Nawa oh!! Hoodlums storm Edo LG secretariat to stop chairman’s removal

Date: 30-07-2014 10:21 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Dalington
- at 30-07-2014 10:21 PM (9 years ago)
Confusion hit the Oredo Local Government secretariat in Benin on Wednesday, when some youths, suspected to be political thugs, stormed the secretariat to impede an alleged impeachment move against the council chairman by his councillors.

The councillors had on July 24 impeached the leader of the legislative arm, Mr Monday Ebegbai, and his deputy, Enshe Esobaifo, and elected Mr Nohayi Obaseki as the new leader of the legislative council, thus, stirring suspicion that the council chairman might be impeached.

While addressing newsmen, the council chairman, Mr. Osaro Obaze, said he did not recognise the leadership change in the legislative arm, stating that the only person he knew as the leader was the ousted leader.

Obaze said he was not aware of any problem that would result in an impeachment.

He explained that the suspected thugs at the council secretariat were party youths, who came to show their support.

“They are party youths, who heard that they want to impeach me; so they came on solidarity, but I have asked them to go that there is no cause for alarm,” he said.

Reacting to the allegation, the newly elected Speaker told journalists that they had to make changes in the legislative arm.

Obaseki dismissed the alleged plan to remove the council boss.

“The chairman is believing this story that the motive of the removal of the former leader is to impeach the chairman. I want to state it again that it has nothing to do with the executive chairman. We have good working relationship with him. He is a nice man.

“It is just that we need a change in the legislative arm and that change has been effected and that is all,” he said.

Posted: at 30-07-2014 10:21 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie