20 Prisoners Bolt Away From Sagamu Prison

Date: 05-01-2013 3:35 pm (12 years ago) | Author: franel
- at 5-01-2013 03:35 PM (12 years ago)
«§» 5 January 2013

Twenty inmates of the Nigerian prison in Sagamu, Ogun State, Western Nigeria have escaped. Prison authorities claimed four of them have been re-arrested.

The Comptroller General of Nigeria Prisons Services, Mr Zakari Ibrahim,confirmed the escape, which happened early Wednesday, describing the incident as “unfortunate and embarrassing.”

Ibrahim spoke with newsmen when he visited the Sagamu Prison today.“I am here because of the issue of escape and I came personally to see what has happened and to ensure that things are done right.

“My visit is also to ensure that any staff found culpable face the full wrath of the law; we have set up a committee that will give us full report of what happened.

“ What I can tell for now is that we have 20 inmates who had escaped and we have re-arrested four of them.

“I have addressed the staff and I have told them that their commitment must be full and total; those who want to embarrass us should just leave.

“If investigation into the matter reveals that the incident was as a result of negligence of some of our staff, they will be dismissed and punished accordingly.

“Some of them (staff) will also be prosecuted and may even change uniforms, ‘’ he said.

The fleeing inmates broke the prison’s fence and injured some prison officials in the process of escaping.

Our correspondent learnt that during the jailbreak which occurred around 3.00am Wednesday, some of the inmates as well as prison officials were seriously injured.

There were also reports of heavy gunfire.

A prison source added that the revolt by the prisoners who used all sorts of materials as missiles and weapons was however later contained by the members of the Armed Squad of the Prison Service who were initially taken by surprise.

The run-away prisoners were said to have created a large hole on the wall at the back of the prison through which they escaped in the confusion caused inside the prison by their unexpected violent revolt.

Source: P.M News

Posted: at 5-01-2013 03:35 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 5-01-2013 05:30 PM (12 years ago)
Prison break abii? Porous prison and it environment.
Posted: at 5-01-2013 05:30 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Rihannaaa at 5-01-2013 05:30 PM (12 years ago)
 Cheesy Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 5-01-2013 05:30 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Unikpearl at 5-01-2013 07:26 PM (12 years ago)
Gwat?...wahala dey o
Posted: at 5-01-2013 07:26 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Unikpearl at 5-01-2013 07:28 PM (12 years ago)
I just pity them because if govt catch them again...their punishment is double
Posted: at 5-01-2013 07:28 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- micc at 7-01-2013 08:58 AM (12 years ago)
Na so
Posted: at 7-01-2013 08:58 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- PidginMOUTH at 7-01-2013 09:35 AM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 7-01-2013 09:35 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 8-01-2013 05:47 AM (12 years ago)
Hmm... Prison Break. Wahala DeY! 
Posted: at 8-01-2013 05:47 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 8-01-2013 05:48 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Unikpearl on  5-01-2013 07:28 PM
I just pity them because if govt catch them again...their punishment is double
True
Posted: at 8-01-2013 05:48 AM (12 years ago) | Hero

1. VIDEO: Jarvis Surprises Peller With a Lavish Birthday Gift

2. PHOTOS: How Your Favourite Celeb Stepped Out For 2025 For AMVCA Cultural Night

3. Pregnant Woman Dies Mid-operation As Jehovah’s Witness Doctor Refuses Blood Transfusion

4. EFCC Arrests Two Chinese Nationals, Six Nigerians Over Illegal Mining in Ogun State (Photos)

5. Ganduje Sparks Controversy With One-Party State Remarks Amid Wave Of Defections

6. Lagos Lady Recounts Ordeal in 'One Chance' Bus, Says She Was Hypnotized, Robbed & Abandoned

7. EFCC To Investigate Alleged ₦528bn Misappropriation By Ex-Zamfara Governor, Matawalle

1. Benue In Uproar As Leaked Adult Videos Spark Outrage, Calls For Arrests

2. 18Yr Old Boy Impregnates 10 Girls, Including His Boss' Daughter After He Was Sent To Learn A

3. 103 Virgin Girls Initiated Into Womanhood At Ovia Osese Festival In Kogi State (Photos)

4. "Many Have Suffered From Stroke" -Pastor Oyakhilome’s Sermon On Salt Sparks Heated Debate (Vid)

5. VDM And I Are Officially Married - Actress Sarah Martins Drops Bombshell

6. LA HOTTIE! Davido’s Wife, Chioma Adeleke, Flaunts Her Hot Bod In Lovely New Photos

7. "Why I Would Choose Davido Over Burnaboy, Wizkid" – Singer, Zinoleesky

8. 'Some Men Are Praying For Their Wives To Die So They Can Marry Another' -Nigerian Man Blows Hot

9. Nollywood Star, Uche Ogbodo Undergoes 'BBL & Tummy Tuck'; Shares Recovery Journey (Video)

10. I’m Married To Jesus — Pretty Reverend Sister Tells Asaba Boys Asking For Her Number (VID)