SAY WHAT? Igbo Film Makers Are Not Professionals - Yoruba Actor, Funsho Adeolu (Page 8)

Date: 18-01-2013 12:02 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12
- HOPEA23 at 19-01-2013 08:38 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: mary11 on 19-01-2013 06:53 PM
NametAlkam god go punish u 4 bringing tribalism into dis forum
amen

Posted: at 19-01-2013 08:38 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- laurawest at 19-01-2013 08:49 PM (11 years ago)
I enjoy watching both igbo and yoruba movies. i do love the unique things they bring to the industry. this guy is one of the yoruba actors i have a lot of respect for. I expext actors like him to be careful what they say on the media it could work against him in the future. This means TRIBALISM is still well and alive in Nigeria
Posted: at 19-01-2013 08:49 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- arsenal123 at 19-01-2013 09:24 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 19-01-2013 09:24 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- arsenal123 at 19-01-2013 09:25 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: dlimelite on 19-01-2013 04:52 PM
Wink Wink Wink Wink Kiss Kiss Kiss

Kiss Kiss Kiss
Posted: at 19-01-2013 09:25 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- arsenal123 at 19-01-2013 09:27 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: peppyfine on 19-01-2013 05:06 PM
arsenal 123, educate dem pls. They are all boko haram nonentity

Posted: at 19-01-2013 09:27 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- arsenal123 at 19-01-2013 09:28 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: suzy4love on 19-01-2013 06:06 PM
MR POSTER WHY DON'T U ASK HIM IF IT IS TRUE ABOUT THE RUMOR WE HEARD  ABOUT HIM THAT HIS THE CAUSE OF FIGHT BETWEEN FAITHIA BALOGUN AND HER HUSBAND SAIDI, U R ASKING ANOTHER THING.

Hhhhmmm... Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed..
Posted: at 19-01-2013 09:28 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- arsenal123 at 19-01-2013 09:29 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 19-01-2013 07:56 PM
watching with keen interest ooooooo

Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 19-01-2013 09:29 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 19-01-2013 09:51 PM (11 years ago)
monki
Posted: at 19-01-2013 09:51 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- lyndalyn at 19-01-2013 09:54 PM (11 years ago)
Why have you been absent in English movies these days?

When I started out, I always had an eye for professionalism and respect for the profession. I have always had an eye for perfection in everything I do. I like to be in the midst of people that are professionals. Even at that time, when I was in English [movies], I never worked with anybody apart from Tunji Bamishigbin, Jimi Odumosu, Tade Ogidan, and the likes. During that period, I got offers from others but I always declined.

Why?

Because they were not professionals. Theirs (Igbo filmmakers) is usually a case of somebody who started as a production assistant and in a year, claims to be a director. I had a standard and used to refuse their offers, but when it got to a point, all the people I mentioned (Tunji Bamishigbin, Jimi Odumosu and Tade Ogidan) left movies for soaps, and as an actor by profession, I had to eat. Antar Laniyan was the one that advised me to try Yoruba movies.

Mr perfect. You are just being envious of Igbos because they are doing well in English movies.. Please grow up and stop that drop that kidding attitude of yours, Onye ofe nmanu Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 19-01-2013 09:54 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- LYON001 at 19-01-2013 10:50 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: lyndalyn on 19-01-2013 09:54 PM
Why have you been absent in English movies these days?

When I started out, I always had an eye for professionalism and respect for the profession. I have always had an eye for perfection in everything I do. I like to be in the midst of people that are professionals. Even at that time, when I was in English [movies], I never worked with anybody apart from Tunji Bamishigbin, Jimi Odumosu, Tade Ogidan, and the likes. During that period, I got offers from others but I always declined.

Why?

Because they were not professionals. Theirs (Igbo filmmakers) is usually a case of somebody who started as a production assistant and in a year, claims to be a director. I had a standard and used to refuse their offers, but when it got to a point, all the people I mentioned (Tunji Bamishigbin, Jimi Odumosu and Tade Ogidan) left movies for soaps, and as an actor by profession, I had to eat. Antar Laniyan was the one that advised me to try Yoruba movies.

Mr perfect. You are just being envious of Igbos because they are doing well in English movies.. Please grow up and stop that drop that kidding attitude of yours, Onye ofe nmanu Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

I RESPECT UR OPINION man but  RESPECT  EVEN WHEN U GET NON..   learnnnn cos of the generations coming.MOST THEY CONTINUE THESE TRIBE THINGGY?? I DONT CARE IF U R A FRENCH MAN but dont sound like OLODO!!! TYPE. just a correctionuuuoooo.
Posted: at 19-01-2013 10:50 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- babe84 at 20-01-2013 12:24 AM (11 years ago)
yeye ppl..........alll naija films na yeye both yoruba , ibo.... yhe boko haram ppl own na rubbish! Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 20-01-2013 12:24 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dlimelite at 20-01-2013 04:43 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: giwaj on 19-01-2013 02:10 PM
hm an waooooo dats y i don't like yuroba their thinking re useless
They don't like you either. Your thinking must be useless cuz you didn't think to read before you talk and you can't even spell "Yoruba".
Posted: at 20-01-2013 04:43 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Dewalter at 20-01-2013 07:41 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: deboalabi262 on 18-01-2013 02:15 PM
Olorun a ba ti eje fun nkan to ko ni ede ibo. Omo obo randan randan, okoro mogodo.....
ara tichie gi nti, anu ofia si na ofia puta, oo ka ndi obodo unu si ezuzu ezuzu ebe obula ha huru eziokwu, unu amaghi na enweghi ka unu ga-esi ka anyi mma, anyi ga emechaa chiaa obodo a. Ndi ara yoruba!
Posted: at 20-01-2013 07:41 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Solidstonez at 20-01-2013 07:43 AM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 20-01-2013 07:43 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 20-01-2013 07:43 AM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 20-01-2013 07:43 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 20-01-2013 08:38 AM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 20-01-2013 08:38 AM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- ikem-deman at 20-01-2013 10:18 AM (11 years ago)
HAHAHAHAHAHA YORUBA PRODUCERS AND ACTORS PROFESSIONALS ? CHAI THIS GUY IS A TRIBALISTIC FOOL.

WHO RUNS THE MOVIE INDUSTRY BOTH IN NIGERIA AND GHANA ? DEFINITELY NOT THE YORUBAS BUT THE IGBOS.WHO ARE THE RICHEST PRODUCERS AND BEST DIRECTORS IN NOLLYWOOD ? THE IGBOS...IS IT THESE TRASH I SEE YOU YORUBA ACTORS DISH OUT THAT MAKES YOU A PROFESSIONAL ? EVEN THE TRANSLATIONS AND EDITING IS HORRIBLE.

MY FRIEND GO GET A LIFE BECAUSE YOU ARE NOT ONE OF THE A LIST ACTORS IN NIGERIA..I DON'T EVEN KNOW YOUR NAME TO START WITH.

ONE DAY THE HATRED YOU IDDIOTS HAVE FOR THE EVER PROGRESSING IGBO TRIBE WILL KILL U ALL FOOLS !
Posted: at 20-01-2013 10:18 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ikem-deman at 20-01-2013 10:34 AM (11 years ago)
SO CALLED PROFESSIONAL YORUBA ILLITERATE  MOVIE ACTORS  CANT EVEN PAY ELECTRICITY BILLS WITH THEIR EARNINGS ! YET SOME FOOOL OPENS HIS MOUTH TO TALK ABOUT PROFESSIONALISM !

Quite a number of perks come with being a movie star in this part of the world. They include designer clothes, luxury cars and posh apartments. Apart from their penchant for such status symbols, today’s Nollywood actors and actresses are also seen as role models, especially to the young and impressionable who dream of becoming stars some day.

But, judging by the results of a recent investigation conducted by Saturday Beats, it appears all that glitters is not gold, after all.

Contrary to popular opinion, the life of the average Yoruba movie star is that of constant ‘suffering and smiling’.

In spite of the fabulous profiles and immense goodwill enjoyed by some of these celebrated screen gods and goddesses, the contents of their bank accounts are really nothing to be cheerful about.

Even the ‘alarming’ increase in the volume of home video films produced in Yoruba language ought to be sufficient to improve the bank balances of such celebrities. To make matters worse, many of them suffer from a financial disease known as ‘Withdrawal Symptom.’ In fact, it is no longer news that a good number are regular visitors to ATMs.

“As soon as money is paid into their bank accounts, you will see them rushing to the nearest ATM to withdraw almost all the cash,” an amused banker told Saturday Beats recently.

Certainly it is difficult to believe that no reasonably successful Yoruba actor or actress has ever been paid up to N500, 000 for a lead role in any movie. Half a million seems a fantastic sum by all indications. Instead, the maximum fee payable to the best actor or actress has remained between N150k and N250k.

Even many of the ‘veterans’ receive as low as N10k to appear in a film feature.

While those that are constantly in demand or have won awards in the industry, such as the likes of Funke Akindele and Odunlade Adekola, earn a maximum of N250k per feature film, the rest are left with peanuts. Interestingly, an exception to this ‘golden rule’ is Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde. Saturday Beats investigation shows that she earns between N250k and N400k.

Another ‘big earning’ actor is Adebayo Salami, aka Oga Bello. It is said that he hardly receives part payment from any producer. Usually on location, he would demand his fee of not more that N150,000 before going into action.

The same is said about Omotola who does not budge until she or her manager has confirmed that a certain amount of money has been deposited in her bank account.

However, the so-called big budget film productions have never exceeded the N3m mark despite the fact that a lot of money goes into paying the crew and cast. Money is also spent on production equipment, lights, costumes, makeups, transport, food, accommodation, generating plant sets, and other logistics/incidental expenses.

That is also why most of the cast and crew are grateful when the filmmaker or marketer, who bankrolls the production, is able to hand them paltry sums of money.

“You can count on your fingers the number of individuals involved in the production who respectively got paid less than N50,000,” a production hand says.

Also included in the budget are the editing suite staff, copies of empty VCDs to be dubbed, posters and film jackets to be printed, marketing and distribution.

Now we know why most of the highly paid or underpaid actors/ actresses are writing their own movie scripts and directing or producing their own movie projects, as well as saturating the market with volumes of half-baked home videos every week.

Bukky Wright was the highest paid actress in the Yoruba language genre before Funke Akindele broke her N150,000 per featured film record with Jenifa.Omilade Babatunde, aka Baba Suwe, used to be the highest paid aactor until the much younger Odunlade Adekola, aka Cause Trouble, began to earn up to N250k per feature film. The other notable figures? Well, they are trying hard to catch up with Omotola, Funke and Odunlade.

Omotola, Adebayo Salami, Funke Akindele, Bukky Wright and Odunlade Adekola were unavailable for comment.

But prolific film producer, Kunle Afolayan, said, “I really don’t know how much they earn now because I’ve since moved on to other major things.”

Top actress, Lizzy Anjorin, found it hard to answer the question.

“Ha! That’s a tough question that I don’t have a ready answer for. Fees vary from one filmmaker to another. As for me, I bill per script and I don’t appear in just about any film.”

Saturday Beats sought the view of scriptwriter/actor/filmmaker, Femi Davies.

He responded, “You can’t really get any top actor/actress that will proudly and honestly tell you this is how much he or she earns per film. But for my years in the industry, I don’t know anyone that collects half a million naira per film he or she featured in that’s not a film produced by him or her. Things can only get better.”

Posted: at 20-01-2013 10:34 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- analyzation at 20-01-2013 11:53 AM (11 years ago)
is naijapal set up to create fracas amongst ourselves?
Posted: at 20-01-2013 11:53 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 20-01-2013 11:59 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ikem-deman on 20-01-2013 10:34 AM
SO CALLED PROFESSIONAL YORUBA ILLITERATE  MOVIE ACTORS  CANT EVEN PAY ELECTRICITY BILLS WITH THEIR EARNINGS ! YET SOME FOOOL OPENS HIS MOUTH TO TALK ABOUT PROFESSIONALISM !

Quite a number of perks come with being a movie star in this part of the world. They include designer clothes, luxury cars and posh apartments. Apart from their penchant for such status symbols, today’s Nollywood actors and actresses are also seen as role models, especially to the young and impressionable who dream of becoming stars some day.

But, judging by the results of a recent investigation conducted by Saturday Beats, it appears all that glitters is not gold, after all.

Contrary to popular opinion, the life of the average Yoruba movie star is that of constant ‘suffering and smiling’.

In spite of the fabulous profiles and immense goodwill enjoyed by some of these celebrated screen gods and goddesses, the contents of their bank accounts are really nothing to be cheerful about.

Even the ‘alarming’ increase in the volume of home video films produced in Yoruba language ought to be sufficient to improve the bank balances of such celebrities. To make matters worse, many of them suffer from a financial disease known as ‘Withdrawal Symptom.’ In fact, it is no longer news that a good number are regular visitors to ATMs.

“As soon as money is paid into their bank accounts, you will see them rushing to the nearest ATM to withdraw almost all the cash,” an amused banker told Saturday Beats recently.

Certainly it is difficult to believe that no reasonably successful Yoruba actor or actress has ever been paid up to N500, 000 for a lead role in any movie. Half a million seems a fantastic sum by all indications. Instead, the maximum fee payable to the best actor or actress has remained between N150k and N250k.

Even many of the ‘veterans’ receive as low as N10k to appear in a film feature.

While those that are constantly in demand or have won awards in the industry, such as the likes of Funke Akindele and Odunlade Adekola, earn a maximum of N250k per feature film, the rest are left with peanuts. Interestingly, an exception to this ‘golden rule’ is Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde. Saturday Beats investigation shows that she earns between N250k and N400k.

Another ‘big earning’ actor is Adebayo Salami, aka Oga Bello. It is said that he hardly receives part payment from any producer. Usually on location, he would demand his fee of not more that N150,000 before going into action.

The same is said about Omotola who does not budge until she or her manager has confirmed that a certain amount of money has been deposited in her bank account.

However, the so-called big budget film productions have never exceeded the N3m mark despite the fact that a lot of money goes into paying the crew and cast. Money is also spent on production equipment, lights, costumes, makeups, transport, food, accommodation, generating plant sets, and other logistics/incidental expenses.

That is also why most of the cast and crew are grateful when the filmmaker or marketer, who bankrolls the production, is able to hand them paltry sums of money.

“You can count on your fingers the number of individuals involved in the production who respectively got paid less than N50,000,” a production hand says.

Also included in the budget are the editing suite staff, copies of empty VCDs to be dubbed, posters and film jackets to be printed, marketing and distribution.

Now we know why most of the highly paid or underpaid actors/ actresses are writing their own movie scripts and directing or producing their own movie projects, as well as saturating the market with volumes of half-baked home videos every week.

Bukky Wright was the highest paid actress in the Yoruba language genre before Funke Akindele broke her N150,000 per featured film record with Jenifa.Omilade Babatunde, aka Baba Suwe, used to be the highest paid aactor until the much younger Odunlade Adekola, aka Cause Trouble, began to earn up to N250k per feature film. The other notable figures? Well, they are trying hard to catch up with Omotola, Funke and Odunlade.

Omotola, Adebayo Salami, Funke Akindele, Bukky Wright and Odunlade Adekola were unavailable for comment.

But prolific film producer, Kunle Afolayan, said, “I really don’t know how much they earn now because I’ve since moved on to other major things.”

Top actress, Lizzy Anjorin, found it hard to answer the question.

“Ha! That’s a tough question that I don’t have a ready answer for. Fees vary from one filmmaker to another. As for me, I bill per script and I don’t appear in just about any film.”

Saturday Beats sought the view of scriptwriter/actor/filmmaker, Femi Davies.

He responded, “You can’t really get any top actor/actress that will proudly and honestly tell you this is how much he or she earns per film. But for my years in the industry, I don’t know anyone that collects half a million naira per film he or she featured in that’s not a film produced by him or her. Things can only get better.”

Guy, I only have one question for you?   How many Yoruba actor or actress have you ever heard that die wretched?  But it's very common in our English movie industry, I can count so many of those English movie veterans who died poor men, even one died recently....I don't want to mention names cos I respect the dead so much.  IF YOUR POINT IS TRUE ABOUT THEIR PAY, THEN HOW COME THEY ARE ALL DYING WRETCHED?   MY MAN ,MAKE YOU NO ALLOW FIGURES CONFUSE YOU O.

Posted: at 20-01-2013 11:59 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12

1. Davido Trolled As His Sidechick Calls Him 2 Minutes Man With Tiny Manhood

2. VIDEO: Singer, Wizkid Gushes Over Prophet Odumeje, Shares Plan For Him

3. We Don’t Have a Choice - Indomie Reveals Why Costs Of Its Noodles Was Reduces

4. Fans Dig Out Evidence To Prove Wizkid’s Claim About Don Jazzy Being An Influencer

5. Don Jazzy Unfollows Wizkid After He Mocked Him Online

6. Tunde Ednut Slams Wizkid For Disrespecting Davido And Don Jazzy

7. Missing 400-Level UniAbuja Student, Murjanatu Zubairu Found Dead

8. Nigerian Woman Urges Married Women To Stop Wasting Their Prayers On Cheating Husband

9. Edo Governor Obaseki Announces N70, 000 New Minimum Wage For Civil Servants

10. Actor, Adeniyi Johnson Shares Epic Throwback Photo With Wife, Seyi Edun On Movie Set

11. 15Yr Old Secondary School Student, Ebube Offo Commits Suicide Over Expulsion In Enugu

12. 56Yr Old Nigerian Woman Celebrates After Giving Birth To Twins After 26Yrs Of Waiting

13. Keep Watching Over Me - Actress Nancy Isime Sends Message To Late Mother Who Died 28Yrs Ago

14. Nigerian Court Orders Police To Pay N300M Fine For Killing 3 Shiite Members In Zaria

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

5. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

6. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

7. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

10. "Polygamy Is Allowed In Celestial Church, Our Prophets Can Marry Many Wives" — Oshoffa's Son