My Mother Sold Akara To Train Me – Actor, Emeka Ike

Date: 06-03-2013 2:34 pm (11 years ago) | Author: OIL PRINCE
- at 6-03-2013 02:34 PM (11 years ago)

Nollywood actor and factional president of the Actors’ Guild of Nigeria, Emeka Ike, was a special guest of V Channel, a new pay television in Lagos, last Friday.

The actor had arrived in the studio of the TV station in the Ogba area in company with fellow actor and host of the Gulder Ultimate Search reality show, Chidi  Mokeme, and the president of the Arewa Consultative Forum, Yerima Shettima.

Occasionally,  Ike squirmed with discomfort, especially when he was asked questions that appeared to probe a little too deep into his private life. But the occasion afforded him the opportunity to address some issues concerning his constituency, the Nigerian movie industry.

When asked to relate his experience as a factional president of the AGN, Ike let loose a canon. “I really don’t care about the AGN because it cannot put food on my table or pay my bills,” he said.

Yet, for the benefit of those who felt he had ‘gate-crashed’ into the body, he tried to set the records straight.

“I was actually invited into the fold by members of the then Board of Trustees of the AGN to solve the problems of the body. At the time, they told me that the problem was Ejike Asiegbu. They said he had been in charge for too long and had refused to leave. There was even a case pending in court.

“So, since I believe in the rule of law, I decided to get involved. At the end of the day, I discovered that the same people in the board of trustees, who had invited me to take over, were the problem of the AGN. They were not more than five people. But the way they ran the board, it meant that they determined what happened in the movie industry.

“I had to take the bull by the horns. I decided that those five people must leave the AGN or nobody else would have a place in the industry,” he said.

Eager to shake off the ‘bad boy’ image that had stuck to him ever since his career kicked off, he went on to correct certain notions that most movie fans have about him.

“Some people think that I am a trouble maker. They think I am a bad boy in the movie industry. But that is not who I am. I hate injustice and I fight for the oppressed whenever I can. I will give you an illustration.

“One day, I was passing by Oshodi Bridge when I saw a physically challenged person struggling with a policeman. I had to pull over immediately and confront the policeman, though he was armed. I succeeded in stopping the fight. This is the kind of things I do.

“I believe in hard work. I don’t date rich women for money. I believe that you can become a millionaire by selling akara. My mother sold akara to train me and I am a millionaire today,” he said.

The actor, who wants to be remembered for his humanitarian deeds, would like to see Nollywood witness a radical shift in terms of the language of production. He wants films to be produced in indigenous languages and actors to be proud of their cultural heritage.

“We should be making more films in Igbo, Yoruba, Itsekiri, Efik and other Nigerian languages. I don’t like it when we speak English all the time and try to imitate the American accent,” he said.

www.oilprincee.blogspot.com

Posted: at 6-03-2013 02:34 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Idbabe at 6-03-2013 03:17 PM (11 years ago)
Thank God u agreed to be trained.  Other ppl mama sef do ashawo train them
Posted: at 6-03-2013 03:17 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ela214 at 6-03-2013 03:53 PM (11 years ago)
ok oh
Posted: at 6-03-2013 03:53 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 6-03-2013 04:29 PM (11 years ago)
Ok . It was not mostly rosy for all anyway.
Posted: at 6-03-2013 04:29 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- abati666 at 27-09-2013 12:53 AM (10 years ago)
SO YOU LOOK LIKE AKARA MOUTH MUMU FOOL
Posted: at 27-09-2013 12:53 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 3-09-2015 08:43 AM (8 years ago)
Destination is all that matters not the takke off. It is well
Posted: at 3-09-2015 08:43 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- stboy000 at 3-09-2015 08:46 AM (8 years ago)
Its good you are now successful
Posted: at 3-09-2015 08:46 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Who Be Your Papa? – Nollywood Actor, Emeka Ike Blasts Alleged Son Who Left School For Music

2. What I Ordered Vs What I Got: Nigerian Lady Shares Video Of Wig She Purchased For N135k

3. Lady Left In Shock After Her Father’s Side Chick Shares Loved Up Video Of Them

4. Controversial Singer, Brymo Queries Tiwa Savage Over Lyrics Of Her Song With Simi

5. Police Apologise Following Mix Up Of DJ Switch Alleged Arrest

6. Edo Commissioner, Uyi Oduwa-Malaka Stripped Of Chieftaincy Title For Disrespecting Monarch

7. Give Your Partner Any Style He/She Wants In Bed, Don't All Spirituality Kill Your Marriage -Man

8. How Car Detached From Tow Truck Crushes Woman To Death In Anambra

9. EX Anambra Gov Obiano Loses Bid To Stop N40billion Money Laundering Case

10. Man, John Timothy Arraigned For Allegedly Stealing N1.2m From Dead Man’s Bank Account

11. BREAKING: EFCC Officially Declares Ex Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello Wanted

12. Commissioner DJ Wysei Remanded in Kirikiri Till May 8 Over Alleged Assault on Police Officer

13. Truck Driver, Obiefile Nwagha Arrested As Police Intercept 1,040 Wraps of Indian Hemp in Lagos

14. VIDEO: Lady Tackles Pastor David Ibiyeomie For Demanding 20% of Members' Salaries As Offering

1. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

2. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

6. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

7. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

8. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

9. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

10. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks