Lies Men Opt to Tell

Date: 04-12-2012 12:48 pm (11 years ago) | Author: uduak Sophia Monday
- at 4-12-2012 12:48 PM (11 years ago)
Considering we've already figured out the lies that women tell which was posted by Wireless-radio, I've decided that it's time for a rebuttal. After all, we aren't saints by any means we certainly tend to twist the truth in order to protect our women, make them happy and place our own hides in a better light.Sometimes, one might say, lying is necessary , but other times, we might be better off just admitting the truth. You can try to justify your lies by convincing yourself that you're simply optimizing your truth management skills, but at the end of the day, you know deep down inside that you've been keeping the truth neatly tucked away. Here are 10 of the many lies men opt to tell.

10. No, you don't look fat---The following situation is familiar to most guys in relationships: You and your girlfriend are preparing for a night out and, as you wait for her to finish up, she comes out of the bedroom and asks, "Do I look fat in this?" The best answer I have come up with is, "No, of course you don't look fat," followed by "you're beautiful" or other flattering comments. Other than ignoring your girlfriend's question, this is the only way to come out of the situation unscathed; your other answers will be twisted into something you didn't mean and door slamming will likely ensue. Whether or not she actually is giving Shamu a run for his money is irrelevant she feels chunky and your mission is to put her fears to rest.

9. I don't enjoy going to strip joints---Strip joints, like badographic movies, appeal to our most primal instincts of sex, which few men (if any) can ignore. It's simply a shame that our girlfriends can't accept that we like seeing beautiful women dancing unclad on stage.Despite this logic, the lie still propagates in relationships because it reassures your woman that there is no one else in the world worth fantasizing about. However, in reality, it's natural for us to enjoy this genre of entertainment, just as your girlfriend wouldn't admit to watching soap operas for the handsome men and romantic sex scenes.

8. We'll talk about it later---This little phrase helps most of us end an argument or potential squabble. In most cases, we really don't want to "talk about it later," we never want to talk about it. Putting off the possibility of a blowup gives us some time to underline the uselessness of arguing over something so minute.Although it's a potent tool in your arsenal, make sure not to use it too often, or else its underlying motives will become apparent.

7. You remind me of Jennifer Lopez---The ultimate compliment to a woman can also be your biggest lie. Comparing her to an incredibly beautiful movie star may raise her self-confidence, but let's face it; is she really that hot? Congrats to you if she is, but most of us cannot claim that big a prize. Our women are beautiful, but stretching the truth may actually do more harm than good in certain cases. It's all about timing don't lay it on too thick and you'll be getting breakfast in bed in no time

6. I love your cooking---Since some women can't make toast without a recipe book, there has to be an "out" for guys who get stuck with the culinarily challenged. Your best bet is to grin and bear it. Hey, at least she's cooking for you. However, if you have to ingest antacids by the truckload, perhaps you should start offering to help out with dinner. Otherwise, you may end up having to eat blackened food for years to come. Another denial of programmed emotions men face, this lie is usually called for, no matter how moral you are. You don't want to hurt your girlfriend, right? So, you have no choice but to deny that no other women (real or imaginary) are ever on your mind. If she believed you when you said, "I've never seen a woman more beautiful than you," this will be a piece of cake. Just be sure not to precede this lie with #7 on the list. Providing you don't think about other women all the time, you're in the clear because fantasizing or drooling over a hot babe in a magazine from time to time is no crime even a psychiatrist would tell you that.

4. You can use my razor to shave your legs---If the thought of your girlfriend's legs full of hairy fuzz wasn't unsightly enough, some men have to deal with a recycled razor -- that is, one of your own beard-busters. The thing is, confronting her about this may not be worth it, since the argument could really escalate. Instead, buy her a razor for when she spends the night at your place, and hide your own.

3. Some untruths exist simply to help you save your energy and this is certainly one of them. Instead of explaining how unrealistic, silly and boring romantic comedies are, it is better to simply tune out during the movie and reap the benefits of a happy, romantic-minded girlfriend afterward. Get yourself a big bag of popcorn, candy and a drink, and when you're done, head to the bathroom and chat it up with all the other guys who love Meg Ryan movies.

2. Sometimes, the key to a woman's heart is through her family, even though they may be more obnoxious than the Costanzas from Seinfeld . It is worth putting up with them if you get the girl, especially if you are really serious about the relationship. Admit to your girlfriend that you do, in fact, enjoy going over to her parents' house for dinner. A fortunate guy will have the best in-laws ever, but, if history is any indication, the odds of this are quite slim. Therefore, enduring her mother's quirks, comments and behavior becomes an important part of your repertoire, as does your insistence that family time is fun.

1. Whether it's to escape a sticky situation or nip an argument in the bud, these two little words can come in quite handy. Used sparingly, this device is your greatest route to turning your girlfriend's scowl into a smile, if it's said with conviction. She could be going on about one of your idiosyncrasies or something you have said and all you have to do is stop her, say "I'm sorry" followed by a promise to change, and everything will be all right, at least for the time being. This phrase should be familiar, as it is the same one used when your mother scolded you as a child. As such, this lie has stood the test of time and remains the weapon of choice for many stricken males.

Posted: at 4-12-2012 12:48 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 4-12-2012 04:16 PM (11 years ago)
liar.. uv not noted  Grin

Posted: at 4-12-2012 04:16 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 4-12-2012 04:49 PM (11 years ago)
 Grin

Posted: at 4-12-2012 04:49 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Sophyrocks at 4-12-2012 08:20 PM (11 years ago)
My namesake, u didnt mention d lies common to 9ja men at allllllllllllll. hw abt ' i will marry u' or ' if u have sex wit me, 'i will love u d more' ' u will be d mother of my unborn children or im a man of God or im born again, i dnt do dis, i dnt do dat', or i dnt hav anytin to do wit her, or she's jst a frnd or my love for u is bigger dan her own, dnt wori' or its u i want to marry nt her'. all dese lies are sooooooo obvious dat i usually get shocked at y ladies of nowadays stil fall for dem even tho dey hav bn used many tyms witout numba n d men have shown dem d opposite of wat dey say. i fink men shud come up wit somtin difrent so dat we can learn more cos dey r bcomin predictable to me. dnt knw abt oda ladies sha.

Posted: at 4-12-2012 08:20 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ela214 at 4-12-2012 08:36 PM (11 years ago)
MAKE SERIOUS SENSE;sumtimes thier lies r necesary as the truth sumtimes cus wahala
Posted: at 4-12-2012 08:36 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- malamy at 4-12-2012 09:54 PM (11 years ago)
NOTED!
Posted: at 4-12-2012 09:54 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Senegal at 4-12-2012 11:28 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 4-12-2012 11:28 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 5-12-2012 12:50 AM (11 years ago)
i see...
Posted: at 5-12-2012 12:50 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- wireless_radio at 5-12-2012 01:31 AM (11 years ago)
 Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley
Posted: at 5-12-2012 01:31 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 5-12-2012 02:50 AM (11 years ago)
SOPHIEBABY, these are not lies.
these are signs that we listened to the words of our
elders about how to live peacefully with the weaker sex.
any man who wants to live long and happy at home play
by these rules.
Posted: at 5-12-2012 02:50 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aso4life1 at 5-12-2012 04:19 AM (11 years ago)
Alright!

Posted: at 5-12-2012 04:19 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- micc at 5-12-2012 07:28 AM (11 years ago)
U try
Posted: at 5-12-2012 07:28 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 5-12-2012 08:13 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 5-12-2012 08:13 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dabattleaxe at 5-12-2012 08:35 AM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 5-12-2012 08:35 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- bestbuky at 5-12-2012 09:05 AM (11 years ago)
kk
Posted: at 5-12-2012 09:05 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Nicksam at 5-12-2012 09:28 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Sophyrocks on  4-12-2012 08:20 PM
My namesake, u didnt mention d lies common to 9ja men at allllllllllllll. hw abt ' i will marry u' or ' if u made love wit me, 'i will love u d more' ' u will be d mother of my unborn children or im a man of God or im born again, i dnt do dis, i dnt do dat', or i dnt hav anytin to do wit her, or she's jst a frnd or my love for u is bigger dan her own, dnt wori' or its u i want to marry nt her'. all dese lies are sooooooo obvious dat i usually get shocked at y ladies of nowadays stil fall for dem even tho dey hav bn used many tyms witout numba n d men have shown dem d opposite of wat dey say. i fink men shud come up wit somtin difrent so dat we can learn more cos dey r bcomin predictable to me. dnt knw abt oda ladies sha.
@Sophyrocks HAVE YOU NOTICE ALL THIS TO ANY GUY IF I MAY ASK?
Posted: at 5-12-2012 09:28 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- hismahill at 5-12-2012 10:02 AM (11 years ago)
The food part am so guilty of that,I find it difficult telling a woman she's a bad cook cos that's where their pride lies..I will say anything just to make  her feel her meal is appreciated even when i know it's far from it.
Posted: at 5-12-2012 10:02 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 5-12-2012 10:08 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: hismahill on  5-12-2012 10:02 AM
The food part am so guilty of that,I find it difficult telling a woman she's a bad cook cos that's where their pride lies..I will say anything just to make  her feel her meal is appreciated even when i know it's far from it.

cool.. but if u do , try in assisting her in the kitchen..  Cool

Posted: at 5-12-2012 10:08 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 5-12-2012 10:12 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: osarobo62 on  5-12-2012 02:50 AM
SOPHIEBABY, these are not lies.
these are signs that we listened to the words of our
elders about how to live peacefully with the weaker sex.
any man who wants to live long and happy at home play
by these rules.

if these are not lies.. tell us the one u dey lie na  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin  Tongue

Posted: at 5-12-2012 10:12 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sophiebaby at 5-12-2012 10:19 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Sophyrocks on  4-12-2012 08:20 PM
My namesake, u didnt mention d lies common to 9ja men at allllllllllllll. hw abt ' i will marry u' or ' if u made love wit me, 'i will love u d more' ' u will be d mother of my unborn children or im a man of God or im born again, i dnt do dis, i dnt do dat', or i dnt hav anytin to do wit her, or she's jst a frnd or my love for u is bigger dan her own, dnt wori' or its u i want to marry nt her'. all dese lies are sooooooo obvious dat i usually get shocked at y ladies of nowadays stil fall for dem even tho dey hav bn used many tyms witout numba n d men have shown dem d opposite of wat dey say. i fink men shud come up wit somtin difrent so dat we can learn more cos dey r bcomin predictable to me. dnt knw abt oda ladies sha.

my sister.. Na God we dey look o Cheesy

Posted: at 5-12-2012 10:19 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Watch Moment Students Arrive For Prom In Helicopter And Expensive Cars

2. Toyin Lawani Writes Open Letter To Asake Over New Hairstyle

3. VIDEO: Skitmaker, Erekere Shows Off His Newly Acquired Benz GLE

4. How British Charity Employed Nigerian Man, Peter Omoruy Convicted For Sex Trafficking In France

5. Nigerian Govt Cuts Electricity Supplies To Benin Republic, Togo, Niger To Boost Domestic Supply

6. Gunmen Kill One, Abduct Seven Along Sagamu-Ijebu-Ode Expressway

7. BREAKING: Vice President Shettima Cancels Summit Trip To US Over Faulty Aircraft

8. ‘I Appreciate Wike But I Can’t Worship Him’ – Rivers Gov, Fubara Opens Up

9. Suspected One-Chance Armed Robber Arrested With Pistol In Suleja

10. 'You Can Be Poor And Still Be Happier Than The So Called Rich' - World Bank Staff Says

11. Actress, Etinosa Idemudia Calls Out BBNaija Star Over Unpaid Debt, Name Still Withheld

12. Ekiti Court Sentences 3 Persons To Death By Hanging For Robbery

13. Suspected Ritualists Kidnap 4 Month Old Boy In Akwa Ibom

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

3. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

4. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

5. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

6. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

7. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

10. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe