Nigeria Would Have Been Different Under Yar’Adua - Turai

Date: 08-05-2013 9:39 am (10 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 8-05-2013 09:39 AM (10 years ago)
Former first lady Hajiya Turai Yar’Adua has stated that Nigeria would have been a different country today if her husband had not died.

Speaking during a memorial lecture organised by students of Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University (UMYU), Katsina, Turai extolled the virtues of the late president. “If Umaru were alive, the history of Nigeria would have been different because he had focus,” she said in an emotion-laden voice.
Turai said even though the late president had health challenges while serving as president, “he gave his best for Nigeria” and “Umaru was a very honest man”.

According to her, “the late Umaru always said, ‘I am here to serve, not to make money. I am here to leave a legacy for you, not property’.”

Turai, who lauded the organisers of the memorial lecture, said she was happy to be in their midst because the event was commemorating someone she loved dearly, adding that “each time there is an occasion in memory of Umaru, I must be there no matter how small the organisers are”.

She decried the low turnout at the lecture but said, “I will not blame them because they have other commitments… Umaru believed in commitments and gave his best in everything he did.”
The memorial lecture was organised as part of activities to mark the 2013 edition of UMYU’s Student Union Government Week.

Posted: at 8-05-2013 09:39 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nametalkam at 8-05-2013 09:41 AM (10 years ago)

Former first lady Hajiya Turai Yar’Adua has stated that Nigeria would have been a different country today if her husband had not died.

Speaking during a memorial lecture organised by students of Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University (UMYU), Katsina, Turai extolled the virtues of the late president. “If Umaru were alive, the history of Nigeria would have been different because he had focus,” she said in an emotion-laden voice.
Turai said even though the late president had health challenges while serving as president, “he gave his best for Nigeria” and “Umaru was a very honest man”.

According to her, “the late Umaru always said, ‘I am here to serve, not to make money. I am here to leave a legacy for you, not property’.”

Turai, who lauded the organisers of the memorial lecture, said she was happy to be in their midst because the event was commemorating someone she loved dearly, adding that “each time there is an occasion in memory of Umaru, I must be there no matter how small the organisers are”.

She decried the low turnout at the lecture but said, “I will not blame them because they have other commitments… Umaru believed in commitments and gave his best in everything he did.”
The memorial lecture was organised as part of activities to mark the 2013 edition of UMYU’s Student Union Government Week.

Posted: at 8-05-2013 09:41 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- 1deblessed at 8-05-2013 10:53 AM (10 years ago)
I would expect her to say that anyway..........
Posted: at 8-05-2013 10:53 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 8-05-2013 11:09 AM (10 years ago)
Madam respect urself and stay out of politics. U are not d only first lady nigeria has produce so keep quiet and mind ur bizness.
Posted: at 8-05-2013 11:09 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- winace at 8-05-2013 11:22 AM (10 years ago)
Madam respect urself. Was it ur husband dat was ruling or u? Mctheeewwwww
Posted: at 8-05-2013 11:22 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- cocoeni at 8-05-2013 11:40 AM (10 years ago)
na mouth dem dey make
Posted: at 8-05-2013 11:40 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Jaylen at 8-05-2013 12:04 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 8-05-2013 12:04 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- DMG17 at 8-05-2013 12:14 PM (10 years ago)
WITH ALL DUE RESPECT, YOUR HUSBAND WAS NEVER A SAINT HE WAS ONLY HUMAN. AS AN INDIVIDUAL HE WAS A GOOD MAN BASED ON HIS PERSONAL BEHAVIORS, MANNER OF APPROACH AND SELF RESPECT. HE DID HIS BIT FOR THE COUNTY JUST LIKE OTHER PAST HEADS OF STATE. NIGERIA IS NOT MEANT FOR A PARTICULAR TRIBE ALONE.

YOUR TIME IS UP, YOU HAVE BEEN THERE BEFORE, LET OTHER WOMEN LIKE YOU ALSO TASTE POWER, IT'S NO CRIME. STAY AWAY FROM POLITICS AND STAY AWAY FROM THE PUBLIC EYE. STAY A FORMER FIRST LADY AND YOU WILL BE OK, AT LEAST YOU RECEIVE YOUR PENSION PLUS OTHER THINGS YOUR HUSBAND LEFT BEHIND. STAY UNSELFISH WOMAN.

THERE IS NO PERMANENT SITUATION IN THIS LIFE, NEVER BEEN, NEVER WILL. LEADERS COME AND GO, BUT COUNTRIES REMAIN. YOU WERE NOT THE VERY FIRST LADY NIGERIA EVER PRODUCED AND YOU WILL NEVER BE THE LAST. APART FROM THE ALMIGHTY GOD, NO ONE STAYS AT THE TOP FOREVER. YOUR TIME IS UP, LET OTHERS BE. TIMES HAVE CHANGED AND PEOPLE CHANGE WITH TIME. NO ONE SUCCEEDS LIVING IN THE PAST.  
Posted: at 8-05-2013 12:14 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- E2power3 at 8-05-2013 12:24 PM (10 years ago)
Yes, it would have been different with you as the President and your late husband as a front, just the way it was in Katsina State for 8 good years?!
Posted: at 8-05-2013 12:24 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- doncoyon at 8-05-2013 12:47 PM (10 years ago)
This lady should shut a hell u bitch
Posted: at 8-05-2013 12:47 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bettygirls at 8-05-2013 01:15 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 8-05-2013 01:15 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- trapheal at 8-05-2013 01:23 PM (10 years ago)
If you loved him so much you would have stopped him from smoking ...hiss
Posted: at 8-05-2013 01:23 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHUZY120 at 8-05-2013 01:28 PM (10 years ago)
May his humble soul rest in perfect peace we missed him, but mind you Aso Rock is not His Inheritance and can never be his PAPA house he was just a tenant and God/Allah said its Ok he should go back to Katsina alive inside a V.I.P private flight to enjoy his remaining life or in death inside a coffin, unfortunately madam turai you choose that he should go back inside a coffin.I know by now you can enjoy your life freely and phyuk as you like, so why are you speaking as if you miss him mama? tell me? tell me why you did not tell him to resign and hand over to his Deputy madam?? Stop shedding your crocodile tears in public because you had all the ample time to save his life if you actually loved him,but you refused because you don't want Goodluck Jonathan to become a president kwo?Huh?? Madam you be high class and professional Ashawo kai,Tamburu ubanka
Posted: at 8-05-2013 01:28 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Biafranwar at 8-05-2013 02:06 PM (10 years ago)
Na now this woman yansh come dey open as we all now knows that she can never make a good first lady
Posted: at 8-05-2013 02:06 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tanglefree at 8-05-2013 02:22 PM (10 years ago)

My fellow naija pals,una dey vex..........oooooooooooo
Posted: at 8-05-2013 02:22 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ezchusa at 8-05-2013 02:30 PM (10 years ago)
mtcheeew

Posted: at 8-05-2013 02:30 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ifemylove at 8-05-2013 03:21 PM (10 years ago)
your husband's relatives are the one suck1ng peoples blood like vampire
Posted: at 8-05-2013 03:21 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 8-05-2013 04:34 PM (10 years ago)
That's d fact
Posted: at 8-05-2013 04:34 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- lanudja at 8-05-2013 04:36 PM (10 years ago)
... if he had still be d president Nigeria could av be better than d way it it nw...
Posted: at 8-05-2013 04:36 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- lanudja at 8-05-2013 04:36 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: lanudja on  8-05-2013 04:36 PM
... if he had still be d president Nigeria could av be better than d way it is nw...
Posted: at 8-05-2013 04:36 PM (10 years ago) | Hero

1. Burna Boy Blasts Foreign Blogs Over Old Image Of His Shaved Beards

2. Check Out List Of Africa's Youngest Serving Presidents, 2024

3. Yul Edochie Publicly Announces Judy Austin His Soul Mate' In New Loved Up Video

4. Japanese Nappy Maker Shifts From Babies To Adults

5. U.S., India Rejected Mr Ibu Because He Couldn't Survive Flying Abroad - Nigerian Actors Guide

6. Police Arrest Man Who Pretended To Carry Out Transaction Robbed PoS Operator At Gunpoint In Edo

7. Tragedy As 4 Die In Bauchi Auto Crash, Over N1.6Million Recovered From Victims

8. Residents Panic As Man & Pregnant Woman Get Abducted In Ikorodu

9. Gov. Dr Alex Otti Flags Off Construction Of 11km Road In Abia North

10. Dangote Commences Donation Of 80,000 Bags Of Rice To Lagos Residents

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. "He Must Have Range Rover, Benz, BMW, At Least ₦100m” - Lady Sets Standards For Suitors (Video)

5. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

6. “Stay Clear Of Verydarkman Matter” – Samklef Issues Warning To Davido

7. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

8. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

9. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

10. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake