Nigeria Seeks Help From France, Cameroon To Fight Boko Haram

Date: 26-02-2014 8:21 am (10 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 26-02-2014 08:21 AM (10 years ago)

Nigeria on Tuesday issued an appeal to France and Abuja’s Francophone neighbours, especially Cameroon, to help it in the battle against Islamists, two days before a planned visit from French President Francois Hollande.

On the day suspected Boko Haram Islamists slaughtered 43 students as they slept, Nigeria’s information minister warned the attacks could harm French and other Western interests in West Africa if left unchecked.

“I think what we need is international cooperation from the French, from the French-speaking west African countries to work together to deal with this problem before it becomes a major problem for France, for western interests operating in west Africa,” Labaran Maku said.

“It will devastate French interests if we allow this terror to go on,” the minister told AIT television.
The comments came ahead of a planned visit by Hollande on Thursday and Friday to attend an international conference on security, peace and development in Africa and to celebrate the centenary of Nigerian unification.

Maku said much of the problem stemmed from its border with Cameroon and called for “increased partnership” with its northern neighbour.
Cameroon’s participation in the international (military) joint task force policing the borders “has been a bit weak”, charged Maku.
This has made the northern part of the border a safe haven for the insurgents.

The force, comprising troops from Nigeria, Chad, Niger and Cameroon, was put in place to check criminals along the borders of the participating countries.
The weak link in the chain is being exploited by Boko Haram to unleash their havoc in Nigeria, he said.
“They strike. When we pursue them, they retreat into Cameroon,” complained the minister.

Nigeria last week sealed a portion of its northeastern border with Cameroon to block the movement of insurgents and other criminal groups.
The closure has been imposed in Adamawa state, one of three states in the northeast placed under emergency rule in May following waves of attacks by Boko Haram Islamists.

The military has launched a major offensive in the area aimed at crushing the Islamist uprising, which has killed thousands since 2009.
Nigeria has alleged that the Islamists have set up bases in sparsely populated areas of its northeastern neighbours, including Cameroon, Chad and Niger, and flee across the border after staging attacks to avoid military pursuit.

Posted: at 26-02-2014 08:21 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jamepinto at 26-02-2014 08:28 AM (10 years ago)
our govt just dey wak up wan people don die finsh, them try.
Posted: at 26-02-2014 08:28 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- angesco at 26-02-2014 08:47 AM (10 years ago)
Turning to France now are we?

What happened to our former colonial "masters" .- England.  Are they  unwilling to "save" their former  "territory and its people?"

I do not see why we the AU cannot be called upon to settle African Islamic insurgents. Now we are calling on France? Thats more money needed to pay for language interpreters as French is not our language.

Lets just hope nothing "gets lost in translation" and we create a bigger problem for ourselves???

Posted: at 26-02-2014 08:47 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 26-02-2014 08:54 AM (10 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-02-2014 08:54 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- okilo101 at 26-02-2014 09:19 AM (10 years ago)
Things re falling apart rapidly in dis nation
Posted: at 26-02-2014 09:19 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Topsylucas at 26-02-2014 10:06 AM (10 years ago)
I dnt knw,I jst dnt knw. May God hv mercy on nigeria is all I'll say. "sighs"
Posted: at 26-02-2014 10:06 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 26-02-2014 10:27 AM (10 years ago)
  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-02-2014 10:27 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- una-bam at 26-02-2014 10:33 AM (10 years ago)
Brb still....make I put Beans for first first...
Posted: at 26-02-2014 10:33 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- SugarBB at 26-02-2014 10:38 AM (10 years ago)
These Muslim lunatics can never live peacefully with normal people just like their stupid idiotic mad prophet of doom. The only thing that animal Mohammed did was kill kill and kill, so wat do you expect from his hopeless followers? Just divide this bloody country for f.u.c.k sake and when they dnt find xtians to kill, then they can roast and kill themselves just like they are doing in almost all Islamic countries. Angry Angry

Posted: at 26-02-2014 10:38 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- skylord1920 at 26-02-2014 10:44 AM (10 years ago)
I blame d govt....
Posted: at 26-02-2014 10:44 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- abk01 at 26-02-2014 10:46 AM (10 years ago)
ISLAM D RELIGION OF PEACE

EITHER U LIKE IT OR NOT   GEJ IS D LEADER OF BOKO HARAM'S,  I KNO DAT MANY OF U WIL NOT BELEIVE  DIS  BUT  TIME SHALL TELL

WAT GOES AROUND WIL SURELY COMES AROUND
Posted: at 26-02-2014 10:46 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- reddish at 26-02-2014 10:47 AM (10 years ago)
i tot d army are capable and also on top of d situation.
Posted: at 26-02-2014 10:47 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- abk01 at 26-02-2014 11:18 AM (10 years ago)
These Muslim lunatics can never live peacefully with normal people just like their stupid idiotic mad prophet of doom. The only thing that animal Mohammed did was kill kill and kill, so wat do you expect from his hopeless followers? Just divide this bloody country for f.u.c.k sake and when they dnt find xtians to kill, then they can roast and kill themselves just like they are doing in almost all Islamic countries.

THUNDER FIRE DAT BIG ANIMAL MOUTH & UR SENSELESS SENSE: MUMU GIRL, SHE GOAT

ISLAM D RELIGION OF PEACE

I SHADE TEARS FOR DIS GEJ ADMINISTRATION & HIS USELESS BLOODSUCKING TRANSFORMATION AGENDA

EITHER U LIKE IT OR NOT   GEJ IS D LEADER OF BOKO HARAM'S,  I KNO DAT MANY OF U WIL NOT BELEIVE  DIS  BUT  TIME SHALL TELL

WAT  GOES  AROUND WIL SURELY COMES AROUND

Posted: at 26-02-2014 11:18 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- gbojac at 26-02-2014 12:08 PM (10 years ago)
I thought Mister Ebele's army created a drone to patrol our borders and to find oil kilometers below the ground... Is that thing not operational ??
You spend money to create drones that do not work....Now you want spend money to pay french army come fish out Boko Haram..... Is this the primary purpose of their existence.... Create problems and Offer solutions.... We know you, oyibo people dey sharp.... France people, enjoy our money well well
[/color]
Posted: at 26-02-2014 12:08 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gbojac at 26-02-2014 12:28 PM (10 years ago)
I find it difficult to believe, someone in charge of an army of many men, of a police force of many men, of a intelligence service of many men, capable to speak to his many neighbors, in fact, whom the country is a member of a regional organisation YET Boko Haram na too much for him..... How can you not be able to fish out that moron that make Boko Haram video,,,,, is it money you dey lack, is it Rambo you are waiting for or what Mr Jonathan Ebele,,,,, I dey suspect you are a member of the Boko Haram brotherhood with others... 
Posted: at 26-02-2014 12:28 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- micc at 26-02-2014 12:40 PM (10 years ago)
Oya make we go der
Posted: at 26-02-2014 12:40 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 26-02-2014 01:28 PM (10 years ago)
Some of u jt stay abroad and make noise in d name of comments. Wats ur contribution to dis issues nigeria is facing. Its not only GEJ to work but all of us. Nogeroa have been assiting in peace keeping in other countries and some many died in active service. Any country under UN have right to seek for help whether u shallow minds like it or not.
Posted: at 26-02-2014 01:28 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- johnaguinam at 26-02-2014 01:44 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: una-bam on 26-02-2014 10:33 AM

Posted: at 26-02-2014 01:44 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- johnaguinam at 26-02-2014 01:46 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: una-bam on 26-02-2014 10:33 AM
psycho...u jst dont fool around wen serious issues are being discussed...haba dez time 4everything now.
I personally think dat woteva dat can b done 2stop dis cruelty should b explored and timely
Posted: at 26-02-2014 01:46 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- spiridion at 26-02-2014 02:03 PM (10 years ago)
 Maybe they are waiting for Jack Bauer...
Posted: at 26-02-2014 02:03 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Disturbing Video Shows Moment Nigerian Man Slaps Girlfriend Over Cake-Cutting At Party

2. Man Undergoes Surgery After Breaking His Erect P3nis & Disfiguring His Eggplant From Rolling

3. VIDEO: Secondary Schoolgirl Stirs Reactions As She Names BBN, Tolanibaj As Her Role Model

4. “Not All Divorces Must Be Toxic” -Singer, Paul Okoye Tackles Critics

5. Blessing CEO Reveals Reasons Why Women Cheat In Marriage

6. Police Arrest Two Suspects For Allegedly Killing Mother & Son In Akwa Ibom

7. Police Launch Manhunt For Abiola's Widow For Allegedly Sponsoring Yoruba Nation Agitator Attack

8. Anyim Vera Offered All-Expense-Paid Vacation At 5-star Hotel In PH Following Public Humilation

9. Pete Edochie Reveals How Nnamdi Azikiwe Taught Him How to Handle Female Fans

10. TERRORISM: Court Grants Osun Gov, Adeleke's Aide Ajagungbade Emir N50m Bail

11. "I Don’t Engage In S3x For Money" – BBN Star, Khloe Says

12. A'Ibom Court Orders Arrest Of Man Who Abandons Wife, 2Yr Old Daughter In The Village To Live

13. Tragedy As Two Teenage Girls Drown As Canoe Capsizes In Niger State

14. Video Of A Student And His Teacher Engaging In Heated Argument Sparks Outrage

15. Nigerian Soldier, Sani Yahaya Goes Wild In Enugu, Stabs Colleague In The Head With Dagger

16. BREAKING: Suspected Terrorists Kill Ruling PDP Secretary, Musa Ille In Zamfara

17. Panic As Fire Razes University Of Ilorin Teaching Hospital, Destroys Drugs, Equipment

18. VID: BBN Sheggz Reveals The ‘Crazy’ Thing He Can Do For His Woman If He Offends Her

19. VIDEO: Adorable Moment Man Proposes Marriage To Lover On A Plane

1. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

2. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

6. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

7. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks

10. Edo Police Commissioner Orders Trial Of Officer Threatening Civilians With AK-47 In Viral Video