National Universities Commission (NUC) Abolishes Pass Degree - VC

Date: 04-02-2015 8:26 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 4-02-2015 08:26 PM (9 years ago)

The National Universities Commission ( NUC) has abolished the award of Pass Degree in Nigerian Universities with effect from the 2013/ 2014 academic session.

Prof Abdullahi Zuru, the Vice Chancellor of Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto, disclosed this on Wednesday at the 2014/2015 matriculation of 4,133 students of the institution.

“This has far reaching implications on the grading system of students in universities.
“This means that the minimum pass mark for courses in the universities will now be 45 per cent, that is, D-grade, instead of the previous 40 per cent which was E-grade.
“It also means that the minimum class of degree to be earned by students will now be Third Class,”
he said.

According to him, no university student will henceforth graduate with a Pass Degree.

He therefore enjoined the students to work hard to earn their stay in the university.

The vice chancellor also advised them to shun extremism, bigotry, violence, ethnicity, political intolerance and religious prejudice.

Mr. Zuru commended the Federal Government and its agencies for fully transforming the landscape of the university.

Earlier, the Dean of Students Affairs, Adamu Aliero, warned that any student that flouted the rules and regulations of the university would be sanctioned.
He assured the students that the management of the institution would continue to accord top priority to their welfare.

In a remark, Aminu Wushishi, Chairman of the caretaker committee of the students union government, assured that the students would be law abiding.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 4-02-2015 08:26 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Nicksam at 4-02-2015 09:07 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 4-02-2015 09:07 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 4-02-2015 09:18 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 4-02-2015 09:18 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- obibye at 4-02-2015 09:20 PM (9 years ago)
9ja I hail o
Posted: at 4-02-2015 09:20 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- DrSoba at 4-02-2015 10:02 PM (9 years ago)
Ok, most atimes the pass results are always useless.
Posted: at 4-02-2015 10:02 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicent2k3 at 4-02-2015 10:11 PM (9 years ago)
dareaper!!!! u lucky say u just get that "pass degree" before them abolish am. ;Smiley
Posted: at 4-02-2015 10:11 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- kelvos007 at 4-02-2015 11:46 PM (9 years ago)
wetin dereper do una sef...funny sha
Posted: at 4-02-2015 11:46 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Abubu86 at 5-02-2015 01:01 AM (9 years ago)
A nice decision. I wonder what will make any right thinking student 2 graduate with pass degree
Posted: at 5-02-2015 01:01 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Squeezud at 5-02-2015 06:04 AM (9 years ago)
The price of SORTING will rise now.
Posted: at 5-02-2015 06:04 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- egwuevans17 at 5-02-2015 06:04 AM (9 years ago)
AS A MATTER OF FACT, NOT ALL PEOPLE HAVE THE CAPACITY TO READ, MOST POLY GRADUATES GRADUATED WITH PASS AND THEY FLOOD THE NIGERIAN PRIVATE SECTOR SEEKING FOR JOBS.
I STRONGLY BELIEVE WE SHOULD NOT BE FORCED TO READ WHEN WE CAN NOT COPE WITH STUDIES, MANY OF THE RICHEST MEN TODAY DON'T GO TO COLLEGE OR FINISH THEIR DEGREES. I BELIEVE IF YOU KNOW AND BELIEVE YOU HAVE SOMETHING TO OFFER WORKS EFFICIENTLY TOWARDS THAT ABILITIES AND OFFER IT EFFICIENTLY. PEOPLE WILL LATTER GRADUATE AND SERVE YOU.
I AM SAYING THIS FROM EXPERIENCE, DON'T BE INTIMIDATED BY ANYONE, WORK AND ACHIEVE YOUR GOAL EITHER THROUGH EDUCATION OR NO EDUCATION. WE ARE ADVANCING AS A COUNTRY AND I BELIEVE GOD WILL BE WITH US TO REACH OUR AIMS..
Posted: at 5-02-2015 06:04 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- lexyclasy at 5-02-2015 07:30 AM (9 years ago)
@Egwuevans17 it would have been more polite if you make your contributions as regards the topic of discussion and stop insulting Poly Graduates….I serve in Osun State for my NYSC at Ipetu Ijesa Grammar school most of the University counterpart that were in the same school that finish from UNILAG,  FUTA  UNIMAID  makes you wonder the kind of miracles they got to be able to scale through Departmental, Faculty and for even SENATE to found them worthy of character and learning to be awarded with a degree….their chemistry and physics  practical’s during exams were all on my head if they mount podium to teach the students will make jest of them ….it’s all boils back to the system that one’s come s out so when NUC takes a decision they knew it not you trying to single out Poly grad point of correction
Posted: at 5-02-2015 07:30 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicent2k3 at 5-02-2015 08:02 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: kelvos007 on  4-02-2015 11:46 PM
wetin dereper do una sef...funny sha
My brother, u no go understand. dareaper na our man but him head dey touch sometimes so we dey try fix am up.
Posted: at 5-02-2015 08:02 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 5-02-2015 10:34 AM (9 years ago)
seen
Posted: at 5-02-2015 10:34 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- ngorgoya4real at 5-02-2015 12:31 PM (9 years ago)
Up 9ja
Posted: at 5-02-2015 12:31 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- AdikpeReturn at 5-02-2015 04:01 PM (9 years ago)
Nice one
Posted: at 5-02-2015 04:01 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Foxtroft at 5-02-2015 05:31 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Abubu86 on  5-02-2015 01:01 AM
A nice decision. I wonder what will make any right thinking student 2 graduate with pass degree
if you wonder, ask Dareper
Posted: at 5-02-2015 05:31 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Foxtroft at 5-02-2015 05:33 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Abubu86 on  5-02-2015 01:01 AM

If you wonder, ask Dareper
Posted: at 5-02-2015 05:33 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- femjay at 6-02-2015 09:37 PM (9 years ago)
Nice decision....
Posted: at 6-02-2015 09:37 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 22-08-2015 08:18 PM (8 years ago)
Ok na
Posted: at 22-08-2015 08:18 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ujmaria at 3-03-2016 11:56 PM (8 years ago)
People seem to take dose with pass results as students without brain
Posted: at 3-03-2016 11:56 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

4. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

5. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

6. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

7. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

8. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

9. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

10. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

11. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

12. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

13. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

14. Daughter Of 14th Emir Of Kano Replies X User Who Described Her Husband As A ''Yoruba Man''

15. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

16. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu

17. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

18. Igbos Contributed To The Development Of Lagos, Abuja, Other States -Enugu Ex Gov, Nwodo

19. “My Album Is Coming To Save You All From Shitty Music” – Zinoleesky Tells Nigerians