NDLEA Nabs Drug Peddler With 70 Wraps Of Cocaine

Date: 15-05-2015 9:53 am (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 15-05-2015 09:53 AM (8 years ago)

A 39-year-old suspected drug trafficker, Celestine Ikechukwu Okonkwo, has narrated his ordeal in the hands of drug barons who sponsored his trip to Brazil.
The suspect, who used to sell used clothes at Idumota market, Lagos State, said that he was promised a good job abroad but was made to suffer untold hardship before being used in smuggling cocaine.
National Drug Law Enforcement Agency's commander at the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport (NAIA), Abuja, Mr. Hamisu Lawan, who said that the suspect tested positive for cocaine ingestion, declared: “the suspect tested positive to drug ingestion while returning from Sao Paulo, Brazil. He later excreted 70 wraps of cocaine weighing 1.326kg.”
Okonkwo said that he was a happy man until the drug barons approached him with a promise of better job abroad.
“I was in my shop at Idumota market where I sell used clothes. I will never forget the day a young man came to my shop to buy shirt. He told me he is from Anambra and that he lives in Brazil. He also promised to help me with a good job opportunity over there.
"Honestly, I was excited and felt it was answer to my age long prayer. He collected my phone number and left. This was how it all started,”
Okonkwo stated.
After three months, the man called him that he was back to Nigeria.
“He prepared my international passport and also secured a visa for me. Then he told me to get set to travel any time. A few weeks later, he brought my ticket and I travelled to Brazil in January 2015. He gave me the name of the hotel where I will stay pending when he will get me a job. I was eventually abandoned to suffer.
"When I exhausted my money, I began to sleep in a church. I also began to work for a Nigerian woman who owns a restaurant in order not to starve to death,”
he added.
The suspect also stated that drug trafficking was not originally discussed with him before he left Nigeria: "Nobody discussed drug trafficking with me while in Nigeria. It was after I had lived in the church for some months that my sponsor located me in Sao Paulo. I was told that there is no free lunch in Brazil and that I have suffered and experienced difficult life in Brazil. This was the point they introduced drug trafficking as the only way out.
"They said that was what people do to make money. It took me about seven hours to swallow 70 wraps of cocaine. I was inexperienced because it was my first time. They promised to pay me N400,000 when I get to Nigeria,”
he stated.
Chairman/Chief Executive of the NDLEA, Ahmadu Giade, said that the story of Okonkwo should serve as a warning to others who are seeking to travel out of the country.

Posted: at 15-05-2015 09:53 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- robertedo3 at 15-05-2015 10:24 AM (8 years ago)
Another ibo man again ? Haba  do we really need this ibos as part of nigeria? They knw notin apart from dubious biz  the once in  various jails in the world are more than the once on the street , we shud neva trust them wit power in nig otherwise the entity called nig will be no more
Posted: at 15-05-2015 10:24 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Deepsea81 at 15-05-2015 10:41 AM (8 years ago)
You faggot stupid son of a raped wh*re  shut your stupid mouth. I am not an Ibo to start but you irritate me. What about other tribes killing innocent people for money rituals? and those who use human as a game of make believe in Boko Haram SCAM. Fool you talked to the tribes that have been neglected on their own to survive. Hausa and Yoruba are supposed ot only Nigerians ANIMAL LIKE YOU.
Posted: at 15-05-2015 10:41 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Deepsea81 at 15-05-2015 10:43 AM (8 years ago)
If you don't know what to comment just X the page fool, Tell me which tribe in Nigeria has not done it before?
Posted: at 15-05-2015 10:43 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- clarajancita at 15-05-2015 11:33 AM (8 years ago)
"Another ibo man again ? Haba  do we really need this ibos as part of nigeria? They knw notin apart from dubious biz  the once in  various jails in the world are more than the once on the street , we shud neva trust them wit power in nig otherwise the entity called nig will be no more "

Don't try to be tribalistic here, this can happen to anyone, both Nigeria or not, Ibo or not, we need to learn something from it not to blame or accuse any tribe

Posted: at 15-05-2015 11:33 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kenny_kenny at 15-05-2015 12:06 PM (8 years ago)
Wow am amazed that Igbos in dis forum could be offended wen they re picked at.. So quick so pick on others but hate to be picked at..A*#Ss..
Posted: at 15-05-2015 12:06 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 15-05-2015 12:16 PM (8 years ago)
lets be sincere
Posted: at 15-05-2015 12:16 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Larry28 at 15-05-2015 01:06 PM (8 years ago)
Bad market
Posted: at 15-05-2015 01:06 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ISijingle at 15-05-2015 01:22 PM (8 years ago)
Another igbo again una nor go get sence
Posted: at 15-05-2015 01:22 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 15-05-2015 01:27 PM (8 years ago)
Don't trust all those who cums bak from abroad wit promises.
Posted: at 15-05-2015 01:27 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- SweetDaddy1 at 15-05-2015 02:21 PM (8 years ago)
I will support the death penalty for Cocaine peddlers.
Posted: at 15-05-2015 02:21 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ken1230 at 15-05-2015 02:22 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: robertedo3 on 15-05-2015 10:24 AM
Another ibo man again ? Haba  do we really need this ibos as part of nigeria? They knw notin apart from dubious biz  the once in  various jails in the world are more than the once on the street , we shud neva trust them wit power in nig otherwise the entity called nig will be no more

Just help us blame Tinubu and Kashamu.
Posted: at 15-05-2015 02:22 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- uplogsa at 15-05-2015 03:30 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: deep sea on 15-05-2015 10:41 AM
You faggot stupid son of a molested wh*re  shut your stupid mouth. I am not an Ibo to start but you irritate me. What about other tribes killing innocent people for money rituals? and those who use human as a game of make believe in Boko Haram SCAM. Fool you talked to the tribes that have been neglected on their own to survive. Hausa and Yoruba are supposed ot only Nigerians ANIMAL LIKE  YOU. Thank you for telling that idiot the truth
Posted: at 15-05-2015 03:30 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 15-05-2015 03:57 PM (8 years ago)
Nawoo oh
Posted: at 15-05-2015 03:57 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Abubu86 at 15-05-2015 04:53 PM (8 years ago)
You should grow up and stop been a tribalistic man
Posted: at 15-05-2015 04:53 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teral at 15-05-2015 09:58 PM (8 years ago)
Una nö get Shame is all about the Money,
Posted: at 15-05-2015 09:58 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- makedemtalk at 15-05-2015 10:23 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: clarajancita on 15-05-2015 11:33 AM
Don't try to be tribalistic here, this can happen to anyone, both Nigeria or not, Ibo or not, we need to learn something from it not to blame or accuse any tribe
YOU ARE RIGHT,BUT LET'S CALL A CLOSET A CLOSET,AND LATRINE A LATRINE.....THIS IS TURNING TO SHAME TO NIGERIANS THAT HUSTLE TO MAKE A LIVING....E.G IN WESTERN WORLD,IF YOU ARE RICH,AS IN YOU LIVE A LUXURY LIFE,THE FIRST THING POLICE WILL DO IS TO KNOW HOW YOU EARN YOU BILLS....SIMPLE,WHY CAN'T WE START THAT IN NIGERIA????PEOPLE ARE RICH WITHOUT KNOWING THE SOURCE OF THEIR WEALTH.....WELL IF THE HEAD IS BAD,WHAT DO YOU EXPECT???
Posted: at 15-05-2015 10:23 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Nicksam at 16-05-2015 07:17 AM (8 years ago)
NA WA OOO
Posted: at 16-05-2015 07:17 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Imoking at 16-05-2015 08:32 AM (8 years ago)
: You son of a bit'ht, ask your mom whom is Dady before insulting any tribe
Posted: at 16-05-2015 08:32 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- warribimboye at 16-05-2015 09:16 AM (8 years ago)
Igbo,hausa and Yoruba,are the criminas in Nigeria period,anyhow they commit it.
Posted: at 16-05-2015 09:16 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming