FG bows to ASUU, agrees to sign agreement

Date: 16-10-2009 9:25 am (14 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
- at 16-10-2009 09:25 AM (14 years ago)
STRONG indications emerged in Abuja, on Monday, that the Federal Government may have shifted ground to sign a central agreement with the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) as against its earlier position.

President Umaru Yar’Adua has ordered the Minister of Education, Dr. Sam Egwu-led Federal Government’s negotiation team to sign whatever agreement finally arrived at with the ASUU within the 14 days ultimatum by ASUU.

The chairman of the University of Abuja chapter of ASUU, Dr. Mallam Abu, dislosed this while featuring on the Africa Independent Television (AIT) programme, monitored in Abuja on Monday.

He said a document signed to that effect between the ASUU and the Edo State governor, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, brokered peace that led to the suspension of the about four months strike embarked upon by the union.

However, as the lecturers resume, on Monday, academic activities were yet to commence fully at the University of Abuja, as students were yet to return to the campus.

Abu, giving insight into the meetings the union had with the Oshiomhole and education minister, said ASUU had extracted commitment from the Federal Government to sign the agreement when the grey issues involved might have been tackled within two weeks.

He also denied the insinuations by the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU) and Non-Academic Staff Union (NASU) that ASUU failed to carry them along in the truce brokered by Oshiomhole.

Posted: at 16-10-2009 09:25 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cein at 16-10-2009 09:56 AM (14 years ago)
so the strke has been called off finally, no more 2wks suspension?
Posted: at 16-10-2009 09:56 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Agatex at 16-10-2009 02:02 PM (14 years ago)
thank God o,  Grin there seems to be light at the end of the tunnel
Posted: at 16-10-2009 02:02 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kennee at 16-10-2009 03:25 PM (14 years ago)
Has the 'Agreement proper' been Signed?

Posted: at 16-10-2009 03:25 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- coolboy2king at 16-10-2009 04:43 PM (14 years ago)
thank GOD
Posted: at 16-10-2009 04:43 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- krossandie at 16-10-2009 06:39 PM (14 years ago)
God punish dem
Posted: at 16-10-2009 06:39 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- TGod at 16-10-2009 06:39 PM (14 years ago)
I pray this will never happen again. Now i'm finding it difficult with my plans now

Posted: at 16-10-2009 06:39 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Kele4real at 16-10-2009 08:29 PM (14 years ago)
this is a big plus for us all..thumps up for those who made it happen.
Posted: at 16-10-2009 08:29 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- lilian73 at 16-10-2009 11:19 PM (14 years ago)
we don dey make money already,make dem no resume again,we student self wan strike now,till 15th of january abi how una see am now?Huh??
Posted: at 16-10-2009 11:19 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- just2sexy at 17-10-2009 11:18 AM (14 years ago)
I have classes to lecture

Posted: at 17-10-2009 11:18 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- tobabamitale at 17-10-2009 12:20 PM (14 years ago)
THANK GOD AND I PRAY THINGS LIKE THIS WILL CEASE IN NIGERIA. THANK GOD FOR NIGERIA
Posted: at 17-10-2009 12:20 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- suleimanabdul at 17-10-2009 07:51 PM (14 years ago)
frustration want to kill them
Posted: at 17-10-2009 07:51 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Pakudu at 19-10-2009 12:09 PM (14 years ago)
Thank you Jesus.
Posted: at 19-10-2009 12:09 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Uzzy at 19-10-2009 11:23 PM (14 years ago)
Dguy this is so tribunish!!!!! U sure do know what i mean!!! ANyways there wasnt a seconding news to back up the ish!!!!

Posted: at 19-10-2009 11:23 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elusakin at 20-10-2009 07:26 AM (14 years ago)
ASUU is a group for thieves. It's true they are lecturers, but should that make them earn the highest wage in Nigeria? Wealth is not about how much education you have, but the kinda job you do.

These ppl only want to take advantage of Yar'adua because he's meek and gentle, why didn't they do this in the era of Obasanjo?

They should even appreciate government for not cutting-jobs like every country is doing.
Posted: at 20-10-2009 07:26 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ogbonofele-11 at 20-10-2009 08:50 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: elusakin on 20-10-2009 07:26 AM
ASUU is a group for thieves. It's true they are lecturers, but should that make them earn the highest wage in Nigeria? Wealth is not about how much education you have, but the kinda job you do.

These ppl only want to take advantage of Yar'adua because he's meek and gentle, why didn't they do this in the era of Obasanjo?

They should even appreciate government for not cutting-jobs like every country is doing.

i strongly disagree with ur opinion because look at all the life of most polliticians, im sure if u research properly u will c that most of them are drop out kids, no complete secondary school result  and dey earn more than the lecturers. its so unfair! for me personally ve always wanted to be a lecturer buh with the way things are going i would rather go into politics mysef KMFT!

All dis strike, feud started one day and surely surelt it shall all end one day lets just keep supporting those that are fighting for their ryts rather than HATE!
Posted: at 20-10-2009 08:50 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- dion at 20-10-2009 02:00 PM (14 years ago)
so make we pack our properties back to skul or make we just reach skul come back?
Posted: at 20-10-2009 02:00 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- muyiwa_990 at 20-10-2009 09:50 PM (14 years ago)
thank God for this good news but we continue praying 4 the government to make done and praying for this country
Posted: at 20-10-2009 09:50 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Uzzy at 20-10-2009 11:59 PM (14 years ago)
hmmmmmm just passing cos i have a whole lot going on in my head!!

Posted: at 20-10-2009 11:59 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- charlydyke at 21-10-2009 05:00 PM (14 years ago)
Operation back to campus
Posted: at 21-10-2009 05:00 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie

1. Drama In Club As Sam Larry Gets Confronted By A Club Guest Over Mohbad’s Death (Video)

2. Security Forces Kill IPOB/ESN IED Specialist In Imo State

3. "Why I Refused To Return Govt Vehicles–Ex-Edo Deputy Gov. Philip Shaibu Opens Up On Impeachment

4. Actress Yvonne Jegede And Filmmaker Sam Olatunji Slam Angela Okorie For Beefing Mercy Johnson

5. Bandits Kill 46-Year-Old Nigerian Law Professor, Sarinu Ettor Kabo In Benue State

6. Peter Obi Alleges Govt Agencies Conducting Smear Campaigns, Town Hall Meetings Against Him

7. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

8. Nigeria Lady Calls Out Her Secondary School Teacher Who Allegedly S3xually Abused Her

9. Osun State University Teaching Hospital Announces 14-Day Deadline For Unclaimed Bodies

10. Outcry Over Alleged Soldier Assault Resulting In Young Man, Yusuf Shuaibu Adamu's Death In Kano

11. DJ Cuppy Embraces Single Status, Celebrates Independence

12. Media Personality, Toke Makinwa Reveals She Wants To Start Fellowship Group

13. Liverpool v Tottenham: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

14. Chelsea v West Ham: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

3. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

6. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

9. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed