Hajiya Fati Koko, popularly called Maitalla Tara, the 95-year-old woman who donated N1 million out of her business savings to Muhammadu Buhari's presidential campaign, is dead. President Muhammadu Buhari on Saturday mourned her death.
Presidential spokesman, Mr Femi Adesina, said in a statementthat Buhari mourned Koko, who had waited nine hours in Kebbi early last year to donate the money to him as the then presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC).
Adesina quoted President Buhari as describing her as "a woman with a good heart, who stood by her convictions, and gave sacrificially."
He said Hajiya Koko offered virtually her life's savings to Buhari then, saying the deceased admired the president's honesty,discipline and stand for truth.
The presidential aide said while receiving the news of her passage, Buhari commended Koko's conviction and sacrificial giving, urging Nigerians to learn vital lessons from her life. "She gave practically all she had towards our campaign. Though well advanced in age, she still believed a new Nigeria was possible, and followed her conviction with action.
Whatgenerosity of spirit and what tenacious faith in her mother land. Nigerians, old and young, have a lot to learn from her," Buhari said.
The president condoled with the family and relations of the departed and urged them to take solace in the fact that their matriarch lived to a ripe old age, "and she saw the beginning of the change she had long yearned for. The onus is now on all of us to ensure that the change gets entrenched and solidified for even generations yet unborn to benefit from." For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals
I have been reporting on latest news from Nigeria for almost 10 years now. I report on every possible news area I come across, but always ensure my reports are compiled with dignity and fact to uphold my personal values and duty as a journalist
Posted: at 13-02-2016 09:16 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
RIP mama. May God rest your soul. Certainly, a new Nigeria devoid of corruption, nepotism, joblessness, impunity, religious and tribalistic bigotry, etc is possible. I believe that whilst we are not there yet, we have taken the first step. I believe that the solutions to our problems lies within and we can fix Nigeria. We can achieve what we set out to do. The real People's power is now possible. God bless Nigeria.
Posted: at 13-02-2016 09:45 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
RIP mama. May God rest your soul. Certainly, a new Nigeria devoid of corruption, nepotism, joblessness, impunity, religious and tribalistic bigotry, etc is possible. I believe that whilst we are not there yet, we have taken the first step. I believe that the solutions to our problems lies within and we can fix Nigeria. We can achieve what we set out to do. The real People's power is now possible. God bless Nigeria.
Posted: at 13-02-2016 09:45 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
zezprincess at 13-02-2016 10:58 PM (9 years ago) (f)
RIP mama koko,oya buhari no be only sending condolence message to the family,show your love to the woman's children or even grandchildren,those dat need job,give them.
Posted: at 13-02-2016 10:58 PM (9 years ago) | Hero