Police and Youths Clash in Chaos in Imo State (PHOTOS)

Date: 08-09-2015 4:38 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 8-09-2015 04:38 PM (8 years ago)

The very sorry-state of the Owerri-Port Harcourt road has left men of the Nigerian Police Force in a serious battle with youths of Umuapu community within Ohaji/Egbema Local Government Area of Imo state. The alleged unemployed-boys stormed the streets to forcefully task motorists to part with varying amount of money using ‘their’ roads.It was revealed that government abandonment of the road leading to the South-south of Nigeria prompted some residents in the area to dig a very big gully on the expressway two months ago in order to prevent vehicles from taking that route.Unknown to the ‘touts’, motorists took solace in pa$$ing through their own community and as a result; completely deface the already flooded streets. In a swift, some of the youths formed ‘toll gates’ and then started to task drivers with varying sums.  The police was however drafted to the scene.
A driver of the Rivers Transport Company (RTC) who preferred to be anonymous lamented the whole situation.
He said: “These boys are not scared of their lives. In fact the police even shot one dead last week. The officers are trying but they need more hands. Once you don’t pay them, they smash your car. They are causing more havoc because they delay us here.”
As at the time our reporter visited the scene, the ‘tax collectors’ were seen oppressing and forcing vehicle owners to ‘drop’.
The RTC driver however advised government to come to their aid: “Government should please look into this matter. This journey is not up to 45 minutes, but with the state of the road, we spend 4 to 5 hours driving. He concluded.”

Posted: at 8-09-2015 04:38 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- proly at 8-09-2015 04:47 PM (8 years ago)
That road is sumting else
Posted: at 8-09-2015 04:47 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 8-09-2015 04:51 PM (8 years ago)
The "giant of Africa" unable to give even  the most BASIC of amenities to it's citizens!
Posted: at 8-09-2015 04:51 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 8-09-2015 04:57 PM (8 years ago)
heheheheheh.... i dey come make i find
Posted: at 8-09-2015 04:57 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Barluty at 8-09-2015 04:58 PM (8 years ago)
Mehnn i pity dis country, i dnt see d reason dt road il b in dt urgly condition, i drive 4rm dt road dis morning is comptly in bad condition, nd i dnt blame those youth by taking money 4rm motorist, cos thr comunity road is gting bad cos of motorist ar useing d road evryday by day.  Rochas is a wicked man,
Posted: at 8-09-2015 04:58 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 8-09-2015 05:00 PM (8 years ago)
na wa oooo see road in 2015 nigeria!!!!!!   CHAI
Posted: at 8-09-2015 05:00 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- PaskyWosky at 8-09-2015 05:03 PM (8 years ago)
so much in a sorry state
Posted: at 8-09-2015 05:03 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- PaskyWosky at 8-09-2015 05:04 PM (8 years ago)
so much in a sorry state
Posted: at 8-09-2015 05:04 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- PaskyWosky at 8-09-2015 05:05 PM (8 years ago)
so much in a sorry state
Posted: at 8-09-2015 05:05 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- PaskyWosky at 8-09-2015 05:06 PM (8 years ago)
so much in a sorry state
Posted: at 8-09-2015 05:06 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- PoliticxGuru at 8-09-2015 05:11 PM (8 years ago)
Nigeria 2 vs Niger 0 oya make una dey comment
Posted: at 8-09-2015 05:11 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ebukkkason at 8-09-2015 05:35 PM (8 years ago)
D government should fix dis road
Posted: at 8-09-2015 05:35 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ebukkkason at 8-09-2015 05:40 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: proly on  8-09-2015 04:47 PM
That road is sumting else
really, d road is in a very bad condition
Posted: at 8-09-2015 05:40 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mary11 at 8-09-2015 05:52 PM (8 years ago)
Bad government

Posted: at 8-09-2015 05:52 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- mary11 at 8-09-2015 05:54 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Barth Chinedum Madu on  8-09-2015 04:58 PM
Mehnn i pity dis country, i dnt see d reason dt road il b in dt urgly condition, i drive 4rm dt road dis morning is comptly in bad condition, nd i dnt blame those youth by taking money 4rm motorist, cos thr comunity road is gting bad cos of motorist ar useing d road evryday by day.  Rochas is a wicked man,
Okorocha is still busy answering "yes sir" to buhari

Posted: at 8-09-2015 05:54 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- innocentbola at 8-09-2015 06:00 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on  8-09-2015 04:51 PM
The "giant of Africa" unable to give even  the most BASIC of amenities to it's citizens!

You can say that again. Giant of Africa my foot...
Posted: at 8-09-2015 06:00 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- innocentbola at 8-09-2015 06:02 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Barth Chinedum Madu on  8-09-2015 04:58 PM

I blame the youth for taxing the motorists because they don't do anything good with the money they collect, instead they just lavish it and that's all. If there are repairing the road with the money or saving it to repair the road then i think that would be fine...
Posted: at 8-09-2015 06:02 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- innocentbola at 8-09-2015 06:03 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  8-09-2015 05:00 PM
na wa oooo see road in 2015 nigeria!!!!!!   CHAI

I feel ashamed looking at the road...
Posted: at 8-09-2015 06:03 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- innocentbola at 8-09-2015 06:05 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: ebukkkason on  8-09-2015 05:35 PM
D government should fix dis road

Am sure the govt must have paid the money for this same road to be repaired but the people that received the money won;t do the work, instead they shared it among themselves...
Posted: at 8-09-2015 06:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DJSNIPPER at 8-09-2015 06:07 PM (8 years ago)
This war will swallow him.he is toying with a live cobra
Posted: at 8-09-2015 06:07 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac