Disgrace! Majority Of Foreign Prisoners Serving In Ghana Jails Are Nigerians

Date: 06-01-2015 9:47 am (9 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 6-01-2015 09:47 AM (9 years ago)

Nigeria's High Commissioner to Ghana, Ambassador Ademola Oluseyi Onafowokan has raised an alarm over the increasing number of Nigerians serving jail terms in Ghana, describing the increasing number of Nigerians in foreign prison all over the world as a National disgrace.
Firstly, I agree with you that majority of them are Nigerians, but should majority of them be Nigerians? We shouldn't even be saying such things with pride because it is a national disgrace. Every country we go, they are filled with Nigerians, why? It is unfortunate. But I believe if you are ready to take the risk, then you must be ready to dance to the music.Now to the question of helping with infrastructure and other things; Nigeria High Commission doesn’t have the kind of money to build prisons. We are just here to do our core duties such as issuing passports, visa, supporting Nigerians in distress and to keep promoting the diplomatic relationship between the two brotherly nations
Ambassador Onafowokan said.
Ambassador Onafowokan says his personal efforts has helped in saving a Nigerian who was once put on death roll and that no Nigerian has died in any of the Ghanian prisons since he assumed office
"
As regard the issue of the report, I want to believe it was written by one of the prisoners and smuggled to someone to publish for them, because the report is not the reality on ground. First of all, I will like to assure you that no Nigerian has died in the prison. Secondly, I want to assure you that I visited them; spoke to them and I always sympathise with them. But the truth is, when you do illegal things in a foreign land, you should know you will be jailed in that foreign land, so why commit such a crime? Moreover, if they succeeded in making money from such illicit transaction, they use the money to harass everyone on the streets; illicit money source of which you will never know. I have visited them and I make sure people visit them regularly. I usually send my officials to take toiletries and other provisions to them. If you check on them, they are almost more than the Ghanaians in Nsawam prison in terms of population. They wouldn’t stop doing drugs and getting involved in armed robbery cases. I remember a Nigerian was sentenced to death, I personally spoke to the Chief Justice and I wrote a letter to plead for his life, and he has not been executed, and I don’t think he’ll be executed. About the long sentences they are giving them, which I was told by the Chief Justice of Ghana Mrs Theodore Woods, they assured me that they will look into it, but they told me those sentences are to discourage other Nigerians from thinking Ghana is a safe haven for criminals. It is logical to make a U-turn if you know that you are likely to get a prison sentence of 50-130 years if caught committing crime as a Nigerian or a foreigner. But that has not deter them, as Nigerians fill up the Ghana prisons on a daily basis, and after being caught, they want us (Nigeria High Commission) to come and get them out. Also, any Nigerian prisoner released comeS to the Nigeria High Commission (NHC), we usually give them GHC100 ($40) which will take them to Lagos. Since I resumed as the High Commissioner, I have been doing that religiously. Sometimes when they come, I will ask them to be brought in front of me, and I ask them what led them into it, and afterwards, I counsel them. The question remains that when you know there is a reward for your crime if caught, why do it? On the question of prisoners exchange, I have spoken with the parliamentary Committee on Foreign Affairs and I mentioned the issue; I was made to understand that Nigerian prisons are too full, and that the prisoner exchange document has not been concluded yet. If you check countries around the world, you will find Nigerian prisoners there, and it baffles me. I think we need a national orientation because this is becoming a huge embarrassment to the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and this is as a result of the fact that they want to get rich quick. It’s not a crime to be rich, but it must be earned. The High Commission is doing its best to ensure that Nigerian prisoners have a humanity touch. The High Commission doesn’t have power to get them released; all we can do is to keep pleading"
he said. Ambassador Onafowokan stated that it was wrong for the Ghanian authorities to hand long jail term to foreigners as an instrument of deterrent but that as an Ambassador, he has no power to change the judicial system of a country. He argues that to serve long jail term is better than beheading which is the law in some other countries for drug traffickers. "
I agree that policy is not right. Like I told you, I sat down with Chief Justice Theodore Woods, and he promised to work on it. I don’t think I can force authorities in Ghana to change its justice system. So also, Ghana High Commission in Nigeria cannot force Nigerian government to change our justice system. In some countries, the law prescribed that you will be beheaded if you commit certain crime, and there’s little or nothing diplomacy can do to make them change their mind. I think to go to prison for a long time is better than being beheaded. But the best solution is to walk away from criminality
" he said.

Posted: at 6-01-2015 09:47 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 6-01-2015 10:03 AM (9 years ago)
majority of the prisoners are Nigerians and majority of the prisoners comited the crime they are serving, and majority of the prisoners are from one particular tribe in Nigeria  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 6-01-2015 10:03 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 6-01-2015 10:04 AM (9 years ago)
majority of the prisoners are Nigerians and majority of the prisoners comited the crime they are serving, and majority of the prisoners are from one particular tribe in Nigeria who love money more than good name  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 6-01-2015 10:04 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Onyibochukwu at 6-01-2015 10:05 AM (9 years ago)
Sorry even though I couldn't read all this your story cause it's too long, but I want to say that there is nothing like national disgrace here oga cause the nation did not send them all to prison.  
Posted: at 6-01-2015 10:05 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 6-01-2015 10:19 AM (9 years ago)
Not only in Ghana,,,,,,,,,virtually everywhere,,,,,
Posted: at 6-01-2015 10:19 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- echeeche at 6-01-2015 10:21 AM (9 years ago)
Is unbeliving indeed quick money every where
Posted: at 6-01-2015 10:21 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- DrSoba at 6-01-2015 10:25 AM (9 years ago)
If a Nigerian is caught abroad trying to get rich quick by destroying the land eg drug trafficking,  arm rubbery etc, he/she should be killed immediately. By so doing some day Nigeria will be better.
Posted: at 6-01-2015 10:25 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 6-01-2015 10:26 AM (9 years ago)
@BENENO U̶̲̥̅̊ dey find trouble º°˚˚˚°ºoOΘ ............. NOoº°°ºº°°ºO:) O:) cause wahala here º°˚˚˚°ºoOΘ ... Funny bone
Posted: at 6-01-2015 10:26 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ennyolalekan at 6-01-2015 10:31 AM (9 years ago)
Next pls
Posted: at 6-01-2015 10:31 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 6-01-2015 10:45 AM (9 years ago)
poster u for say majority na igbo boys and men..
every where in the world them dey for jail..
the love of money push them inside jail...
even one of their king dey for jail here oooh..he carry market come..but e back fire..
Posted: at 6-01-2015 10:45 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 6-01-2015 10:45 AM (9 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 6-01-2015 10:45 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 6-01-2015 10:46 AM (9 years ago)
not every nigerians...but IGBO PEOPLE.. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 6-01-2015 10:46 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- factoo at 6-01-2015 10:59 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Onyibochukwu on  6-01-2015 10:05 AM
Sorry even though I couldn't read all this your story cause it's too long, but I want to say that there is nothing like national disgrace here oga cause the nation did not send them all to prison.  

My brother its National disgrace, because they have more Nigerians in their prisons than other Nationality; even more  than their own citizens atimes.
it's a big disgrace, for anyone that knows what disgrace means.........
Posted: at 6-01-2015 10:59 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- EmekaBlue at 6-01-2015 11:01 AM (9 years ago)
no b today...e don tay
Posted: at 6-01-2015 11:01 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- abbeyy74 at 6-01-2015 11:02 AM (9 years ago)
Won't be surprise at Ghanians, am sure they will be too glad to imprison Nigerians very well out of long time hatred.
Posted: at 6-01-2015 11:02 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EmekaBlue at 6-01-2015 11:03 AM (9 years ago)
Nigerians wey do d first prison break 4 ghana sumtym ago..na so we b..stubborn pple
Posted: at 6-01-2015 11:03 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 6-01-2015 12:38 PM (9 years ago)
HmmMmmm GOD wılll help nıj 2 quıt evıl
Posted: at 6-01-2015 12:38 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- EmekaBlue at 6-01-2015 02:01 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: chiboi123 on  6-01-2015 12:25 PM
You think all of them were really guilty of any crime they were been charged of ? Nigerians  are in prison all over the world.  they are there because the government doesn't care about the well being of it's citizens living abroad or the ambassador is just on vacation with his family doing nothing.

Do you know how many times British and American citizens are  been caught with drugs and they were  never tried in Court ? last two years a British woman was caught in Indonesia with kilos of cocaine and the British Government gave the Indonesian Government a period to send back their Citizen. claiming she was set up if that was to be a Nigerian Who Would Have Cared Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?

TRUE about our embassy..Just lazy fat pple on vacation with family
Posted: at 6-01-2015 02:01 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 6-01-2015 02:31 PM (9 years ago)
let them rot in jail why most they go to another ppl's country and be commiting crime
Posted: at 6-01-2015 02:31 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- danielsony at 6-01-2015 05:37 PM (9 years ago)
Those bad bele people calling igbos, check yourself very well u are not better than them! na jealousy go kill una there stupid people Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 6-01-2015 05:37 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Disturbing Video Shows Moment Nigerian Man Slaps Girlfriend Over Cake-Cutting At Party

2. Man Undergoes Surgery After Breaking His Erect P3nis & Disfiguring His Eggplant From Rolling

3. Anyim Vera Offered All-Expense-Paid Vacation At 5-star Hotel In PH Following Public Humilation

4. Blessing CEO Reveals Reasons Why Women Cheat In Marriage

5. Police Launch Manhunt For Abiola's Widow For Allegedly Sponsoring Yoruba Nation Agitator Attack

6. Nigerian Soldier, Sani Yahaya Goes Wild In Enugu, Stabs Colleague In The Head With Dagger

7. “Not All Divorces Must Be Toxic” -Singer, Paul Okoye Tackles Critics

8. VIDEO: Secondary Schoolgirl Stirs Reactions As She Names BBN, Tolanibaj As Her Role Model

9. Video Of A Student And His Teacher Engaging In Heated Argument Sparks Outrage

10. VIDEO: Adorable Moment Man Proposes Marriage To Lover On A Plane

11. Pete Edochie Reveals How Nnamdi Azikiwe Taught Him How to Handle Female Fans

12. Police Arrest Two Suspects For Allegedly Killing Mother & Son In Akwa Ibom

13. TERRORISM: Court Grants Osun Gov, Adeleke's Aide Ajagungbade Emir N50m Bail

14. Tragedy As Two Teenage Girls Drown As Canoe Capsizes In Niger State

15. "I Don’t Engage In S3x For Money" – BBN Star, Khloe Says

16. A'Ibom Court Orders Arrest Of Man Who Abandons Wife, 2Yr Old Daughter In The Village To Live

17. VID: BBN Sheggz Reveals The ‘Crazy’ Thing He Can Do For His Woman If He Offends Her

18. Panic As Fire Razes University Of Ilorin Teaching Hospital, Destroys Drugs, Equipment

19. BREAKING: Suspected Terrorists Kill Ruling PDP Secretary, Musa Ille In Zamfara

1. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

2. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

6. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

7. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks

10. Edo Police Commissioner Orders Trial Of Officer Threatening Civilians With AK-47 In Viral Video