5 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Fifa Ballon D’or

Published On: January 11, 2016, 9:00 pm
Author: Mister Jay Wonder
-- (m) at 11-01-2016 09:00PM

(25392 | Addicted Hero)

FIFA’s annual award gala kicks off tonight as the world awaits who emerges the new football king. With Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi rekindling their rivalry, Neymar also hopes for what many will term a surprise emergence as the winner of the prestigious FIFA Ballon d’Or. Here are 5 things you might not know about this year’s FIFA Ballon d’Or ceremony…

(1) The Ballon d’Or ceremony started in 2010 after it was rebranded from the former name ‘World Footballer of the year’.

(2) In the past 5 editions, only Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Cristano Ronaldo of Real Madrid have won the award.

(3) Messi has won 3 editions (2010, 2011,2012) while Ronaldo won the last two editions in 2013 and 2014.

(4) With Ronaldo and Messi winning all previous editions, Spain is the only country whose clubs have players that have won the award.

(5) The aware’s ceremony, which is currently holding in Zurich, will also be crowning the Best Female Player while Pep Guardiola, Luis Enrique, Jorge Sampaoli go head-to-head for the Best Coach award.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

-- okatee (m) at 12-01-2016 01:13AM
(7638 | Hero)

-- emma4love3 (m) at 21-03-2016 07:58PM
(15079 | Hero)

ok thank you
-- morgrawl231 (m) at 3-04-2016 09:10AM
(10403 | Hero)

Messi all d way