Archbishop Desmond Tutu Launches The World's First Gay Political Party

Date: 17-01-2014 9:04 am (10 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 17-01-2014 09:04 AM (10 years ago)
ARCHBISHOP Desmond Tutu has surprised South Africans by announcing the formation of a gay political party called the Democratic Religious Alliance Against Minority Antagonism (DRAAMA), which will take part in a general election later this year.

Last year Tutu outraged Christians when he declared: “I would refuse to go to a homophobic heaven…No, I would say sorry, I mean I would much rather go to hell…I would not worship a God who is homophobic and that is how deeply I feel about this.”

The Nobel Peace Prize laureate and South African archbishop emeritus added that he does not believe religion provides justification for homophobia.

His passion on the issue has led him to form the world’s first gay political party to address an issue which he feels president Jacob Zuma “tiptoes” around.

The first and last time we ever heard president Jacob Zuma addressing issues around anti-homophobia was when he had to make a public apology regarding a damaging statement he made about this minority group.

In a media statement released on Wednesday, DRAAMA said it is set to be at the forefront of minority human-rights issues the current ruling party has dragged its feet in addressing.

According to this report: “With gay socialite and choreographer Somizi Mhlongo being poached as the party’s spin doctor, South Africans should brace themselves for a lot of DRAAMA!!!”

Said Mhlongo: “I was pleasantly surprised upon receiving a call from the honourable Archbishop Desmond Tutu informing me of his intentions and his request for my involvement.”

Before his election as South African President Jacob Zuma was forced to apologise after offending the gay community.

He was quoted as saying that same-sex marriages were: “A disgrace to the nation and to God.”

He also said that when he was a young man, he would have knocked down any homosegxwal person he met.

He later retracted his words and explained: “My remarks were made in the context of the traditional way of raising children … I said the communal upbringing of children in the past was able to assist parents to notice children with a different social orientation. I however did not intend to have this interpreted as a condemnation of gays and lesbians.”

He also said he respected: “The sterling contribution of many gay and lesbian compatriots in the struggle that brought about our freedom.”

Across the border Mugabe has condemned South Africa for their stance on gay rights, claiming that they should not be upheld as they are not human rights. He said: “Gays and lesbians are worse than pigs and dogs. We cannot allow our children to be worse than wild animals.”

Posted: at 17-01-2014 09:04 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- jar84 at 17-01-2014 09:14 AM (10 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 17-01-2014 09:14 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 17-01-2014 09:23 AM (10 years ago)
man of god
not GOD
Posted: at 17-01-2014 09:23 AM (10 years ago) | Grande Master
- dareper at 17-01-2014 09:26 AM (10 years ago)
So this man(desmond tutu) is a gay? Chai!! All the respect I have for him have just come to an end. Idiot bishop. Thunder fire your generation.
Posted: at 17-01-2014 09:26 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 17-01-2014 09:28 AM (10 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 17-01-2014 09:28 AM (10 years ago) | Grande Master
- Chylove247 at 17-01-2014 09:34 AM (10 years ago)
No wahala.
Posted: at 17-01-2014 09:34 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- IDOKOO at 17-01-2014 09:38 AM (10 years ago)
Ass Bishop of god Grin Tongue Tongue Cool
Posted: at 17-01-2014 09:38 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wysetots at 17-01-2014 09:44 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: IDOKOO on 17-01-2014 09:38 AM
Ass Bishop of god Grin Tongue Tongue Cool

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 17-01-2014 09:44 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- zeigbo at 17-01-2014 09:46 AM (10 years ago)
Sodom n Gomora is comin back again

Posted: at 17-01-2014 09:46 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- miamivice at 17-01-2014 09:48 AM (10 years ago)
"Not everyone that calls me, Lord will enter into my rest Matt 7:21 (false disciple)
Posted: at 17-01-2014 09:48 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ThoRam at 17-01-2014 09:55 AM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 17-01-2014 09:55 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PeacetoU at 17-01-2014 10:13 AM (10 years ago)
Being a Bishop or Archbishop doesn't make him a son/child of God. A christian is he who follows the footsteps of Christ and not the one who attends church services or the one who warms chairs in the church, it is hard time people should understand this.
Posted: at 17-01-2014 10:13 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Yusraf at 17-01-2014 10:16 AM (10 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin MY COMMENT IS GPING TO BE VERY HOT SO I RESERVED IT Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 17-01-2014 10:16 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- winace at 17-01-2014 10:30 AM (10 years ago)
Hmmmmmmmmm now we begining to know d real men of GOD and fake ones. May GOD forgave u
Posted: at 17-01-2014 10:30 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fdkenny at 17-01-2014 10:41 AM (10 years ago)
The world is coming to an end and mysterious things are happening,.......This is not a real bishop.
Posted: at 17-01-2014 10:41 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- firstborn77 at 17-01-2014 10:57 AM (10 years ago)
The man has never told anyone that he is a Christian.The devil is now using him openly.
Posted: at 17-01-2014 10:57 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- odimajorr at 17-01-2014 10:58 AM (10 years ago)
Evryday na one gay story we dey hear. E be like say devil don get boyfriend dis 2014. E don divorce in wife.

Posted: at 17-01-2014 10:58 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- kennynaija at 17-01-2014 11:09 AM (10 years ago)
This christians self Shocked Huh? Huh? Huh? Sad

Posted: at 17-01-2014 11:09 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Aniagain at 17-01-2014 11:16 AM (10 years ago)
Oh God! I knw tis world is comin to an end, pls av mercy on me

Posted: at 17-01-2014 11:16 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sheikt at 17-01-2014 11:16 AM (10 years ago)
This man have seen it all in roma how papa dey phuk hin nyash, i am not surprise, na una for naija dey tag everything end time for italy roma vatican na daily basis all their yansh don spoil finish.
Posted: at 17-01-2014 11:16 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. Wives Of Osun State Gov Adeleke Battle For Position Of 1st Lady As Nigeria's 1st Lady Visits

2. Female Student Who Assaulted Namtira Bwala at Lead British School Apologises For Her Action

3. I Am Not In EFCC Custody - APC Gov. Aspirant, Akinterinwa Denies Being Detained By EFCC

4. VIDEO: Carter Efe Calls Out Sydney Talker Over Singer, Khaid’s Health Status

5. Owner Of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Denies Barring Nigerians

6. Davido’s Manager, Asika Speaks On why Davido is Yet to Collaborate With Wizkid, Burna Boy

7. Rita Edochie Throws Shade As She Celebrates May Edochie On Her Double Achievement

8. BULLYING: Lead British School, Abuja Releases Public Statement

9. NAFDAC Uncover Illegal Activities Of Fake Cosmetics Producer In Lagos

10. Reno Omokri Reacts To Abuja Chinese Supermarket 'Racist', Demands Wike's Action

11. Niger: Gov Bago Dragged For Spraying Naira Notes At Citizens

12. Singer, Simi Reveals How She Wrote & Sang Her Hit Song, ‘Joromi’ With Irritation

13. OAP Do2dtun Reacts To Viral Bullying Videos, Calls Out Secondary School Bullies

14. Police Deploy Officers to Investigate Bullying at Leads British International School

15. Abuja Court Fails To Hear EFCC Suit Against Order Restraining Yahaya Bello’s Arrest

16. Amotekun Arrests Man Who Cons Hospital Patients, Flees With Money Meant For Tests, Treatment

17. Police Seek Family Of Missing Child Found Wandering In Osogbo

18. JUST IN! Lead British School, Abuja Shut Down Over Constant Bullying

19. "Why I Do Not Promote Nudity In My Skits" – Popular Skit Maker, Layi Wasabi

20. Lab Scientist, Oluroju Shola Docked For Allegedly Exposing Ex-Girlfriend’s N00de Photos

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office