Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala Wins African Investor Magazine’s Minister Of The Year 2014

Date: 10-10-2014 11:41 am (9 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 10-10-2014 11:41 AM (9 years ago)

The Minister of Finance, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, on Friday bagged the African Finance Minister of the year award for her outstanding performance as a finance minister.
The award was presented to her by the African Investor Magazine on the sideline of the ongoing annual meetings of the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in Washington DC.
She thanked the organizers for the award and described it as an absolute honour.
She called on all investors in Africa to join the fight against the deadly Ebola virus disease that is ravaging some countries in West Africa.
“What is happening in Liberia, Guinea and Sierra-Leone and the success we had in Nigeria and Senegal in containing this virus should not be allowed to set Africa back.
“You as private sector and friends of Africa need to send the message that we should not be so afraid of Ebola that we stigmatize the whole continent.
“I think that it is only with your own leadership, as African investors, that the rest of the world can see which way they should pass. So, I am really urging you to be ambassadors to the continent,”
she said.
Okonjo-Iweala said that in spite of the challenges facing the continent, African leaders should sustain the successes recorded in the past.
These challenges, she said, include infrastructure, governance, poor education system, employment, corruption, among others.
“We are not shying away from these challenges but the turning point now is that we are in the continent where we have the political will and confidence to tackle these challenges.
 “I think that we as Africans must always take the lead because if we don’t solve our problems, nobody can do it for us.”

Okonjo-Iweala called for continuous partnership with the private sector, donor agencies and non-governmental organisations.

Posted: at 10-10-2014 11:41 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- chidi4reala at 10-10-2014 11:52 AM (9 years ago)
ok...
Posted: at 10-10-2014 11:52 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- angesco at 10-10-2014 12:40 PM (9 years ago)
Well done.  However, these challenges - poor infrastructure, poor governance, a poor education system, high unemployment and corruption among others still persist on a large scale.
We just have to see the complete failure of Liberia to curtail the Ebola outbreak. Its a disgrace to Mother Africa. We can but look on and thankfully say Nigeria and Senegal have done well
Posted: at 10-10-2014 12:40 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 10-10-2014 12:52 PM (9 years ago)
ehn ehn?
Posted: at 10-10-2014 12:52 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 10-10-2014 01:31 PM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 10-10-2014 01:31 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- schmit at 10-10-2014 02:40 PM (9 years ago)
She try
Posted: at 10-10-2014 02:40 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dynasty4all at 10-10-2014 04:55 PM (9 years ago)
A PROPHET IS NOT WITHOUT HONOUR EXCEPT IN HIS OWN TOWN/COUNTRY
Posted: at 10-10-2014 04:55 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 10-10-2014 05:29 PM (9 years ago)
Congratulobia.
Posted: at 10-10-2014 05:29 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 10-10-2014 05:29 PM (9 years ago)
Congratulobia.
Posted: at 10-10-2014 05:29 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- ukanahv at 10-10-2014 08:59 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on 10-10-2014 12:40 PM
Well done.  However, these challenges - poor infrastructure, poor governance, a poor education system, high unemployment and corruption among others still persist on a large scale.
We just have to see the complete failure of Liberia to curtail the Ebola outbreak. Its a disgrace to Mother Africa.

Sorry I edited part of your work,
100% agree with you
Posted: at 10-10-2014 08:59 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- bospak at 10-10-2014 09:31 PM (9 years ago)
Well done iron lady, at the end we go  Use you to cast CBN pillar
Posted: at 10-10-2014 09:31 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EmekaBlue at 10-10-2014 10:13 PM (9 years ago)
congrats
Posted: at 10-10-2014 10:13 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chizzyG at 10-10-2014 10:32 PM (9 years ago)
Can someone pls tell me one thing this woman has achieved for Nigeria since she's in government,what has she done to deserve this honour?

Posted: at 10-10-2014 10:32 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- iamDonc at 11-10-2014 09:06 AM (9 years ago)
thief
Posted: at 11-10-2014 09:06 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming