Women who retain their father's name after marriage.

Date: 26-04-2009 11:37 pm (14 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9
- at 26-04-2009 11:37 PM (14 years ago)
It is not right for a lady to retain her father's name (even as middle name) after getting married. She should take the new name from her man --- except theres a very logical reason for keeping the name

Posted: at 26-04-2009 11:37 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Tomdequola at 26-04-2009 11:40 PM (14 years ago)
Agree. Totally

Posted: at 26-04-2009 11:40 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- erikaakpan at 26-04-2009 11:41 PM (14 years ago)
i believe a woman should change her name once she is married. u took that vow to become one. i took on my husbands last name.Whats the point of marriage if ur not going to give ur husband the respect of carrying his last name?

Posted: at 26-04-2009 11:41 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- diplomatik at 26-04-2009 11:43 PM (14 years ago)
I CONCUR... Cheesy

Posted: at 26-04-2009 11:43 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Beauti4 at 27-04-2009 12:32 AM (14 years ago)
@poster u r damn right...mostly central Americans...hope am correct. Mexico, Guatamala, etc...they do keep their father's name even d grandpa's own. u should take this to d park. but u wont cos u dnt knw how to fight though... Cool
Posted: at 27-04-2009 12:32 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- sandie at 27-04-2009 01:03 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Beauti4 on 27-04-2009 12:32 AM
@poster u r damn right...mostly central Americans...hope am correct. Mexico, Guatamala, etc...they do keep their father's name even d grandpa's own. u should take this to d park. but u wont cos u dnt knw how to fight though... Cool

it has already be done...and guess what? Smiley nobody won! Cheesy

poster....sorry i don't agree Cheesy... brb for my reasons

Posted: at 27-04-2009 01:03 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- d_man at 27-04-2009 01:11 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on 26-04-2009 11:37 PM
It is not right for a lady to retain her father's name (even as middle name) after getting married. She should take the new name from her man --- except theres a very logical reason for keeping the name
What logical reason could there be?

Posted: at 27-04-2009 01:11 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sandie at 27-04-2009 01:42 AM (14 years ago)
@posterlike i said b4...idon'tagree...well it can be something d couple have to decide...what's bad if i add my middle name Huh?

wait a minute....If a man truly becomes one' with his woman through marriage why does she have to take his name?Huh?What stops them from combining names? instead of one taking up d other's name?Huh?
Does a woman's roots have to be buried under d dotted lines?

Some women choose to have one uniform name because of conditioning and culture, which has over time tied d woman's identity to d man's name..... As a result of this societal norm... stupid laws have been put in place that does not recognize a wife's right to her name.

If we are to go with d argument of keeping to what d law says then why change over from a name that has been on BIRTH CERTIFICATES, HOSPITAL RECORDS, PASSPORTS, DRIVER'S LICENSES and other very defining legal documents to a completely different name after many years of her life?Huh?

How many names and identities does a woman have to take and drop in HER life time? Or does she keep adding a new name to the last one each time she remarrys?Huh?
or lets assume u get married and u have only gurls...no boy to carry ur name along... will u allow ur surname to die like that?

i rest my case with a question

Posted: at 27-04-2009 01:42 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mazi at 27-04-2009 01:47 AM (14 years ago)
u better retire it entirely ma dear.....u loose
Posted: at 27-04-2009 01:47 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- sandie at 27-04-2009 01:52 AM (14 years ago)
huh? what are u talking about

Posted: at 27-04-2009 01:52 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mazi at 27-04-2009 01:54 AM (14 years ago)
ur arguement hold no water
Posted: at 27-04-2009 01:54 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- sandie at 27-04-2009 01:56 AM (14 years ago)
gimme ur reasons...cuz u didnt make any good reason out of d topic

Posted: at 27-04-2009 01:56 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mazi at 27-04-2009 01:59 AM (14 years ago)
there's nothing to argue abt....
doesn't call for one....it's not debatable
Posted: at 27-04-2009 01:59 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- sweetrae at 27-04-2009 02:06 AM (14 years ago)
it's common in d  USA for a woman to hyphenate....

eX...mine would be Larea T. C***** - A******* Wink Wink
Posted: at 27-04-2009 02:06 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sandie at 27-04-2009 02:13 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: mazi on 27-04-2009 01:59 AM
there's nothing to argue abt....
doesn't call for one....it's not debatable

i'm not saying u should debate with me...cuz i'll rock u down Cheesy...newayz joke apart...i only said u should tell me why a woman cannot combine her middle name with her husband's name...period

Posted: at 27-04-2009 02:13 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mazi at 27-04-2009 02:31 AM (14 years ago)
wen u decide to leave ur father nd mother to spend d rest of ur entire life wit a man...
there's r certain procedures dat hv to follow before dat happens....
those things r last rites to fully cut off any link wit u nd ur biological family...
then transfer nd intergret u wit ur new family via matrimony....
dat automatically severs any link btw u nd ur biological family....
nd automatically becomes a visitor in ur father's house......kappish!
Posted: at 27-04-2009 02:31 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Toks-E at 27-04-2009 02:43 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on 26-04-2009 11:37 PM

in SA[south Africa] reverse is the case oooo

Posted: at 27-04-2009 02:43 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- erikaakpan at 27-04-2009 02:48 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: sandie on 27-04-2009 01:42 AM
@posterlike i said b4...idon'tagree...well it can be something d couple have to decide...what's bad if i add my middle name Huh?

wait a minute....If a man truly becomes one' with his woman through marriage why does she have to take his name?Huh?What stops them from combining names? instead of one taking up d other's name?Huh?
Does a woman's roots have to be buried under d dotted lines?

Some women choose to have one uniform name because of conditioning and culture, which has over time tied d woman's identity to d man's name..... As a result of this societal norm... stupid laws have been put in place that does not recognize a wife's right to her name.

If we are to go with d argument of keeping to what d law says then why change over from a name that has been on BIRTH CERTIFICATES, HOSPITAL RECORDS, PASSPORTS, DRIVER'S LICENSES and other very defining legal documents to a completely different name after many years of her life?Huh?

How many names and identities does a woman have to take and drop in HER life time? Or does she keep adding a new name to the last one each time she remarrys?Huh?
or lets assume u get married and u have only gurls...no boy to carry ur name along... will u allow ur surname to die like that?

i rest my case with a question
abeg ah, wetin all dis. the woman is suppose to change her name. y change it after all these decades? things may b different now a days, but the man is the head, even tho he may not b. so if u get married change ur last name. if u dnt wanna go thru the process of changing ur license, birth certificate, etc, make sure u only get married ONCE

Posted: at 27-04-2009 02:48 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Toks-E at 27-04-2009 02:54 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: mazi on 27-04-2009 02:31 AM
wen u decide to leave ur father nd mother to spend d rest of ur entire life wit a man...
those things r last rites to fully cut off any link wit u nd ur biological family...

hw can that be?
dats nt the case abeg, ur biological father/parents will always be ur father/parents, no matter wat name u bear
so u cant be a visitor in ur fathers house

Posted: at 27-04-2009 02:54 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sandie at 27-04-2009 03:46 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: mazi on 27-04-2009 02:31 AM

huh?...lol what thats? is that some kinda trade or something? are u buying ur wife that she has to cut off every link with her and her family.Huh?

The changing of a woman's last name because of marriage only makes sense when operating under the law "that a woman is a piece of a man's real estate".... as women were once considered....but today women rights have evolved ten fold since then and women now have the right to decide whether they will take on their husbands name....

@erikaakpan babe i'm not saying i won't change...i'm only saying i can add my maiden name...but Geez!!!
Your maiden name is a REPRESENTATION of where u came from. It links u to ur heritage and family members from years gone by. Taking on a new name can align u to a new heritage and family and some may unnecessarily feel distanced from their own ancestry.

when i came into this world i was given a first name as a form of individual identity and a last name as a shared identity with blood ties.

That is why for me d idea of retaining my individuality makes it very difficult to hand over as part of d contract of matrimony.

for me it's like an act of slavery and oppression on a woman as a wife, who becomes a possession rather being a person in a working partnership of two... with one taking the lead and the other complimenting and completing

@toks-E pls tell him

Posted: at 27-04-2009 03:46 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9