What is wrong with Nigeria? (Page 6)

Date: 05-08-2008 2:39 am (15 years ago) | Author: Niger Delta
1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7 8
- princemech at 22-02-2009 08:37 PM (15 years ago)
d fact is that nigeria is infected with HIV AIDS
its only God will cure it
Posted: at 22-02-2009 08:37 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- exhale at 22-02-2009 08:42 PM (15 years ago)
hmm....is a lot of stuff goin on in the world
Posted: at 22-02-2009 08:42 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Serafina at 22-02-2009 11:28 PM (15 years ago)
Bud the most problem and corruption makers are the muslems people ol over the world,thats wy my nice Naija land have to be separate into 2halve o to be better o and olso bad to:'(
Posted: at 22-02-2009 11:28 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Toks-E at 23-02-2009 10:44 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: princemech on 22-02-2009 08:37 PM
d fact is that nigeria is infected with HIV AIDS
its only God will cure it

kpele

hehheehehe

now dats funny

Posted: at 23-02-2009 10:44 AM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sol2galaxy at 23-02-2009 06:23 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: blackberryPearl on 11-10-2008 05:50 PM

THE WRONG WITH NIGERIA WAS MISTAKE OF LORD LUGGARD 1914.

Nigeria is governed by people who think about nothing but themselves. so in that case, everything they do will just benefit them
just like shell was sold to the white man
Posted: at 23-02-2009 06:23 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- sol2galaxy at 23-02-2009 06:44 PM (15 years ago)
THE WRONG WITH NIGERIA WAS MISTAKE OF LORD LUGGARD IN 1914.
Posted: at 23-02-2009 06:44 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- donfriday at 24-02-2009 12:31 PM (15 years ago)
everything my dear is wrong with nigeria coz is been occupied/governed by three wise men hausa,igbo and yoruba.
Posted: at 24-02-2009 12:31 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- jethrocafe at 24-02-2009 02:13 PM (15 years ago)
the people makes the diffrence. places don't make people, it is people that make places.
www.nijapage.ninh.com
http://centerforacademicexcellence.ning.com
Posted: at 24-02-2009 02:13 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Serafina at 24-02-2009 06:55 PM (15 years ago)
I day hope I still a life o to see the Naija changing to be one of the best country in the World
Posted: at 24-02-2009 06:55 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- barbartee at 26-02-2009 06:40 PM (15 years ago)
Nothing can be wrong with a non existent entity.
 Nigeria is only a geographical expression without spirit, body and soul
What you have is a land mass called Nigeria without Nigerians.
In America you ll fing Americans, in Britain the british, in Denmark the Danes but in Nigeria what we have is a cocktail of hopelessness engineered by the absence of identity and propelled by lack of sense of belonging.
we can only hope that we find our bearing early and retrace our steps to the point of origin of our journey to no where.
Remember, a wandering man is regarded as a case billed for the psychiatry
Posted: at 26-02-2009 06:40 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- puffyd2006 at 27-02-2009 01:43 PM (15 years ago)
Nigeria as a country is sick.Nigeria is a country where anything goes.Nigeria is a country where corruption thrives and the righteous were tongue lashed and ridiculed.We all have our blames no doubt and no one should be an exception.But it is obvious that when the head is bad,its expected that the rest will follow suit.This country is supposed to be great and the people enjoying,but the reverse is the case.I believe that the advent of the oil made this country lose its focus cos its all about oil oil oil.Back in the days the main stay of our economy was Agriculture and everything was fine people living well,food was cheap.But the oil boom in d 70's crippled everything and made the country lose focus.But again if there had been tranparency and dedication of the interest of the people at heart,the government ought had done better.All they do is share the money among themselves to the detriment of poor Nigerians.Our problem again is that we are too Religious and we have so many hypocrites.Before we can really achieve anything in Nigeria,we must have a leader who must be ready to step on toes.A leader who would not give a damn about anybody.A true leader who believes in true tranparency and good judgement.This country can be better and is so blessed by God and the people are wonderful and friendly and civilised.All in all,we all need to mend our ways and learn to be our brothers keeper.
Posted: at 27-02-2009 01:43 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- lecture at 27-02-2009 04:15 PM (15 years ago)
DO YOU SERIOULY THINK THAT THE CHANGE IS FEW MILES AWAY FROM WHERE WE ARE AT THE MOMENTS ?IF YOU YHINK SO YOU BETTER THINK AGAIN MY DEAR, WITH PEOPLE LIKE YAR'ADDUA THE PRESIDENT AND PEOPLE LIKE OLUSEGUN OBASANJO,IBRAHIM BABANGIDA CLOSE TO THE PRESIDENCY WE HAVE ALOT TO DO.ALMOST ALL OF THOSE DREAMING FOR THE POLTICAL SEAT IN NIGERIA ARE EITHER CORRUPT OR SOMETHING.WE HAVE DO ALOT TO GET RID OF ALL BAD GOVERNANCE AND THE ALLIANCE IN NIGERIA.
Posted: at 27-02-2009 04:15 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Serafina at 28-02-2009 12:06 AM (15 years ago)
Wy do you think that Naija is been doing fine now,than tell me wy in a ritsh Land like Naija are the people are soffering?Than explain me that o   :'(
Posted: at 28-02-2009 12:06 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 9-03-2009 12:06 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: chidiamedu on  7-03-2009 04:29 PM
THE PROBLEM OF THIS NATION LIES WITHIN THE CITIZENS.WE ARE LIKE OLIVER TWIST WHO DARES FOR MORE SHARE BUT WE CANNOT MAKE PROPER USE OF THE LITTLE GIVEN TO US.NIGERIANS DO NOT OBEY THE GOVERNMENT LAW.IF WE ALL CAN CHANGE OUR NEGATIVE ATTITUDES TOWARDS THE NATION, THE LAND WILL BE HEALED.
        CAN U IMAGINE THAT THE GOVT GAVE US ELECTRIC POWER SUPPLY THOUGH NOT ENOUGH BUT ITS WE THE CITIZENS THAT VANDALIZE THEM;AT THE END OF THE DAY WE WILL BLAME THE GOVERNMENT FOR LACK OF POWER SUPPLY.STILL ON SOCIAL AMENITIES, THERE'S NO ROAD CONSTRUCTED WITHOUT DRAINAGE BUT WE TURN THEM INTO WAST BIN BY DUMPING WAST THERE. GO TO ABA U WILL UNDERSTAND WHAT AM SAYING. THOSE AMENITIES ARE FOR OUR OWN GOOD BUT WE MISS USE THEM.
 I WILL BE RIGHT BACK TO EXPLAIN GOVERNMENTS ROLE.
 LETS CHANGE OUR ATTITUDES FIRST AND THEN WAIT FOR THE GOVT TO ACT.OK

Bros!What part of Nigeria are U?Where is the Electricity U are talking of?U sound like a politician or an apologist of the political class.The problem with Nigeria is squarely a leadership failure.Period.Although,I will concede that the citizens too are part of the problem,the bulk of the blame must go to the Political class.The fault of the citizens lie in the fact that they allow these rulers to steal them blind without doing anything.That's where they failed.besides that,nothing.
Posted: at 9-03-2009 12:06 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 27-03-2009 05:48 AM (15 years ago)
Besides that every thing Godsson.

Maybe the citizens of Nigeria should get of there asses and show there government what they are made of.

Are they made of sleeping man and woman who wait till eventually some good will come to them
Or
Man and woman who have a voice to be heard by there government that they had simply enough?

You expect and accept crap from your government you get crap simple.

Posted: at 27-03-2009 05:48 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 2-04-2009 09:53 PM (15 years ago)
Helga you are right. This Re-branding Nigeria Project is another example of how Nigerians sit idly and allow Government to fool them. We all know that we dont need Rebranding. Only our rulers need that. Yet, nobody is doing anything. Well, soon, I wont be here talking.
Posted: at 2-04-2009 09:53 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- mrmtolve at 3-04-2009 12:08 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Helga on  5-10-2008 02:00 PM
Im reading this time and time again. Blaming all on the colonial masters.

I ask you what was Nigeria like before it became a colony?

And dont get me wrong i dont mean this in a negative.

Im just wondering. What would it have become? Any idea? How do you see this?
Where things better or worse after it became independent?

See Australia is still a colony in a way we are still under English rule.

sorry,but your comment is totally missing the point in my  opinion

imposing a western political/social structure on an african country has never and will never work for obvious reasons. nigeria, like other african countries needs to develop it's own structures and mechanism specific to its traditions, culture and people. only this can work

what you are saying sounds like 'slavery was worth it because we now have obama': no, it doesn't work like that. different societies need different things. colonisation was  not worth it in order to have a little bit of european-styled infrastructure, some french and english speaking cities and television in our homes.

after all, it took centuries for european countries to develop to the point that they are today. it's like putting an 18 year old's outfit on an 8 year old, guess what: it just won't fit

australia, like the US, is primarily formed of europeans who emigrated or were sent there (orphans, criminals e.t.c), but still europeans. it is  obvious that they would strive under a western colonisation system,they were part of it. they are almost like a 'new europe', if i may say so.

left to africans, african nations as they exist today would never exist. tribalisms and culture would not have permitted it. the lines were drawn  by westerners in europe, not by africans. it would have developed differently,how? well, we can not know,but limiting ourselves to believing that the only functional and right governmental system is the 'western - democracy' type suggested implies believing that all nations have the same culture and mentality,but that is clearly not the case.

all you have to do is flick through a european history book to identify all the milestones that were sysematically and gradually achieved in order to get to where they are today: women didn't vote, society was highly hierarchical and there was no such thing as human rights. all these came by as a result of the french revolution, the second world war and feminist groups lobbying.

having said all that, it is obvious that african nations must now work hard under the current framework in which they find themselves. work hard and fast if we want to have any hope of catching up and finding our place in this increasing fast developing world. but we must keep in mind our issues, our uniqueness and peculiar characteristics and work around these. it's time to take control and responsiblity.

starting to holding our politicians accountable could be a good starting point...

Posted: at 3-04-2009 12:08 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- mrmtolve at 3-04-2009 12:10 PM (15 years ago)
imposing a western political/social structure on an african country has never and will never work for obvious reasons. nigeria, like other african countries needs to develop it's own structures and mechanism specific to its traditions, culture and people. only this can work

what you are saying sounds like 'slavery was worth it because we now have obama': no, it doesn't work like that. different societies need different things. colonisation was  not worth it in order to have a little bit of european-styled infrastructure, some french and english speaking cities and television in our homes.

after all, it took centuries for european countries to develop to the point that they are today. it's like putting an 18 year old's outfit on an 8 year old, guess what: it just won't fit

australia, like the US, is primarily formed of europeans who emigrated or were sent there (orphans, criminals e.t.c), but still europeans. it is  obvious that they would strive under a western colonisation system,they were part of it. they are almost like a 'new europe', if i may say so.

left to africans, african nations as they exist today would never exist. tribalisms and culture would not have permitted it. the lines were drawn  by westerners in europe, not by africans. it would have developed differently,how? well, we can not know,but limiting ourselves to believing that the only functional and right governmental system is the 'western - democracy' type suggested implies believing that all nations have the same culture and mentality,but that is clearly not the case.

all you have to do is flick through a european history book to identify all the milestones that were sysematically and gradually achieved in order to get to where they are today: women didn't vote, society was highly hierarchical and there was no such thing as human rights. all these came by as a result of the french revolution, the second world war and feminist groups lobbying.

having said all that, it is obvious that african nations must now work hard under the current framework in which they find themselves. work hard and fast if we want to have any hope of catching up and finding our place in this increasing fast developing world. but we must keep in mind our issues, our uniqueness and peculiar characteristics and work around these. it's time to take control and responsiblity.

starting to holding our politicians accountable could be a good starting point...
Posted: at 3-04-2009 12:10 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- dinho4lyf at 4-04-2009 03:59 PM (15 years ago)
Until we stop having unscrupulouse leaders, Nigreia will never change 
Posted: at 4-04-2009 03:59 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 18-04-2009 11:33 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: mrmtolve on  3-04-2009 12:10 PM

I concur to a large extent.
Posted: at 18-04-2009 11:33 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
1 ... 3 4 5 [6] 7 8

1. 70 Passengers Found Vomiting Bug During Flight From Mauritius To Frankfurt

2. I'm Open To Dating WOMEN - Khloe Kardashian Announces

3. Nigeria Man Narrates How His Dad Impregnated His Ex-girlfriend And Took Her Out Of The Country

4. “Something Foul Is Going On” – Very Dark Man Reveals Update On Nickie Dabarbie’s Whereabouts

5. Holy Spirit Always Gives Me Lotto Number Whenever We Don't Have Anything To Eat -Efotete Family

6. Arsenal v Bournemouth: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

7. Nasboi Opens Up On Why He Thought Sydney Talker Was A Yahoo Boy

8. Manchester City v Wolves: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

3. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

6. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

9. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed