University Student Commits Suicide After Finding Out She Had Bad Exam Results

Date: 27-01-2016 9:10 pm (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 27-01-2016 09:10 PM (8 years ago)

20 year old a Samantha Macdonald, a student of the University of Salford jumped to her death from her hall of residence (pictured above) after finding out her exam results weren’t good enough to follow her dream of becoming a research scientist. She told friends she wanted to get a first-class degree as part of her life’s ambition to make a difference as a top scientist, but the human biology undergraduate was left devastated after receiving a 2:2 in her second-year exams which she feared were not good enough.

Ms McDonald after a night out clubbing with friends jumped from her student apartment at the University, a security guard tried to revive her but she died from multiple injuries. After her death, police found a diary which contained a list of Ms MacDonald’s likes, dislikes and ambitions. It included the intention to complete a PhD, to find a cure for diabetes and to ‘make a difference’ in the world.

Her housemate and coursemate Emma Reid, who went out with Ms MacDonald on the night she died, said that she rarely noticed anything troubling her friend.  Her father also said that she had never spoke of feeling depressed and that her family tried to encourage her as much as possible:

”She was always a very hard-working girl but she never really got the grades that reflected her studies,’ he said. ‘She had a very strong interest in science and wanted to make a change in the world. She could not wait to get back to university as she had a good social life and enjoyed seeing her friends. ‘As far as we were aware she was very focused on completing her degree and working in science afterwards. We were so proud that she was making new friends and a life and a future for herself at university”, he said.

“She has never mentioned to us that she was feeling low or depressed and she has not given any indication to any of her family that she was feeling low or that she wanted to harm herself in any way.’ He added that the letters written to the family suggested she had intended to commit suicide. ‘In one letter she says she had written the letter 100 times. I don’t know if she intended doing this at the start of the night but maybe the reason she got drunk is maybe to go through with it. ‘One of the letters said she had been hiding her depression from us”,
he said.

Her house mate revealed that after they partied, they got a taxi back to their block of flats and were laughing and joking until Miss Reid went to bed at 4am. But, shortly afterwards, another flatmate Jasmin Lodge, who was up early to attend a nursing placement, heard movement from Ms MacDonald’s room followed by commotion outside the flats. She arrived downstairs at 5.40am to find a security guard giving Ms MacDonald chest compressions while awaiting paramedics.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 27-01-2016 09:10 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ennyolalekan at 27-01-2016 09:16 PM (8 years ago)
read u no read now u kill urself bkos of result..... I comment my reserve
Posted: at 27-01-2016 09:16 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 27-01-2016 09:18 PM (8 years ago)
only in usa
Posted: at 27-01-2016 09:18 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- winace at 27-01-2016 10:49 PM (8 years ago)
Na wa o. Oyibo pple sef.
Posted: at 27-01-2016 10:49 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- yebo15 at 27-01-2016 11:03 PM (8 years ago)
2:1 first class does not guarantee success in life except God has blessed you if not no result will give you success. The richest people in the world are not 2:1 or first class students but they have made a difference. I simply think its all lack of understanding.
Posted: at 27-01-2016 11:03 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- xsucces at 28-01-2016 12:51 AM (8 years ago)
person wey no read dey pass? when u dey waka up and down you no know say you go fail? well now don carry death over
Posted: at 28-01-2016 12:51 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- imaria at 28-01-2016 01:45 AM (8 years ago)
No matter what don't commit suicide because anyone who takes his/her life will face the punishment after death.
Posted: at 28-01-2016 01:45 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- imaria at 28-01-2016 01:45 AM (8 years ago)
No matter what don't commit suicide because anyone who takes his/her life will face the punishment after death.
Posted: at 28-01-2016 01:45 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 28-01-2016 05:02 AM (8 years ago)
hiNa waa 4 her
Posted: at 28-01-2016 05:02 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Trueyarn at 28-01-2016 06:37 AM (8 years ago)
Why nah babe?ok now go find the cure for diabetes for hell,why not meet any of ur lecturers and explain ur troubles to them.
Posted: at 28-01-2016 06:37 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 28-01-2016 11:41 AM (8 years ago)
Thinking she would get a better grade in heaven/hell. But sorry for you. RIP
Posted: at 28-01-2016 11:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DAMILARE100 at 28-01-2016 11:42 AM (8 years ago)
She must have been pushed by an evil spirit
Posted: at 28-01-2016 11:42 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 28-01-2016 12:12 PM (8 years ago)
suicide  is not the answer.  RIP
Posted: at 28-01-2016 12:12 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- diezo at 28-01-2016 01:40 PM (8 years ago)
U GET 2:2 U KILL URSELF IF U NO COME GET D CERTIFICATE BEFORE WETIN U FOR COME DO NO WORRY HOPE SAY U CARRY FIREWOOD, PETROL BECAUSE NA GO LIGHT PASS KEROSINE AND MATCHES BECAUSE EVEN DEVIL NO GO ADMIT U FOR HELL YEYE PIKIN DEM TRAIN U FINISH WEN DEM DEY EXPECT MAKE U GO HUSTLE COME DEY PAY BACK NA U DODGE ANYWAYS I NO GET ANYTHING I WAN TELL U EXCERPT PERSON NO WELL ANOTHER PERSON COME DEY TAKE TABLET FOR PERSON WEY NO WELL NA WHO NO COME WELL يراقب الله !!!
Posted: at 28-01-2016 01:40 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 29-01-2016 11:57 AM (8 years ago)
Only in the white man's country this crazy things can never happen here in Nigeria no matter the condition or occasion
Posted: at 29-01-2016 11:57 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Novic at 29-01-2016 05:20 PM (8 years ago)
U GET 2:2 U KILL URSELF IF U
NO COME GET D CERTIFICATE
BEFORE WETIN U FOR COME
DO NO WORRY HOPE SAY U
CARRY FIREWOOD, PETROL
BECAUSE NA GO LIGHT PASS KEROSINE AND MATCHES
BECAUSE EVEN DEVIL NO GO
ADMIT U FOR HELL YEYE PIKIN
DEM TRAIN U FINISH WEN DEM
DEY EXPECT MAKE U GO
HUSTLE COME DEY PAY BACK NA U DODGE ANYWAYS I NO
GET ANYTHING I WAN TELL U
EXCERPT PERSON NO WELL
ANOTHER PERSON COME DEY
TAKE TABLET FOR PERSON
WEY NO WELL NA WHO NO COME WELL ﻳ
Posted: at 29-01-2016 05:20 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 31-01-2016 08:27 PM (8 years ago)
The richest people in the world are not 2:1 or first class students but they have made a difference.
Posted: at 31-01-2016 08:27 PM (8 years ago) | Hero