Woman Dies While Struggling For A Share Of N1m Akwa Ibom State Governor Gave To Women

Date: 03-02-2016 1:42 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 3-02-2016 01:42 PM (8 years ago)

A 41-year-old food seller, Mrs. Lizzy Offiong, has died while struggling for a share of the N1m the Akwa Ibom State Governor, Mr. Udom Emmanuel, gave to Mbiaobong market women.
It was learnt that the woman, who sold food around the streets of Uyo in the morning, was returning from a church programme on Saturday when she decided to stop at the market to buy food items.

Her husband, Mr. Gabriel Dick, from Aka Ekpeme, in Ikono Local Government Area, told the reporters in Uyo on Tuesday that his wife only went to the market to buy food items, but did not know how she became involved with the governor’s money.
According to him, when the governor arrived at the market, he told the women that he was going to give them N1m to share among themselves.

He added that immediately the governor handed the money over to the market leader, Mrs. Edemawang Udo, and left, the market was thrown into chaos.
Dick stated that few minutes before 8pm, he was alerted that his wife had been rushed to St. Luke Hospital, Anua, Uyo, adding that Offiong was transferred to the University of Uyo Teaching Hospital, after six hours of treatment at St. Luke Hospital without improvement.

husband of the victim and sympathisers
“My wife was in the market to buy food items. When the governor arrived at the market, he asked for the market leader so that he could give them N1m to share among themselves.

“Then Emmanuel handed the money over to the elderly woman and instructed her to share it with the other women and then left. So, the women themselves began to drag the elderly woman to share the money, but from what I heard, there was confusion all over the place.

“So, the old woman was dragged here and there, and as I learnt, I did not know how the money got into my wife’s hand, before men and other women ramped into her, pushed her into the gutter and matched on her. And before anyone could realise what had happened, she had gone into coma,”
he said.

The leader of the market women identified as Edemawang Udo, 65, said she was there when people fell on her and pushed her into the gutter, stressing that she had injuries especially on her waist as a result.

woman market leader, Udo
Udo said when Emmanuel came, he sent for her and she abandoned what she was doing to meet the governor, explaining that the governor gave her N1m to share with other market women.

She said, “A young man who stood nearby came to collect the money from me, but when a policeman asked if he was my son, I said no. So, immediately I took the money to my stall, other women ran up to me to seize the money; and before you know, men selling beef, overpowered all of us and collected the money.

“I was trampled on and thrown into the gutter; and since then, I have just come to the market. I’ve not seen a kobo of the money the governor gave to us. I don’t know if there was anybody who suffered the way I did.”

The state Police Public Relations Officer, Cordelia Nwawe, said the police was not aware of the incident.

Posted: at 3-02-2016 01:42 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- rashjr at 3-02-2016 01:50 PM (8 years ago)
O my God! See what poverty has just caused. . . . The government should change the tactic of giving money to the woman to ensure that something of this nature won't arise again. . . . #R.I.P WOman
Posted: at 3-02-2016 01:50 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ennyolalekan at 3-02-2016 01:50 PM (8 years ago)
poverty of d highest order... wat could 1m do for d market woman in dat hood after dey might have share it.. RIP to d dead.
Posted: at 3-02-2016 01:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 3-02-2016 02:04 PM (8 years ago)
Poverty and greediness.......
Posted: at 3-02-2016 02:04 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- concentrate at 3-02-2016 02:10 PM (8 years ago)
r.i.p
Posted: at 3-02-2016 02:10 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 3-02-2016 02:11 PM (8 years ago)
Poverty.
Posted: at 3-02-2016 02:11 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ujmaria at 3-02-2016 02:13 PM (8 years ago)
Who send her, see were the story don land,
Posted: at 3-02-2016 02:13 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- willyking at 3-02-2016 02:50 PM (8 years ago)
RIP These wicked people with their ritual money
Posted: at 3-02-2016 02:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 3-02-2016 03:35 PM (8 years ago)
Dis is madness. D woman leader shld have called all her executives immediately and they agreed on how to share d money. Dat means there's no discipline in dat market like Lagos market. Dis can't happen in Lagos market at all.
Posted: at 3-02-2016 03:35 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 3-02-2016 04:31 PM (8 years ago)
Chaaii,afufu uwa!,RIp,poverty @ de highest order.
Posted: at 3-02-2016 04:31 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 3-02-2016 04:34 PM (8 years ago)
1m to all market woman in the village the governor must be mad. And poverty is really in the village
Posted: at 3-02-2016 04:34 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Trueyarn at 3-02-2016 04:37 PM (8 years ago)
Chai I weep for the poor masses,how much is 1million naira compare to a life,see wetin poverty and the stupidity of the governor don cause?instead of creating loan scheme where this market women can go  for loan,he dey carry money give them for hand. make them share that money 1k he no go go round the market.
Posted: at 3-02-2016 04:37 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Powerfulify at 3-02-2016 05:04 PM (8 years ago)
De governor cause all dis nonsense, how can he give cash 2 market women 2 share? How much did he think that each person will get?
Posted: at 3-02-2016 05:04 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- favuman at 3-02-2016 05:22 PM (8 years ago)
how much is 1million naira compare to a life,see wetin poverty and the stupidity of the governor don cause
Posted: at 3-02-2016 05:22 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 3-02-2016 05:56 PM (8 years ago)
an ignoramus of a governor
Posted: at 3-02-2016 05:56 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- akinmanchy at 3-02-2016 08:09 PM (8 years ago)
The handiwork of poverty, RIP madam

Posted: at 3-02-2016 08:09 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Mopera at 3-02-2016 10:01 PM (8 years ago)
how much is 1million naira
compare to a life,see wetin poverty
and the stupidity of the governor
don cause?instead of creating loan
scheme where this market women can go  for loan,he dey carry
money give them for hand. make
them share that money 1k he no
go round everybody, na poverty they worry this people.
Posted: at 3-02-2016 10:01 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- princedafe at 4-02-2016 01:27 AM (8 years ago)
Another senseless poverty case
Posted: at 4-02-2016 01:27 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- princedafe at 4-02-2016 01:28 AM (8 years ago)
Another senseless poverty case
Posted: at 4-02-2016 01:28 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AmazingMarie at 4-02-2016 08:52 AM (8 years ago)
how can people be so unruly and greedy see now
Posted: at 4-02-2016 08:52 AM (8 years ago) | Hero