Rivers crisis: Hon. Lloyd Is Going Blind

Date: 29-07-2013 12:14 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Abraham Dickson
- at 29-07-2013 12:14 PM (11 years ago)
Rivers crisis: Hon. Lloyd Is Going Blind Added by Ehi on July 29, 2013. Saved under News Tags: Chidi Lloyd, Crisis, Michael Chinda, River crisis, Rivers State Contact us [email protected] Share and Enjoy Share on facebook Share on twitter Share on digg Share on delicious Share on email More Sharing Services RIVERS State Assembly Leader Chidi Lloyds is going blind, his colleagues have said. Hon. Chidi Lloyd Lloyd, a lawyer, who represents Emohua Constituency, has been moved from the Police Officers’ Mess, Old Government Reservation Area (GRA), Port Harcourt, where he was detained on Friday, to the State Criminal Investigation Department (SCID). He is not allowed to receive visitors and has got no medical help, his colleagues claimed. Speaking yesterday in Port Harcourt on behalf of the 27 lawmakers loyal to Governor Rotimi Amaechi, the Deputy Speaker of the Assembly, Leyii Kwanee, said Lloyd’s health was deteriorating. He needs medical attention. Kwanee, a lawyer, who represents Khana Constituency 2 and also the Chairman, Parliamentary Exchange and Mentorship Programme of the Pan African Parliament, revealed that the Speaker, Otelemaba Dan Amachree, was away in Namibia for the conference of Commonwealth Parliamentarians. The 27 lawmakers said: “We need to ensure that democracy is respected in Rivers State. Hon. Chidi Lloyd reported himself to the Force Headquarters, Abuja on Tuesday. He was flown into Port Harcourt on Friday.

We thought he would be charged to court that day. “As I speak with you now, he is being held up at the State CID by the same police authorities under the leadership of Commissioner of Police, Mbu Joseph Mbu. “Hon. Chidi Lloyd was blindfolded, tortured and teargas was sprayed all over him. We have been refused access to him. We have just been informed that Hon. Chidi Lloyd is going blind, occasioned by the teargas that was sprayed all over him, particularly in his eyes. Medical help has also been refused him.

“Today (yesterday), the 27 pro-Amaechi lawmakers have met in all the churches. We have been praying, seeking God’s intervention. We all know that Nigerians are prayerful people. We are also not losing sight of the fact that Nigeria is a signatory to a lot of conventions and treaties bordering on human rights. “We are assembling a team of lawyers, who will look at the possibility of putting together all the human rights abuses that have been inflicted on Hon. Chidi Lloyd, the leader of the 7th Assembly, with a view that if justice cannot be got on the shores of Nigeria, human rights transcend borders.

Read More at http://www.naijacenter.com/rivers-crisis-hon-lloyd-is-going-blind/

Posted: at 29-07-2013 12:14 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- naijacenter at 29-07-2013 12:27 PM (11 years ago)
Sorry  everyone..I don't know how to  delete or edit  post here. Couldn't remove  the  above  content as  the post added some unwanted information..

Posted: at 29-07-2013 12:27 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Idbabe at 29-07-2013 12:36 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: naijacenter on 29-07-2013 12:27 PM
Sorry  everyone..I don't know how to  delete or edit  post here. Couldn't remove  the  above  content as  the post added some unwanted information..

Admin dat added those additional information, should be able to delete it.  This is my first time of seeing a forum one cannot delete or edit a post.  Sorry jare
Posted: at 29-07-2013 12:36 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- naijacenter at 29-07-2013 12:48 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on 29-07-2013 12:36 PM
Admin dat added those additional information, should be able to delete it.  This is my first time of seeing a forum one cannot delete or edit a post.  Sorry jare

Yes, it is  my  first time  too plus  am new  here. Thanks

Posted: at 29-07-2013 12:48 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Orojoe at 29-07-2013 01:09 PM (11 years ago)
Eh yeah! Y are they maltreating him like that
Posted: at 29-07-2013 01:09 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- koromo at 29-07-2013 01:44 PM (11 years ago)
Ok. Next?
Posted: at 29-07-2013 01:44 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Idbabe at 29-07-2013 01:53 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Orojoe on 29-07-2013 01:09 PM
Eh yeah! Y are they maltreating him like that

The same guy used face mace on another human being, beating him up and down and he landed in the hospital.  Did u ask why he maltreated that man that way?

Politics in this place is dirty and bloody.  Becos of what they will eat, they go about maiming one another.  Mtceeeeeeeeeeeee
Posted: at 29-07-2013 01:53 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Toks-E at 29-07-2013 04:11 PM (11 years ago)
Lies

Posted: at 29-07-2013 04:11 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero