Women who retain their father's name after marriage. (Page 5)

Date: 26-04-2009 11:37 pm (15 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9
- myragonza at 30-04-2009 10:06 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Phil2 on 30-04-2009 09:43 AM
myragonza is d name, next person pls   Wink  Wink

Undecided Undecided Undecided

Posted: at 30-04-2009 10:06 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angelfelix at 30-04-2009 12:17 PM (15 years ago)
i don't agree dat women should retain their surname after marriage cos it 's mean dat they are still married to their families. In most cases dis days in Nigeria is dat most married women retain their surnames and use it in various offices, if ask them, all they say is dat their surname have 2 remain in case of necessity. Huh?
Posted: at 30-04-2009 12:17 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- cupidcutie at 30-04-2009 01:55 PM (15 years ago)
retain or no retain all that really matters is the love and a long lasting relationship!
and as long as the children bears thier fathers name...no wahala!!!
Posted: at 30-04-2009 01:55 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Akpan01 at 30-04-2009 02:00 PM (15 years ago)
SHE HAS TO TAKE THE HOUSBAND NAME NORMALL...

Posted: at 30-04-2009 02:00 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- zino_fb at 30-04-2009 08:33 PM (15 years ago)
Well "NAME"...thats strange......It might interest you to know that it depends on so many things.

I have gone through what must of you said here, some said it doesn't really mean anything if she keep her father's name of take the surname of her husband.

Let me start by saying this, for instance...a guy called Tom is about to get married to a get called Cynthia......na the man they bring all the cash ohhh, na the man dey ask for wife oohhh but when the wedding card it out bodly written it is always "CYNTHIA weds TOM".....that one dey.

Lets go to the Genesis of a man and woman coming together...Adam only said this is the bone of my bone and the flesh of my flesh....he did not say this is "Mrs. Eve Adam"....that was then

In this generation (African Tradi)...if a woman is living with her husband and still bears the name of her biological father it is like disrespect to her husband, secondly....now when husband hard to see (No disrespect to women)...they want to answer the name of a man to show they are married....

So depends on where you are from............how you see it.............what it means to you................

I nor dey find woman.......I they find money because when peper don rest.........women go find my name..............I nor need to tell them...........Even if the name of my papa na "CRAZE" them go still find the name because peper rest..........na make I dey advice all men.....try hustle make you make am because na the peper whe nyou get they give you name................

Poverty is a curse of the law for violating the law....as you read this and believe in yourself that you can make it is life...then you make step into the light and that light will work for you and give you a NAME, PLACE AND VOICE...........ONE LOVE
Posted: at 30-04-2009 08:33 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- diplomatik at 1-05-2009 05:48 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on 26-04-2009 11:37 PM
It is not right for a lady to retain her father's name (even as middle name) after getting married. She should take the new name from her man --- except theres a very logical reason for keeping the name

POSTER....MY REASON IS......DE DAMN NAME TOO LONG...E NO GO FIT ON MY DRIVERS LICENSE..... Grin Grin

Posted: at 1-05-2009 05:48 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- chrissiebee at 1-05-2009 06:21 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: diplomatik on  1-05-2009 05:48 AM
It is not right for a lady to retain her father's name (even as middle name) after getting married. She should take the new name from her man --- except theres a very logical reason for keeping the name

POSTER....MY REASON IS......DE DAMN NAME TOO LONG...E NO GO FIT ON MY DRIVERS LICENSE..... Grin Grin

lmfbaoooooooooooooooooooooo!!!  Grin Grin

Posted: at 1-05-2009 06:21 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- SAmyrocko at 1-05-2009 08:00 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: myragonza on 30-04-2009 06:58 AM
Quote from: SAmyrocko on 28-04-2009 10:02 AM
She most bear my name. thats the right thing!

efe...?

huh!

Posted: at 1-05-2009 08:00 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- flakkypat at 1-05-2009 03:30 PM (15 years ago)
yes is good,u can add it as d third name
Posted: at 1-05-2009 03:30 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- mubaji at 1-05-2009 06:36 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: sandie on 27-04-2009 01:42 AM
@posterlike i said b4...idon'tagree...well it can be something d couple have to decide...what's bad if i add my middle name Huh?

wait a minute....If a man truly becomes one' with his woman through marriage why does she have to take his name?Huh?What stops them from combining names? instead of one taking up d other's name?Huh?
Does a woman's roots have to be buried under d dotted lines?

Some women choose to have one uniform name because of conditioning and culture, which has over time tied d woman's identity to d man's name..... As a result of this societal norm... stupid laws have been put in place that does not recognize a wife's right to her name.

If we are to go with d argument of keeping to what d law says then why change over from a name that has been on BIRTH CERTIFICATES, HOSPITAL RECORDS, PASSPORTS, DRIVER'S LICENSES and other very defining legal documents to a completely different name after many years of her life?Huh?

How many names and identities does a woman have to take and drop in HER life time? Or does she keep adding a new name to the last one each time she remarrys?Huh?
or lets assume u get married and u have only gurls...no boy to carry ur name along... will u allow ur surname to die like that?

i rest my case with a question
you talked sense my dear, i dont buy the idea of changing a woman's name beacuse i count that as a disregard and disrespect to her root who did all they could to make her who she is. it's senseless to me but it is the norm in nigeria.
Posted: at 1-05-2009 06:36 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dguy at 1-05-2009 07:47 PM (15 years ago)

You can choose between driving and marriage.

Posted: at 1-05-2009 07:47 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Pires07 at 1-05-2009 07:58 PM (15 years ago)
well here in Africa, our culture dnt usually permit that. once d woman is married to Mr. bola, she automatically becomes Mrs. bola.

Posted: at 1-05-2009 07:58 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AfricanPrinc3ss at 1-05-2009 08:01 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Pires07 on  1-05-2009 07:58 PM
well here in Africa, our culture dnt usually permit that. once d woman is married to Mr. bola, she automatically becomes Mrs. bola.

hmm what would be one of the logical reason for keepin the name?
Posted: at 1-05-2009 08:01 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- diplomatik at 1-05-2009 08:06 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on  1-05-2009 07:47 PM

You can choose between driving and marriage.

SAM...LOL...I MUST DRIVE OO.MY HUSBAND NO DEY CARRY ME ANYWHERE....SO HE GO AGREE FOR ME TO CARRY MY FATHERS NAME ...LOL

Posted: at 1-05-2009 08:06 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Pires07 at 1-05-2009 08:14 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: AfricanPrinc3ss on  1-05-2009 08:01 PM

basically ther cud be no logical reasons but we Africans believes dat once a lady is married 2 a man, she shud be addressed by d husband's name nd not her father's.

Posted: at 1-05-2009 08:14 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Pires07 at 1-05-2009 08:20 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: bigbaby on  1-05-2009 08:16 PM
Quote from: Pires07 on  1-05-2009 08:14 PM

basically ther cud be no logical reasons but we Africans believes dat once a lady is married 2 a man, she shud be addressed by d husband's name nd not her father's.

YES OOOO PIRES U TALK WELL BUT I NOR GREE
why?
u sure knw i cant address u wif ur dad's name in public, when u re married. wont u feel somehow?

Posted: at 1-05-2009 08:20 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AfricanPrinc3ss at 1-05-2009 08:22 PM (15 years ago)

i would lyk to keep ma name Tongue
Posted: at 1-05-2009 08:22 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Pires07 at 1-05-2009 08:27 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: AfricanPrinc3ss on  1-05-2009 08:22 PM

pray u dnt get married 2 sum1 lyk me.

Quote from: bigbaby on  1-05-2009 08:23 PM

TI MO BA GBA UR FACE U WILL KNOW WATS UP WITH U
U ARE KEEPING MA BROTHER NAME OOOOOO
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 1-05-2009 08:27 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AfricanPrinc3ss at 1-05-2009 08:29 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Pires07 on  1-05-2009 08:27 PM

pray u dnt get married 2 sum1 lyk me.

odana wa gba face me then cos i lyk ma surname lol Wink i can add it tho lol Tongue
Posted: at 1-05-2009 08:29 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- AfricanPrinc3ss at 1-05-2009 08:34 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: bigbaby on  1-05-2009 08:31 PM

odana wa gba face me then cos i lyk ma surname lol Wink i can add it tho lol Tongue
[/quote]

MA WORI I TRUST UR MAMA AND PAPA
[/quote]

lol wat do u mean?
Posted: at 1-05-2009 08:34 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9

1. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

2. Woman Narrates How She Takes Revenge On Her Cheating Husband

3. Yoruba Actors, Ogogo & Yinka Quadri’s Squash Long Standing Beef As They Are Spotted At An Event

4. PHOTOS: Pandemonium As Hoodlums Clash In Lagos, Set Market On Fire

5. Naira Abuse: Court Fixes Date For Report Of Settlement In Case Against Cubana Chief Priest

6. "It’s Naira Govt Said We Shouldn’t Spray, Not Perfume" - Comedian Sabinus Warns Fans

7. BREAKING; 'Drone That Attacked Kaduna Village Mistaken For Terrorist' -Nigerian Army Claims

8. How A 22Yr Old Woman Dies After Waking Up With Headache

9. '5 Stab Wounds Found On His Body' - Family Of Veritas University Student Found Dead Reveals

10. VIDEO: Reactions As Lady Shows Off Mouthwatering Noodles Her Boyfriend Made

11. Presidency Faults Organised Labour Over ₦615,000 Minimum Wage Demand

12. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

13. PHOTOS: Police Arrests Two Women For Child Trafficking In Abuja

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

3. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

4. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

5. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

6. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

7. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

8. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

9. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

10. "Polygamy Is Allowed In Celestial Church, Our Prophets Can Marry Many Wives" — Oshoffa's Son