Wardrobe Allowance: Aregbesola Blasts Ben Bruce For Mocking Osun Workers

Date: 18-06-2015 7:08 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 18-06-2015 07:08 AM (8 years ago)

The Osun state government has lambasted the senator representing Bayelsa central senatorial district, Ben Murray-Bruce, for offering to donate his wardrobe allowance to Osun state workers who are owed 7 months salaries.

Mr. Bruce stated this in a series of tweets on Wednesday evening.

But in a response to the comment later on Wednesday evening, the Osun state governor, Rauf Aregbesola, accused the Senator of mocking Nigerian workers.

In a state through his spokesperson, Semiu Okanlawon, Mr. Aregbesola accused the lawmaker of playing to the gallery  and engaging in self-serving philanthropy.
“Of all the states in the federation who are battling to pay salaries as a result of the precarious economic situation his party the PDP threw Nigeria into why is it that it is Osun he wants to take his pay to?” the governor asked.
“This is certainly playing to the gallery and nothing but a mockery in the faces of Nigerian workers and not only of Osun extraction.
“It is not only wicked but ungodly to play politics with the suffering of the people.
“If the Senator’s conscience tells him his pay is too high especially in the face of the prevailing economic predicament of Nigeria the most honourable thing to do is to lead a protest for reduction and not a self serving philanthropy only in the direction of Osun workers.”

Read full statement below.

Why is Senator Murray-Bruce mocking Nigerian workers?

My attention has been drawn to a tweet by a member of Upper chamber of the National Assembly Senator Ben Murray Bruce of the Peoples Democratic Party from Bayelsa saying he will not reject the alleged hefty pay for members of the National Assembly but collect it and donate to Osun workers.
    It is saddening and tragic that Mr. Murray Bruce whom many had accorded a lot of respect is too early in the day joining the fray of politicisation and trivialising the salary issue affecting more than half of the stars of the federation in this ridiculous manner.
    While Nigerians are in hot debate over the alleged jumbo pay and the mood of the country Murray Bruce seems to have turned the plight of Nigerian workers to a thing of an entertainment.
    Of all the states in the federation who are battling to pay salaries as a result of the precarious economic situation his party the PDP threw Nigeria into why is it that it is Osun he wants to take his pay to? This is certainly playing to the gallery and nothing but a mockery in the faces of Nigerian workers and not only of Osun extraction. It is not only wicked but ungodly to play politics with the suffering of the people.
    If the Senator’s conscience tells him his pay is too high especially in the face of the prevailing economic predicament of Nigeria the most honourable thing to do is to lead a protest for reduction and not a self serving philanthropy only in the direction of Osun workers.

Semiu Okanlawon
    Director Bureau of Communication and Strategy
    Office of the Governor Osogbo

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 18-06-2015 07:08 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ohale at 18-06-2015 07:35 AM (8 years ago)
Aregbesola must be very unwise if he truly gave such response. I wonder how u collect ur pay for 7 months nd the poor civil servants don't receive theirs. How do u sleep at night? Wicked generation!
Posted: at 18-06-2015 07:35 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- dannylourdes at 18-06-2015 07:48 AM (8 years ago)
Finished generation and wasted society
Posted: at 18-06-2015 07:48 AM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- ignis99 at 18-06-2015 08:18 AM (8 years ago)
Shame to you Aregbesola
Posted: at 18-06-2015 08:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 18-06-2015 08:22 AM (8 years ago)
ni so so my Attention has been drawn una take they start ? una no get another English ?.yeye people
Posted: at 18-06-2015 08:22 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- livingstonee at 18-06-2015 08:30 AM (8 years ago)
You are angry because of somebody kindness to people! Don't worry, GOD will soon visit you!
Posted: at 18-06-2015 08:30 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- italianjob at 18-06-2015 08:57 AM (8 years ago)
This governor is a criminal,  you've been taking money home since 7 months while your workers are hungry,  don't you have a shame? , now someone donating his own to your state, you should be ashamed And stop asking why it should be osun state.
Posted: at 18-06-2015 08:57 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 18-06-2015 09:14 AM (8 years ago)
imagine what he called the generous approach of the senator Roll Eyes, if Aregbesola and his yeye cabinet member could be so generous to do same....he can be owing workers up to 7 months salaries Angry
Posted: at 18-06-2015 09:14 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- freethinker at 18-06-2015 09:25 AM (8 years ago)
Aregbesola,,, U MADE U GOVERNOR?
U SUPPOSE TO BE BABA ALAWO, NOT A GOVERNOR NAH
Posted: at 18-06-2015 09:25 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jjiofor at 18-06-2015 11:13 AM (8 years ago)
APC Governors mostly are the ones owing salaries and they are blaming PDP, Okorocha is owing 11 months, even the most annoying is that Rivers State with all the revenue it gets including IGR and federal allocation is owing 3 months and there is so much confusion in that state. I am not a PDP supporter but for Gods's sake people should own up to their misdeeds and recklessness with public fund. Rivers State is too rich to owe salary--------the money that comes to the state monthly makes every governor that has ever ruled the state to go mad. Check the list and see for yourself, the most recent Amechi is a case in question.
Posted: at 18-06-2015 11:13 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Stylecool at 18-06-2015 11:15 AM (8 years ago)
Wasted generation
Posted: at 18-06-2015 11:15 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- 50scent at 18-06-2015 12:48 PM (8 years ago)
this is ridiculous the coffee wey l dey drink commot for my nose as l read this..

Posted: at 18-06-2015 12:48 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- climax_man at 18-06-2015 02:59 PM (8 years ago)
Stupid governor..
Posted: at 18-06-2015 02:59 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PoliticxGuru at 18-06-2015 04:25 PM (8 years ago)
whoever using the slang wasted generation should pls stop using it bfore u invite the wrath of Karma on ur head
Posted: at 18-06-2015 04:25 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 18-06-2015 04:53 PM (8 years ago)
Then pay them
Posted: at 18-06-2015 04:53 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- echeeche at 18-06-2015 05:43 PM (8 years ago)
Pls pay them
Posted: at 18-06-2015 05:43 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- onyenmeme at 18-06-2015 09:33 PM (8 years ago)
this man should be impeached cus he is evil ,no doubt i have seen a man who want change cus all of them are rich my two hands is up for you bruse contnue we need that change
Posted: at 18-06-2015 09:33 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- chealseafc at 19-06-2015 01:47 AM (8 years ago)
this evil man is better off as a babalawo.
Posted: at 19-06-2015 01:47 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DRraze at 19-06-2015 03:36 AM (8 years ago)
Ogbeni oyawere
Posted: at 19-06-2015 03:36 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 50scent at 19-06-2015 09:51 AM (8 years ago)
the coffee wey l dey drink commot for my nose as l dey read this.

Posted: at 19-06-2015 09:51 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

2. Nigerian Man Videos The Living Condition of Immigrants Who Were Not Granted Asylum in Portugal

3. Netizens React As a Catholic Reverend Sister is Spotted in Public Drinking Alcohol (Video)

4. Court Awards Late Biafran Leader, Ojukwu's Will to Bianca, Throws Out First Son, Debe's Case

5. Why I Eventually Became a Woman - Nigeria Crossdresser, Bobrisky Finally Opens up

6. Singer Waje Expresses Pride as Her Daughter, Emerald Turns 25, Pens Emotional Note to Her

7. A Thief Who Robbed me Was Dating The Police Officer in Charge of my Case – Lady Recounts Ordeal

8. Man Emmanuel Okpara Arrested For Reportedly B£ating His Wife to D£ath in Lagos

9. Rapper, Cynthia Morgan Reveals Why She Was Never S3xually Harassed in The Industry

10. See List: Nigeria, Egypt Named Among World’s Lowest Salary Earners

11. PHOTOS: Woman Caught With Over 50 Pellets Of Cocaine Hidden In Her Private Part At Airport

12. VIDEO: NAFDAC Raids Factory Where Fake Bottled Water is Produced in Port Harcourt

13. Binance Executives Drag NSA Ribadu, EFCC To Court

14. 50% of Husbands in Nigeria Are Fathering Other Men's Children - Calabar OAP Reveals

15. 13 Persons Arrested and Charged to Court For Failing to Use Pedestrian Bridge in Lagos

16. CEO of TCN,Abdulaziz Sule Reportedly Bribes Min. of Power With N290m Lexus SUV to Retain Office

17. 20yr Old Man Arrested For Kidnap, Murder Of Police Officer’s Son In Bauchi

18. Ex President, Buhari Celebrates President Tinubu on His 72nd Birthday

19. VIDEO: NNPC Fuel Station in Yola, Adamawa State Razed By Fire

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

6. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

7. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

8. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

9. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)

10. Black Sunday In Nollywood As Another Actor, Amaechi Muonagor Reportedly Passes Away