ago)
K

Posted: at 25-10-2013 06:23 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac