Collective Responsibility...

Date: 29-09-2009 12:36 pm (15 years ago) | Author: Onyike Onyekaraka
- at 29-09-2009 12:36 PM (15 years ago)
This is an except from RUBEN ABATI a columist and writer of the guardian newspaper, he is and will always be my favourite writer.
Please take time and read, then pass your comment.

....the final highlight is the failure of individual responsibility. Too many Nigerians depend on government and politicians to make the difference that we seek in our lives. Government can play its part but the task of ensuring progress is collective. Unfortunately we live in a society where people do not care enough for and about themselves. We break laws with impunity. We take the laws into our hands. The average Nigerian does not want to respect traffic rules and regulations. He would rather not obtain a driver's licence even. He does not want to pay tax and he believes that he can bribe his way out of any situation. He is very religious but religion is for him just another social vehicle. We live in a society where people think that others owe them a living and that they do not have any obligations. There is so much recklessness that translates almost into a love of evil and disorder. This has been the biggest threat to Nigerian democracy since there can be no democracy without the people themselves.

Posted: at 29-09-2009 12:36 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 29-09-2009 03:08 PM (15 years ago)
Hitting the nail on the head jare.........

Abati is my favourite too..........

Posted: at 29-09-2009 03:08 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 29-09-2009 04:06 PM (15 years ago)
yeah like that

Posted: at 29-09-2009 04:06 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Abby at 29-09-2009 11:29 PM (15 years ago)
very correct, the average Nigerian has a 'get it by hook or by crook mentality', we're always looking for the easy way out and no one wants to take responsibility.
Posted: at 29-09-2009 11:29 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- ngfineface at 2-09-2015 12:03 PM (9 years ago)
Its 50 - 50 abeg
Posted: at 2-09-2015 12:03 PM (9 years ago) | Hero

1. VIDEO: Jarvis Surprises Peller With a Lavish Birthday Gift

2. PHOTOS: How Your Favourite Celeb Stepped Out For 2025 For AMVCA Cultural Night

3. Pregnant Woman Dies Mid-operation As Jehovah’s Witness Doctor Refuses Blood Transfusion

4. EFCC Arrests Two Chinese Nationals, Six Nigerians Over Illegal Mining in Ogun State (Photos)

5. Ganduje Sparks Controversy With One-Party State Remarks Amid Wave Of Defections

6. Lagos Lady Recounts Ordeal in 'One Chance' Bus, Says She Was Hypnotized, Robbed & Abandoned

7. EFCC To Investigate Alleged ₦528bn Misappropriation By Ex-Zamfara Governor, Matawalle

1. Benue In Uproar As Leaked Adult Videos Spark Outrage, Calls For Arrests

2. 18Yr Old Boy Impregnates 10 Girls, Including His Boss' Daughter After He Was Sent To Learn A

3. 103 Virgin Girls Initiated Into Womanhood At Ovia Osese Festival In Kogi State (Photos)

4. "Many Have Suffered From Stroke" -Pastor Oyakhilome’s Sermon On Salt Sparks Heated Debate (Vid)

5. VDM And I Are Officially Married - Actress Sarah Martins Drops Bombshell

6. LA HOTTIE! Davido’s Wife, Chioma Adeleke, Flaunts Her Hot Bod In Lovely New Photos

7. "Why I Would Choose Davido Over Burnaboy, Wizkid" – Singer, Zinoleesky

8. 'Some Men Are Praying For Their Wives To Die So They Can Marry Another' -Nigerian Man Blows Hot

9. Nollywood Star, Uche Ogbodo Undergoes 'BBL & Tummy Tuck'; Shares Recovery Journey (Video)

10. I’m Married To Jesus — Pretty Reverend Sister Tells Asaba Boys Asking For Her Number (VID)