Rev King Ezeugo To Be Freed Or Hung By Supreme Court On Feb. 26, 2016

Date: 10-12-2015 9:16 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 10-12-2015 09:16 PM (9 years ago)

The supreme court sitting in Abuja has fixed February 26, 2016, for judgment in the appeal filed Chukwuemeka Ezeugo, general overseer of the Christian Praying Assembly (better known as Reverend King) challenging the judgement of a Lagos high court sentencing him to death by hanging.

According to a statement by Bola Akingbade, deputy director, press and public relations at the Lagos state ministry of justice, the apex court, presided over by Justice Walter Onoghen, adjourned for judgment after entertaining arguments from counsel to prosecution and defence in the matter.

Akingbade said that Adeniji Kazeem, Lagos state attorney-general and commissioner for justice, appeared before the supreme court alongside Idowu Alakija, director of public prosecution and other
senior counsel in the state, urging the court to dismiss the appeal and uphold the judgment of the lower courts.

Ezeugo was arraigned on September 26, 2006 on a six-count charge of attempted murder and murder. He pleaded not guilty to the allegation but was sentenced to death by the then Justice Joseph Oyewole of the Lagos state high court, Ikeja, on January 11, 2007, for the murder of one of his church members, Ann Uzoh.

Justice Oyewole is now a judge of Appeal Court sitting in the Calabar division.

The Lagos state government had said that the convict poured petrol on the deceased and five other persons and that Uzoh died on August 2, 2006 – 11 days after the act was perpetrated on her. Specifically, Ezeugo was convicted and sentenced to 20 years imprisonment for the attempted murder, and death by hanging for the offence of murder.

Dissatisfied, he challenged the verdict before the Court of Appeal in Lagos, but the appeal was thrown out.
’’I hereby rule that the prosecution effectively discharged the burden of proof on it. This appeal is devoid of any basis and accordingly fails,” Justice Fatimo Akinbami had said while reading the judgement.
“The judgment of the High Court is hereby affirmed, and the conviction imposed on the appellant, (which is death by hanging) is also affirmed.”
Amina Augie and Ibrahim Saulawa, the two other members of the panel of Justices, concurred with the lead judgement. Again, Ezeugo not being satisfied with the verdict, approached the supreme court, seeking invalidation of the judgement.

The apex court has now reserved judgment, theCable.ng reports.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 10-12-2015 09:16 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- freethinker at 10-12-2015 09:26 PM (9 years ago)
what has happened has happened, let them tamper justice with mercy ooooooooooo
Posted: at 10-12-2015 09:26 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ayodun1 at 10-12-2015 09:32 PM (9 years ago)
Tamper justice with what...... I can't believe you're saying this @freethinker.

Posted: at 10-12-2015 09:32 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ayodun1 at 10-12-2015 09:34 PM (9 years ago)
The fact is if one person commit a crime and get punished enough for it.... Others indulging in such act would think twice.

Posted: at 10-12-2015 09:34 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 10-12-2015 09:41 PM (9 years ago)
killer must be kill................ an eye for an eye
Posted: at 10-12-2015 09:41 PM (9 years ago) | Grande Master
- musleh247 at 10-12-2015 09:47 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Sakibu Odunayo Oluwaseun on 10-12-2015 09:32 PM
Tamper justice with what...... I can't believe you're saying this @freethinker.
Na Biafran na
Posted: at 10-12-2015 09:47 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 10-12-2015 10:04 PM (9 years ago)
Whatever judgement that is right for his offence should be passed on him and let him serve and face the music accordingly.
Posted: at 10-12-2015 10:04 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- satsaver at 10-12-2015 10:07 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: John Kay on 10-12-2015 09:26 PM
go read about atrocities he committed b4 going to prison nd while in prison.. then come bk nd edit ur comment.
Posted: at 10-12-2015 10:07 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 10-12-2015 10:13 PM (9 years ago)
Carry your cross
Posted: at 10-12-2015 10:13 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 10-12-2015 10:22 PM (9 years ago)
Haba,so dis bie bie man still dey alive? I think say them don hang am tee tee,abeg mr prosecutor abi judge no play mago mago 4 dis caseooo,let him face the music,tit for tat.
Posted: at 10-12-2015 10:22 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 10-12-2015 10:45 PM (9 years ago)
Dem never still kill dis murderer??? Wat are they still waiting for. They shld hang him joor. Evil man
Posted: at 10-12-2015 10:45 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Novic at 10-12-2015 11:09 PM (9 years ago)
May true God you are serving help you. but God knws wetin you do that laid you to this situation.
Posted: at 10-12-2015 11:09 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 10-12-2015 11:29 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Opeyemi Oladipupo on 10-12-2015 11:09 PM
May true God you are serving help you. but God knws wetin you do that laid you to this situation.

Young man haven't you seen the post? Go and read why the convicted that man and you will know that he his not our God that he his serving.
Posted: at 10-12-2015 11:29 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Linconblack at 11-12-2015 12:26 AM (9 years ago)
You are very stupid for such ignoratic and unguided comment. The stupid man must be punished accordingly and sentenced to death. His own punishment will teach his fellow fake pastors a lesson.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 12:26 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Linconblack at 11-12-2015 12:30 AM (9 years ago)
The idiot freethinkers might be related to the murderer, that is why he doesn't want his uncle killed .
Posted: at 11-12-2015 12:30 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Linconblack at 11-12-2015 12:32 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: oworen obong on 10-12-2015 11:29 PM
Young man haven't you seen the post? Go and read why the convicted that man and you will know that he his not our God that he his serving.

Obviously this person might be a toddler during the time the evil.pastor committed the crime. Not everyone on this neonatal is an adult.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 12:32 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Powerfulify at 11-12-2015 12:36 AM (9 years ago)
Emeka u r making appeal 4 them  2 spear ur life bcos it's so precious 2 u . But u didn't think 2yice wen u r wasting  innocent lives dat came 2 u 4 help instead u killed them n tasted their meat (TUFIAKWA)Emeka I melu alu. Well I'm not in position 2 judge u so whatever they handed over 2 u  just take it with fate.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 12:36 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yemoma at 11-12-2015 12:43 AM (9 years ago)
Serious things
Posted: at 11-12-2015 12:43 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- SweetDaddy1 at 11-12-2015 12:43 AM (9 years ago)
The 419 Rev. Ezeugo should be hanged for his evil act.
Posted: at 11-12-2015 12:43 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sonofman25 at 11-12-2015 06:34 AM (9 years ago)
am sure u won't be vomiting this nonsense if d pple he killed are ur relatives.  Tamper justice with kini
?
Posted: at 11-12-2015 06:34 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming