CBN Governor Sanusi Lamido Sues President Goodluck Jonathan

Date: 26-02-2014 1:01 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Charles colins
- at 26-02-2014 01:01 PM (10 years ago)
According to reports,  Suspended Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Governor Sanusi Lamido Sanusi has finally sued President Goodluck Jonathan before a Federal High Court sitting in Abuja, challenging his suspension from office.

In a suit filed late Monday by some of his lawyers, including Kola Awodein (SAN), Sanusi is urging the court to, among others, restrain the President and two others from giving effect to his purported suspension, pending the determination of his suit.

Also to be restrained are the Attorney General of the Federation (AGF) and the Inspector General of Police (IGP), sued with the President.

Sanusi is pleading for an order of interlocutory injunction restraining the defendants from obstructing, disturbing, stopping or preventing him in any manner, from performing the functions of his office and enjoying in full, the statutory powers and privileges attached to the office of the governor of the CBN.

He said the interlocutory application he filed with the suit was necessitated by the issues raised in the suit. Sanusi is of the view that delay could occasion irreparable, serious damage and mischief against him in the exercise of his statutory duties as the CBN Governor. He urged the court to grant the prayers contained in his interlocutory application, on the ground that the President’s alleged unlawful interference with the management and administration of the CBN, unless arrested, posed grave danger to the country’s economy.

He argued that granting his application will encourage parties to maintain the status quo, pending the determination of the substantive case. In a supporting affidavit, Sanusi averred that in the course of his duties as the CBN Governor, that he discovered certain discrepancies in respect of amounts repatriated to the federation account from the proceed of crude oil sales between the period of January, 2012 and July, 2013 and that he expressed concern in respect of the said discrepancies and had cause to inform the National Assembly of the said discrepancies because they affect the revenue of the federation and the national economy.

He stated that the President’s action, in purporting to suspend him from office, is aimed at punishing him for these disclosures. Sanusi stated that he is challenging the President’s power to suspend him from office, noting that the President did not approach nor obtain the support of the Senate, based on his discussions with several senators, including Senator Bukola Saraki.

“I have been informed, and I verily believe the information given to me by Senator Bukola Saraki to be true and correct that the Senate did not give the President any support for my purported suspension and removal from office as the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria.”

Sanusi stated that the President’s actions in suspending him from office is contrary to provisions of the Central Bank of Nigeria Act relating to the appointment and removal of the CBN Governor and that his purported suspension amounts to unlawful interference in the administration and management of the apex bank and is illegal, null and void. He urged the court, in the interest of justice, to grant his reliefs.

Posted: at 26-02-2014 01:01 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gmarley at 26-02-2014 01:05 PM (10 years ago)
WERE IS THIS LEADING TO?
Posted: at 26-02-2014 01:05 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ken222 at 26-02-2014 01:08 PM (10 years ago)
Two stupid people fighting for money TO SPEND ON Bokoharam, while they are busy killing innocent people
Posted: at 26-02-2014 01:08 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ken222 at 26-02-2014 01:19 PM (10 years ago)
Nothing is heart breaking like watching these 43 innocent young girls gruesomely murdered in their college Hostel in Yobe state laid to rest.

Their only offense is that they made a choice to go to school against the instruction of the Islamic Terror group, Boko Haram.

For the Northern elders and Politicians that threatened to make Nigeria ungovernable if Goodluck Jonathan wins the 2011, you people have make good your threats. Sending our children to a painful and untimely grave, because you want power by all means.

God Will ensure that these sad and painful death, will all be your portion. The Blood of these innocent kids will be on your heads and that of your generations.

Good Night our lovely Baby sister, Our God will provide you all Peace in Heaven.

Respect: Type RIP!!!
Posted: at 26-02-2014 01:19 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 26-02-2014 01:26 PM (10 years ago)
Curt things. Ok na
Posted: at 26-02-2014 01:26 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 26-02-2014 01:36 PM (10 years ago)
Hehehehhehehehehe d drama has started.
Posted: at 26-02-2014 01:36 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- spiridion at 26-02-2014 01:41 PM (10 years ago)
He should know that he is fighting a lost battle.
Posted: at 26-02-2014 01:41 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- shannon034 at 26-02-2014 01:53 PM (10 years ago)
Nothing is heart breaking like watching these 43 innocent young girls gruesomely murdered in their college Hostel in Yobe state laid to rest.

Their only offense is that they made a choice to go to school against the instruction of the Islamic Terror group, Boko Haram.

For the Northern elders and Politicians that threatened to make Nigeria ungovernable if Goodluck Jonathan wins the 2011, you people have make good your threats. Sending our children to a painful and untimely grave, because you want power by all means.

God Will ensure that these sad and painful death, will all be your portion. The Blood of these innocent kids will be on your heads and that of your generations.

Good Night our lovely Baby sister, Our God will provide you all Peace in Heaven.

Respect: Type RIP!!!
[/quote]

You can imagine this senseless people........Killing innocent and helpless children in the name is Jihad war

Posted: at 26-02-2014 01:53 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- RAPH2009 at 26-02-2014 02:27 PM (10 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 26-02-2014 02:27 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- doncoyon at 26-02-2014 02:37 PM (10 years ago)
We will challange this hausa fulani and we biafra will send them to there early grave biafra we are rising up join us on biafran radio
 radio biafra
Posted: at 26-02-2014 02:37 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- doncoyon at 26-02-2014 02:39 PM (10 years ago)
This useless northerners are from niger they are niger and they will soon beg us for food
Posted: at 26-02-2014 02:39 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- fdkenny at 26-02-2014 03:01 PM (10 years ago)
Like seriously , sanusi nd GEJ , una dey there dey sue una self to courth? Haba! What if 10 of ur relative is among d children dat was killed in boarding sch recently  by boko haram i guess u wont fold ur hands nd b watching am nt interested in dis ur suspending tins NIGERIANS ar dying innocent souls ar crying 4 justice. Do sometin!
Posted: at 26-02-2014 03:01 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- christianity at 26-02-2014 03:04 PM (10 years ago)
omo see gobe
Posted: at 26-02-2014 03:04 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- micc at 26-02-2014 03:29 PM (10 years ago)
Ok na
Posted: at 26-02-2014 03:29 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Patode at 26-02-2014 03:32 PM (10 years ago)
This is a great development. We need the courts to interprete the CBN act, and the public service rules. This is the way to go.
Posted: at 26-02-2014 03:32 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- HOPEA23 at 26-02-2014 03:33 PM (10 years ago)
I'm still confused on how hausa people become nigerians..when they are from or are nigers...these pple need to go..

Posted: at 26-02-2014 03:33 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- johnaguinam at 26-02-2014 04:25 PM (10 years ago)
he is justva noice maker
Posted: at 26-02-2014 04:25 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- deboalabi262 at 26-02-2014 06:02 PM (10 years ago)
Na dem dem.... Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 26-02-2014 06:02 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- italianjob at 26-02-2014 07:50 PM (10 years ago)
please make dem hold this man passport if not he go run, boko haram sources of income don block, why is he struggling back to the office.wahala don bost.
Posted: at 26-02-2014 07:50 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- osamabinladin at 26-02-2014 08:48 PM (10 years ago)
ALRIGHT !
Posted: at 26-02-2014 08:48 PM (10 years ago) | Hero

1. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

2. VID: Suspected Cultist Who Killed Final Year ABSU Student Pleads For A Second Chance

3. How Man Cut Off His Mum’s Hand So He Could Use Her Fingertips To Steal Cash From Account

4. Speed Darlington Drags His Aunt For Threatening To Kill Him After Asking Her To Remove Her Chur

5. Watch Drama As Passenger Refused Drunk Driver To Convey Them To Their Destination

6. One Dies Of Heart Attack As Bride-To-Be's Family & Passengers Foil Kidnap Attempt, Kill Bandit

7. Deji Adeyanju Threatens Lead British International School Over Bullying Of Namtira Bwala

8. Manchester United v Sheffield: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

9. Singer, Celine Dion Opens Up On Her Health Struggles

10. Group Hits Hard On IGP For Opposing Establishment Of State Police

11. Ogun Seals Three Worship Centres Over Noise pollution

12. One Dies, Three Hospitalised As Building Partially Collapse In Lagos

13. Embattled Actor, Baba Ijesha Files Appeal Challenging His 5Yrs Imprisonment Over Rape

14. Bullying: Lead British International School in Abuja Shut Down

15. How 18Yr Old Boy Fakes His Own Kidnap To Extort Father

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office