FG Close Down Yabatech After Violent Student Protest Enter Second Day (Photos)

Date: 11-02-2016 6:12 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 11-02-2016 06:12 PM (9 years ago)
It has been ‘war’ in Yabatech ever since 27-year old final year student, Dazan Charity died in the school medical centre yesterday. According to her friends, Dazan was very ill but the people at the school’s medical centre asked them to go and bring N35,000. According to the students, none of them had that kind of money and questioned why they must pay such an amount in the first place. When there was no way forward, the students had to run around to get the list of medications written for them by some of the staff at the medical centre, which includes drugs and drips. But sadly, Dazan who lost her father not too long ago and her mother lying ill in their home town passed away.

This made students flare up and said the school medical centre is used to demanding money from students and sometimes not give them proper medical attention. They however asked that the medical centre be eradicated or the centre be probed on why they don’t have the facilities they should. Continue...

This however led to a long protest and the school management then issued a notice asking every student to go home for four weeks but the students feel four weeks might led to 6 months and refused to leave the school premises. Fast forward to this morning, the protest continued as some students marched to the school gates, locked them up and said no one will be allowed to go out, except they want to come in.

Sensing they can’t handle the situation, the school management invited policemen who came in with four vehicles but the students were quick to warn them, saying ‘if you teargas us, we will throw you stones’.
The situation is still very tensed at the moment but police officers are speaking with students to let peace reign as they insist they open the school gates for those who want to go home. More photos below…

Posted: at 11-02-2016 06:12 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ennyolalekan at 11-02-2016 06:51 PM (9 years ago)
hahahahha. FG dey talk una dey brag.... how dare u. if dem born unah well stay dere till Monday.

Lagos tout dem

Posted: at 11-02-2016 06:51 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 11-02-2016 07:02 PM (9 years ago)
keep going strong students!! no mind those stupid boys in ABUJA called FG
Posted: at 11-02-2016 07:02 PM (9 years ago) | Grande Master
- rashjr at 11-02-2016 07:09 PM (9 years ago)
Na hot thunder go fire those government...... #sobbing
Posted: at 11-02-2016 07:09 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- concentrate at 11-02-2016 07:10 PM (9 years ago)
At least until sanity is restored
Posted: at 11-02-2016 07:10 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 11-02-2016 07:34 PM (9 years ago)
I still blame d student for d death of dat lady cus if d medical centre is demanding such amount, At back of yabatech is military medical centre called Mahyon barrack. On of d best hospital in Lagos state. They shld have rush her there. It does not need car, cab or bike. Its jt at d back of d school. We all know all university hospitals has turn killer zone. Now school has been closed. I trust yaba student they don't walk alone. Unilag na their right hand paddy. Dats d school I finish from so I know it very well.
Posted: at 11-02-2016 07:34 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Trueyarn at 11-02-2016 08:21 PM (9 years ago)
Yaba management make una listen and do wetin those students want because them no go hear una,after wasting one of them you still have the mind asking them to go home. the both of you should just come to conclusion...
Posted: at 11-02-2016 08:21 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Mopera at 11-02-2016 09:31 PM (9 years ago)
if d medical centre
is demanding such amount, At
back of yabatech is military
medical centre called Mahyon
barrack. On of d best hospital in Lagos state. They shld have rush
her there. It does not need car,
cab or bike. Its jt at d back of d
school. We all know all university
hospitals has turn killer zone.
Now school has been closed. I trust yaba student they don't walk
alone. Unilag na their right hand
paddy. Dats d school I finish
from so I know it very well.
Posted: at 11-02-2016 09:31 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 11-02-2016 10:13 PM (9 years ago)
Nawaoo,yabatech authorities una don achieve una aim,Students abeg make una stop the protest thou I know how it pains to loose a colleaque at such a young age,just keep praying for her soul,RIP.
Posted: at 11-02-2016 10:13 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 11-02-2016 11:20 PM (9 years ago)
FG ought to look into the matter before closing the school. The students must be right somehow
Posted: at 11-02-2016 11:20 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- yebo15 at 11-02-2016 11:27 PM (9 years ago)
Nigeria school at their best.
Posted: at 11-02-2016 11:27 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- kp45 at 11-02-2016 11:36 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 11-02-2016 11:36 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lilchuks28 at 11-02-2016 11:50 PM (9 years ago)
how will a sch medical center demand for money before administering treatment to a student? the head of that health unit must be held responsible for the death of that student.

students is your right to protest and I believe your main objective of embarking on this protest is to let the govt know of your predicaments and believe me, you guys have succeeded in doing that so staying around in the sch while the sch authority have closed down academic activities, won't Solve anything...
Posted: at 11-02-2016 11:50 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- emma4love3 at 12-02-2016 03:21 AM (9 years ago)
the authorities if that school errrh
don see student in action.they wil continue
until that attention wil come to them....
they shuld give them good medical service u cant take the students money and u dnt give them good medical service
Posted: at 12-02-2016 03:21 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- ujmaria at 12-02-2016 07:10 AM (9 years ago)
I support u guys in this protest, but let it be a peaceful one
Posted: at 12-02-2016 07:10 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 12-02-2016 08:29 AM (9 years ago)
The students should also be blamed for her death. We all know how poor most schools medical system are, we also know how nonchalant the nurses at the school medical system can be when it comes to situation like that so why didn't they make effort t rush her to a nearby medical center or private hospital? They just would have made that effort and leave the issue of money out first. I advise them to stop all these demonstration and go back to school. They are doing themselves, killing their future and nit that of the Govt. When they strike consistently and graduate at 30, even if they have the best results in this world, no good organization will be willing to employ them at entry level at 30. They should think and be wise. Cut off for entry level for most good organization is 26. May the soul of the girl RIP
Posted: at 12-02-2016 08:29 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 12-02-2016 08:15 PM (9 years ago)
O Lord how can a higher institution medical center not be able to promptly save the life of a student or is the facility for decoration?
Posted: at 12-02-2016 08:15 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- AmazingMarie at 12-02-2016 08:18 PM (9 years ago)
RIP this student may have been alive these are stories that cannot happen in the developed world. yet some few public officer have billions hidden in their soak away or tanks. God have mercy on us.
Posted: at 12-02-2016 08:18 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- okatee at 12-02-2016 11:28 PM (9 years ago)
DIS VERY SAD ND A BAD ONE FR ALL D MEDICAL STAFFS IN DAT SKUL. D STUDENTZ SHUD SUE DOSE MEDICAL STAFF.
Posted: at 12-02-2016 11:28 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eazyatumeyi at 13-02-2016 09:17 AM (9 years ago)
I support the students, make una stand una ground.
Posted: at 13-02-2016 09:17 AM (9 years ago) | Hero