Mother Teresa will be canonised a saint in September the Vatican confirms as Pope Francis has issued a decree. She will be declared a saint of the Roman Catholic on 4 September, a day before her 19th death anniversary.
The pontiff gave his final approval during a meeting of cardinals in the Vatican's Apostolic Palace. Four others were also considered by the panel during the gathering on 15 March but Mother Teresa was the only high-profile candidate.
It is unclear where the canonisation ceremony will take place, but according to IB Times Uk, a separate event is expected in Kolkata, India, where she spent most part of her adult life. The Catholic church in India has requested the pontiff to hold the canonisation event in India but it appears unlikely.
Earlier in December,Pope Francis cleared the way for the sainthood for the Albanian nun, citing the healing of a Brazilian man who had brain infection and kidney disorder. A "medical" miracle is mandatory for the Catholic church to bestow sainthood on anyone.
Mother Teresa was beatified, the first step toward sainthood, in 2003 by the then Pope John Paul. The event was attended by 300,000 pilgrims. Mother Teresa was awarded the Nobel peace prize in 1979 for her selfless service in the slums of Kolkata, formerly Calcutta, to improve living conditions.
She is better known for her ceaseless work for the destitute, the leprosy-stricken and those living on the margins of society.
Born in 1910, Mother Teresa died at the age of 87 in 1997.
I have been reporting for several years now and I am very interested in visual news reportage with strong inclusion of photos and video multimedia.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 06:55 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
Too many olodos..it means that if a high profile catholic dies,and during his/her death ,,a miracle occurs around their grave,d person will be made a saint
Posted: at 16-03-2016 09:59 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
emma4love3 at 16-03-2016 10:00 AM (9 years ago) (m)
well it means that she wil be called saint... that is saint Teresa or saint mother Teresa...just like the other saints...like saint john saint jude saint micheal....well is good at least here in nigeria we have saint Tansi...
Posted: at 16-03-2016 10:00 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
well it means that she wil be called saint... that is saint Teresa or saint mother Teresa...just like the other saints...like saint john saint jude saint micheal....well is good at least here in nigeria we have saint Tansi...
Am stil confuse ooo,oly saint saint I jus da hear
Posted: at 16-03-2016 11:09 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
BournIdentity at 16-03-2016 11:12 AM (9 years ago) (m)
Quote from: Michael on 16-03-2016 09:59 AM
Too many olodos..it means that if a high profile catholic dies,and during his/her death ,,a miracle occurs around their grave,d person will be made a saint
I beg mumuni,,, na who b d olodo? Even wen oga patapata at d top die,, e dirty imsef n after many yrs, we no hear say dem go make am saint 4 im grave. So she don big pass Jesus abi? If u no no,,, mumu mumuni, na so witches and wizards take start for my area.... Una b winch n wizards BT olodority olodo like u no go no
Posted: at 16-03-2016 11:12 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
Quote from: Bourne Identity on 16-03-2016 11:12 AM
I beg mumuni,,, na who b d olodo? Even wen oga patapata at d top die,, e dirty imsef n after many yrs, we no hear say dem go make am saint 4 im grave. So she don big pass Jesus abi? If u no no,,, mumu mumuni, na so witches and wizards take start for my area.... Una b winch n wizards BT olodority olodo like u no go no
. Lol,I can see u are still swimming in ignorance.. Olodo
Posted: at 16-03-2016 11:40 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
samdove28 at 16-03-2016 12:43 PM (9 years ago) (m)
Quote from: Emma Uchenna on 16-03-2016 10:00 AM
Lol.... you are saying my mind.
Posted: at 16-03-2016 12:43 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac