Buhari Declares Free University Education For Science & Tech Students in the 2016 Budget

Date: 23-12-2015 3:52 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 23-12-2015 03:52 PM (9 years ago)

President Muhammadu Buhari while presenting the 2016 fiscal year budget has declared that there will be free education for science, technology and education students in tertiary institutions. “Furthermore, through the office of the Vice President, we are working with various development partners to design an implementable and transparent conditional cash transfer program for the poorest and most vulnerable.
“This program will be implemented in phases. Already, the compilation of registers of the poorest persons is ongoing.
“In the coming weeks, we will present the full programme which will include our home-grown public primary school feeding and free education for science, technology and education students in our tertiary institutions.
Indeed, this will mark a historic milestone for us as a nation”, President Buhari said. Buhari gave the assurance Tuesday while presenting the 2016 Appropriation Bill to a joint session of the National Assembly.

Posted: at 23-12-2015 03:52 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 23-12-2015 04:05 PM (9 years ago)
mmmmmmmm ok na we dey watch am
Posted: at 23-12-2015 04:05 PM (9 years ago) | Grande Master
- Giftous1 at 23-12-2015 04:35 PM (9 years ago)
if I hear say ehn....what of university's??? una never redeem the previous promises oh...more still they flow out....bubu,bubu bubu,,...uhmmmmm!!!
Posted: at 23-12-2015 04:35 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- joromy at 23-12-2015 05:39 PM (9 years ago)
GOOD NEWS MR PRESIDENT. ALMIGHTY GOD IS YOUR PROTECTION.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 05:39 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 23-12-2015 05:41 PM (9 years ago)
it should not be total free education......it should be subsidized education for practical /technological science based courses only.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 05:41 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 23-12-2015 06:00 PM (9 years ago)
Hmmm, why not all the universities? Now expect massive defection of people to science and technology uni from next year
Posted: at 23-12-2015 06:00 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 23-12-2015 06:45 PM (9 years ago)
This is very good from President Muhammadu Buhari this is what we Nigerians are looking forward for not just talking about it but let it be done.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 06:45 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- owolaborn at 23-12-2015 07:16 PM (9 years ago)
had this man been president since 1999, sufferness for no dey again
Posted: at 23-12-2015 07:16 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- SOGaiya at 23-12-2015 07:31 PM (9 years ago)
i hear
Posted: at 23-12-2015 07:31 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Novic at 23-12-2015 07:49 PM (9 years ago)
Some Fools we be saying buhari did not do anythn since he becm niger president. make una they see ham nw wetin the sure man they do and he will stil do more.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 07:49 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beautysharp at 23-12-2015 07:58 PM (9 years ago)
No comment til it's fulfilled
Posted: at 23-12-2015 07:58 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- jossy4reall at 23-12-2015 08:32 PM (9 years ago)
in as much as I appreciate that free education and will applaud Buhari for that if it eventually happen....abeg make person wey know Buhari warn am now make him no try dat "cash transfer program for the poorest and most vulnerable" cuz we all know the people wey go benefit from dat and dat na the reason wey he wan do am......why he no include for the budget dat campaign promise of #5000 payment for unemployed graduates?......the ansar is obvious

Posted: at 23-12-2015 08:32 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Anny01 at 23-12-2015 09:07 PM (9 years ago)
I dey una side but i hope say this free stuff no go carry hardship come, una go pay teachers,lectures and others in time,if yes; no problem ibaha o. 
Posted: at 23-12-2015 09:07 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 23-12-2015 09:11 PM (9 years ago)
i hope it happens, this is a good step, happy to hear this.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 09:11 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crocatum at 23-12-2015 09:55 PM (9 years ago)
Lets embrace the possibility of a an encompassing change that includes every person in this country, everyone should be a great huma resource, while teachers may get lower salary, it is important that they are paid very very well, although the burdens may consistently weigh on the government, the govt should make institutions, places that also generates their incomes, so that the weight is on the skills and intellectual ability of the institutions, should the instutions not also be production and be industrial, should the institutions not manufacture and be one with the industries.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 09:55 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 23-12-2015 10:03 PM (9 years ago)
Lets see
Posted: at 23-12-2015 10:03 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 23-12-2015 10:15 PM (9 years ago)
Nice move buhari,welldone.
Posted: at 23-12-2015 10:15 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- botlex at 23-12-2015 11:46 PM (9 years ago)
Nice one PMB. But, nah the transparent implementation of this one important pass
Posted: at 23-12-2015 11:46 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dleg at 24-12-2015 06:20 AM (9 years ago)
l dont support anything that is free. Some token should be paid for sense of commitment and dedication.
Good move but l think it should be subsidize. You can only appreciate more what you work and paid for than free
Posted: at 24-12-2015 06:20 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 24-12-2015 06:51 AM (9 years ago)
Quote from: Jossy Donald on 23-12-2015 08:32 PM
in as much as I appreciate that free education and will applaud Buhari for that if it eventually happen....abeg make person wey know Buhari warn am now make him no try dat "cash transfer program for the poorest and most vulnerable" cuz we all know the people wey go benefit from dat and dat na the reason wey he wan do am......why he no include for the budget dat campaign promise of #5000 payment for unemployed graduates?......the ansar is obvious
.   My broda u spoke my mind. We all know where d poorest come from and f region.
Posted: at 24-12-2015 06:51 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero