Teenage mother, two nurses arrested over missing baby

Date: 11-05-2013 12:12 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 11-05-2013 12:12 PM (10 years ago)
A twelve year old girl,  Mary Nmakamba Eyo and two nurses Amaladi Isaac and Lillian Aloysius  are being detained  by the police in Akpabuyo, in the outskirts of Calabar, the Cross River State capital for allegedly stealing  a baby delivered by the girl without the consent of her parents.

Mrs Justina Eyo, elder sister to Nmakamba who reported  the matter to the police which led to the arrest and detention of the three,  said the girl who got pregnant sometime in 2012 went missing two months ago and resurfaced last week without the pregnancy or the baby.

According to Justina, the family searched every where for the girl but could not locate her whereabouts until last week when she came back.

“She was impregnated by a married man in our village who for obvious reasons could not take her into his home but was taking care of her in the little way that he could but suddenly last March, the girl disappeared and we have searched everywhere without locating her”.

She said  last Friday, the girl came back without the pregnancy or the baby. She was asked where the baby was and she said the woman who took her away to Umuahia in Abia State collected the baby and gave her 2,000 naira to  return to Calabar.

“She said the woman met her here in Akpabuyo and took her to a Maternity home  Abia and when she gave birth, the woman gave her some drugs and she slept off. When she woke up, she did not see the baby and the woman gave her money to return to Caalabar”.

Justina who is a teacher said she was disturbed by her younger sister’s tale  adding that her look suggested something was wrong.

She immediately reported the matter to the police. Nmakamba was detained  and the next day they  took her to Abia to locate the Maternity and the woman who took the baby from her. According to her, when they got there, the woman on sighting the girl escaped but two nurses in the maternity  were arrested and brought down to Calabar on Tuesday evening.

When Saturday Vanguard visited the Akpabuyo Divisional Police Station at Ikot Nakanda, the two ladies, Lillian and Amaladi  aged about 25 and 28 were seen sitting on the floor of the cell of the station looking unkempt .

Mr Louis Nsamba, the Divisional Police Officer for Akpabuyo was not available for comment but a reliable  source at the station  confirmed that “We are investigating the case of a missing child and those ladies were brought in from Abia State yesterday in connection with that  investigation ”.

Posted: at 11-05-2013 12:12 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Shydaimma at 11-05-2013 12:26 PM (10 years ago)
2,000 naira??.  The nurses better talk and the woman should be found ASAP. Dat girl too na mumu. You woke up and you didn't see ur baby and a lady Gave u 2,000 to go back and you did just that without asking and fighting for ur baby. The baby is my concern they should try and get the baby first

Posted: at 11-05-2013 12:26 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 11-05-2013 02:31 PM (10 years ago)
Wats happening in d east oooo. Wasts all dis baby factory invogue and teenage pregnancy. If they continue like dis, we will have more bastard than real adults in future.
Posted: at 11-05-2013 02:31 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero