I Am Not On The Run - Tompolo Replies EFCC

Date: 13-12-2015 7:20 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 13-12-2015 07:20 AM (8 years ago)

Former Niger-Delta militant commander, High Chief Government Ekpemupolo, popularly known as Tompolo, has debunked media reports that he failed to respond to an invitation extended to him by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC.

The EFCC had on Thursday given the repentant militant leader, one week to appear before the Commission on Awolowo Road, Ikoyi, Lagos or risk being declared wanted.

In a letter from the EFCC, the Commission says it is investigating Tompolo for unclear dealings involving the sale of parcels of land worth about N13bn to the federal government under the last administration.

But in a statement on Saturday, Tompolo refuted reports of his invitation by the EFCC, alleging that he was only being witch-hunted because he bluntly refused to join the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, as well as to support their Governorship candidate in Bayelsa State.

According to him, “On the November 24th 2015, I was informed at about 4 p.m. that a letter of invitation had been dropped at my home in Warri, inviting me to EFCC’s office in Lagos by 10 a.m. on the 25th of November 2015. I responded by a letter from my Solicitors, Messrs. Jakpa, Edoge & Co. The letter dated November 25th 2015 was received by one Uduak Ouot, a staff of EFCC, on the 3rd of December 2015, after several attempts to deliver. I have proof of delivery from the courier company.”

The ex-militant leader said he was surprised that the EFCC, which he described as “an otherwise reputable institution,” lied to Nigerians. He added that his lawyer’s letter “indicated I am already in court with the EFCC in
Suit No: FHC/W/CS/152/2015. EFCC had been served with the court processes since 20th of October 2015 but they refused to attend court on several occasions, or to file any court papers, only to appear for the first time on 30th November 2015 without filing anycourt papers. They even asked for the matter to be adjourned to 17th December 2015, the date they are now inviting me to appear before them.”

He stated that the anti-corruption agency invited him two months after he had sued them. He said he had informed the EFCC of his readiness to honor their invitation once the court rules on his own suit, adding that the agency seemed bent on harassing him through their “reminder of 9th December 2015,
which was leaked to the media on the 10th of December 2015, the
same day as it was delivered to my house in Warri.”

Tompolo noted that, “As a full blooded Ijaw man and citizen of Nigeria, I have done everything in my power to follow the laws of Nigeria. Since the amnesty declared in 2009 by [the] late President Yar’Adua I have strained myself to ensure that we all live in peace in this country. Those who think they can
push us to war must rethink the necessity of such a war.

“How can a law-abiding Government declare a man wanted who is in the law courts with them?“They froze our business accounts sinceAugust 4th 2015, but we have not quarreled with anybody. We sued them to court, they refused to come to court. Now they are threatening to declare me wanted.

“I know why they are after me. It is not the alleged multi-billion naira property transaction. After all, it went through due process and was approved by the Federal Executive Council (FEC). And as such if there are any questions to answer, it is the people at the FEC, Bureau of Public Procurement (BPP),
Federal Ministry of Lands and Survey, Federal Ministry of Transport, NIMASA, etc who approved the transaction that should be answering such questions.

“The real reason this All Progressive Congress (APC)-led Government is after me is that I bluntly refused to join APC and to support their Governorship candidate in Bayelsa State. We cannot all be in APC. Our people have always believed in the Nigerian project and had always hoped to join hands with this
administration to move this project forward, but the conditions being attached are not acceptable. I insist on believing in the Nigerian project unconditionally!
“We will continue to pursue our court case. The threat to declare me wanted is an unnecessary attempt to heat up the polity. I will go about my daily business, [as] usual.

“Finally, let me say this: if people can come from Sokoto, Katsina or Lagos to campaign in Bayelsa, why can’t I, a full-blooded Ijaw man, go to my Bayelsa to campaign? I will only add this: let the will of the people of Bayelsa prevail.
Nobody should attempt to force the outcome of the election. We have
kept faith with our promise to Nigeria, we expect no less from this country. So if anyone tells you that Tompolo is on the run, tell him Tompolo is not going anywhere.”

The High Chief is expected to appear at the EFCC training room on Thursday, December 17.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 13-12-2015 07:20 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Novic at 13-12-2015 07:59 AM (8 years ago)
Why cant u boundle yourself to Efcc, when you knw u are not on the run. u better go there and say wetin u knw.
Posted: at 13-12-2015 07:59 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 13-12-2015 08:04 AM (8 years ago)
If Chief TOMPOLO and reputable institution like EFCC are in court over the same matter, the EFCC, should respect the rule of law and wait the court's final jugement.
Posted: at 13-12-2015 08:04 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 13-12-2015 10:32 AM (8 years ago)
Mr go show your face jor!! stop hiding behind your iphone dey reply to EFCC......   those boys dey wait for u for IKOYI
Posted: at 13-12-2015 10:32 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Trueyarn at 13-12-2015 11:43 AM (8 years ago)
Tompolo,shut that ur dirty gutter called mouth,u be real klepto.
Posted: at 13-12-2015 11:43 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 13-12-2015 11:44 AM (8 years ago)
Hahahahhahaha the efcc should not do anything funny if this guy is innocent they better let him go because the title this man is bearing is too dangerous.
Posted: at 13-12-2015 11:44 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 13-12-2015 11:51 AM (8 years ago)
Ok sir just go hear them
Posted: at 13-12-2015 11:51 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dames at 13-12-2015 12:13 PM (8 years ago)
He's not on d run, run is on him...
Posted: at 13-12-2015 12:13 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DemmyBlack at 13-12-2015 02:34 PM (8 years ago)
You sold land worth billion? O'boy na your papa get Nigeria? Glad u didn't deny see how jonadaft ruin 9ja
Posted: at 13-12-2015 02:34 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- italianjob at 13-12-2015 02:47 PM (8 years ago)
This government is a military regime, Efcc refused to appear in the court on several occasions and now inviting you to their office, are they above the law?, like they refused to bail Nnamdi from jail contrary to the court order. What is buhari trying to tell Nigerians?. Enough of all these rubbish.
Posted: at 13-12-2015 02:47 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 13-12-2015 06:26 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmmm wen i talk now some faggot will say something else. EFCC!!!!!! hmmmm
Posted: at 13-12-2015 06:26 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- okuboye at 13-12-2015 10:03 PM (8 years ago)
Abeg go. Explain ur self
Posted: at 13-12-2015 10:03 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 14-12-2015 09:03 AM (8 years ago)
government has a point though. if they have earlier sued EFCC they ought to wait for the court's final ruling on the matter before proceeding with any invitation.
Posted: at 14-12-2015 09:03 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 14-12-2015 09:06 AM (8 years ago)
co. to think of it if FEC and other agencies approved the sale of the land where is the men's fault? possible there is oil in that land too
Posted: at 14-12-2015 09:06 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- akinmanchy at 14-12-2015 12:28 PM (8 years ago)
Alright...Over to u EFCC

Posted: at 14-12-2015 12:28 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- diezo at 14-12-2015 04:31 PM (8 years ago)
  يراقب الله !!!
Posted: at 14-12-2015 04:31 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickieponga at 14-12-2015 09:41 PM (8 years ago)
If u no run go honour dere invitation na...
Posted: at 14-12-2015 09:41 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 17-12-2015 11:17 AM (8 years ago)
den go meet dem nw
Posted: at 17-12-2015 11:17 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moralemike07 at 6-01-2016 10:38 AM (8 years ago)
This one is no go area.
Posted: at 6-01-2016 10:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac