‘I’m Not An Armed Robber, I’ve Sold Only 30 Stolen Vehicles’ – Suspect [MUGSHOT]

Date: 23-09-2013 4:29 pm (10 years ago) | Author: franel
- at 23-09-2013 04:29 PM (10 years ago)
«§» 23 September 2013

The Special Anti-Robbery Squad of the Lagos State Police Command has in its custody a man who claims that he is not an armed robber but a mere receiver of stolen vehicles.

The suspect, Kayode Haruna, who claims to be an Engineer and a graduate of the Yaba College of Technology, is reportedly guilty of purchasing not less than 50 stolen automobiles from armed robbers at low prices and subsequently selling them to members of the public.

The spokesperson for the state police command, Ngozi Braide, reportedly said that the suspect advised the robbers to snatch unregistered vehicles coming into the country at the border. She said because the vehicles were not registered, they were difficult to trace and the suspect would sell them to members of the public.

She said, “A gang of robbers were arrested last year and they confessed that their modus operandi was to snatch vehicles from people bringing in vehicles from Cotonou, Benin Republic. They would then sell the stolen vehicles to Haruna.

“Based on their confession, police began to search for Haruna. After months of investigation, he was arrested and he will be charged to court for receiving stolen goods.”

The 40-year-old suspect, however, said that he had sold only 30 vehicles as against the over 50 the police alleged. The native of Kwara State said when he initially started dealing with the robbers, he did not know that the vehicles were stolen.

He added that when he later knew that the vehicles were stolen, he continued the business relationship because “the devil tempted” him to continue.

He said, “I was working at a construction site one day when one of my boys, Sola, gave me the telephone number of Stanley, whom he said was a customs officer that sold vehicles at very cheap prices. I met with Stanley, Ejike and Dada and they gave me very good prices. So, we started doing business.

“Most times, they called me with different telephone numbers and we met at different hotels in Egbeda, Mile 12 areas, Lagos, or the Mowe area of Ogun State.

I always paid cash and they handed over the vehicles to me. They told me the vehicles were impounded vehicles, so I did not suspect anything initially.

“On one occasion, however, they sold to me a blood-stained vehicle. This was when I started to suspect that they were armed robbers. I would have stopped dealing with them but the devil pushed me to continue to do business with them.”

When asked how much he usually bought and sold the vehicles, the father of four said, “I have bought and sold only 30 vehicles. I usually sell Toyota Camry, Toyota Corolla and Toyota Highlander because the demand for the vehicles is high.

“The market price for Toyota Highlander is about N2.2m but I buy it at N1m. I buy Toyota Camry 2010 model for N1.5m and I sell it for N2.4m. The Toyota Camry I am currently driving, I bought it at N350,000.”

Posted: at 23-09-2013 04:29 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- merion at 23-09-2013 05:00 PM (10 years ago)
sure
Posted: at 23-09-2013 05:00 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 23-09-2013 05:02 PM (10 years ago)
buying stolen goods from Armed Robber is a crime
Posted: at 23-09-2013 05:02 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- emekaeneh at 23-09-2013 05:06 PM (10 years ago)
Den u are also a criminal.                                                       Eneh say so via nokia 3310
Posted: at 23-09-2013 05:06 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gmarley at 23-09-2013 05:26 PM (10 years ago)
what is the difference oga at the top?
Posted: at 23-09-2013 05:26 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- abdulwahid at 23-09-2013 05:31 PM (10 years ago)
every day is for thief one day is for the owner
Posted: at 23-09-2013 05:31 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- chicco77 at 23-09-2013 05:36 PM (10 years ago)
thief go face the music
Posted: at 23-09-2013 05:36 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- MayorKingz at 23-09-2013 05:40 PM (10 years ago)
#Bad Market. You were aiding and abetting, dat makes you a colleague and counterpart.  
Posted: at 23-09-2013 05:40 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Georgeej at 23-09-2013 07:45 PM (10 years ago)
He is an accesory after d act en by so doin a principal offender.
Posted: at 23-09-2013 07:45 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- etibaba at 23-09-2013 08:43 PM (10 years ago)
You would face  T̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇ε̲̣̣̣̥ consequences.

Posted: at 23-09-2013 08:43 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- steveoneal at 23-09-2013 08:46 PM (10 years ago)
you yourself be robber, go and serve your time,,, motherphyuker,, no excuse whatsoever for crime,, there are people out there sweating it out there to eke out a  living
Posted: at 23-09-2013 08:46 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BlueIxora at 23-09-2013 10:39 PM (10 years ago)
Greedy theif
Posted: at 23-09-2013 10:39 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ebiteck at 23-09-2013 10:43 PM (10 years ago)
i see
Posted: at 23-09-2013 10:43 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 23-09-2013 10:48 PM (10 years ago)
idiot
he is not a robber but receiving stplen cars from the robbers
kill the idiot
Posted: at 23-09-2013 10:48 PM (10 years ago) | Grande Master
- escapedprince at 23-09-2013 10:55 PM (10 years ago)
you're all the same !!!!
Posted: at 23-09-2013 10:55 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 23-09-2013 11:00 PM (10 years ago)
Is time to pay

Posted: at 23-09-2013 11:00 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osamabinladin at 23-09-2013 11:08 PM (10 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 23-09-2013 11:08 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Noble12 at 23-09-2013 11:19 PM (10 years ago)
im cup don full.
Posted: at 23-09-2013 11:19 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Senegal at 24-09-2013 12:15 AM (10 years ago)
 Cool Cool
Posted: at 24-09-2013 12:15 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 24-09-2013 06:18 AM (10 years ago)
Yu Bi Am-Robber Mr. Thief....
Posted: at 24-09-2013 06:18 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Davido Trolled As His Sidechick Calls Him 2 Minutes Man With Tiny Manhood

2. VIDEO: Singer, Wizkid Gushes Over Prophet Odumeje, Shares Plan For Him

3. Fans Dig Out Evidence To Prove Wizkid’s Claim About Don Jazzy Being An Influencer

4. We Don’t Have a Choice - Indomie Reveals Why Costs Of Its Noodles Was Reduces

5. Don Jazzy Unfollows Wizkid After He Mocked Him Online

6. Tunde Ednut Slams Wizkid For Disrespecting Davido And Don Jazzy

7. Missing 400-Level UniAbuja Student, Murjanatu Zubairu Found Dead

8. Edo Governor Obaseki Announces N70, 000 New Minimum Wage For Civil Servants

9. Actor, Adeniyi Johnson Shares Epic Throwback Photo With Wife, Seyi Edun On Movie Set

10. Nigerian Woman Urges Married Women To Stop Wasting Their Prayers On Cheating Husband

11. 15Yr Old Secondary School Student, Ebube Offo Commits Suicide Over Expulsion In Enugu

12. Keep Watching Over Me - Actress Nancy Isime Sends Message To Late Mother Who Died 28Yrs Ago

13. 56Yr Old Nigerian Woman Celebrates After Giving Birth To Twins After 26Yrs Of Waiting

14. Nigerian Court Orders Police To Pay N300M Fine For Killing 3 Shiite Members In Zaria

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

3. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

4. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

5. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

6. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

7. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

10. "Polygamy Is Allowed In Celestial Church, Our Prophets Can Marry Many Wives" — Oshoffa's Son