Six-month Blackout Forces Estate Residents To Fetch Stream Water In Ogun State

Date: 29-03-2016 6:14 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 29-03-2016 06:14 AM (8 years ago)

Residents of Yotomi Golden Estate along the Ofada-Owode Road, Mowe, Ogun State, say life has been made difficult by a six-month power outage in the area.

Things got so bad they were forced to fetch water from a stream near the estate.

PUNCH Metro learnt that since October, 2015, when the estate’s only transformer was vandalised by hoodlums, power had been cut off from the area, which also affected water supply.

As a result of the ongoing fuel scarcity, residents who had generators joined others to fetch water
from the stream, while almost all the houses were presently in total darkness.

PUNCH Metro had reported on October 29, 2015, that the Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company, which served the estate, allegedly disconnected the community when they protested against poor power supply to the area.

It was reported that the then IBEDC Owode Service Unit Manager, Kola Olanipekun, received a delegation from the estate which demanded improved power supply in the area.

A week after the meeting, the transformer supplying power to the estate was vandalised by unidentified persons, and the estate had been in total blackout since then.

The transformer was punctured, while its oil was drained.

The estate executive wrote to the IBEDC to request a new transformer, after which they got a reply that the company would supply it soon.

In the reply letter dated, February 24, which was obtained by PUNCH Metro, the IBEDC Regional Technical Manager, Akin Abiodun, said the estate’s request would be given adequate attention.

The letter read in part:
 “This is to acknowledge your letter, dated February 5, on the replacement of the vandalised transformer, and this is to inform you that your request is receiving adequate attention and the outcome would be communicated to you soonest.”
The estate, however, had yet to hear from IBEDC since February.

Speaking with PUNCH Metro, a resident, Akande Oladele, who is also a member of the electrical committee, said the estate decided to task residents a sum of N20,000 for a new transformer, but most residents could not afford the sum.

He said:
 “A week after the newspaper report, some hoodlums came to vandalise our transformer. They punctured it and drained all the oil. That was in October. We contributed N600 per house to buy new oil and poured it into the transformer. It was then we discovered it had been punctured.

“Our estate has not had light since that October. Some of our executive members went to IBEDC headquarters to complain, and we got a response that we would be given a new transformer.

“When it was not forthcoming, we started to contribute. Each resident was asked to pay N20,000. Some have paid the money, but others are kicking against it. We have done everything we can to get power restored, but there is no result.”

Another Resident, a lawyer, Ojetunji Ojekunle, said,
 “From October 2015, it has not been easy for us here. We generate our power from generators, including pumping water. Not everyone can afford that. Some residents fetch water from a river here.

“The IBEDC has promised to give us a new transformer, but we have not got the promised equipment. The landlords’ association came up with the contribution of N20,000 for the transformer, but the money is not forthcoming.

“The Owode Service Unit, which supplies power, is aware that we are contributing for a new transformer and they still have not done anything to stop it.”
Punch was taken to the vandalised transformer and they observed that the equipment had begun to rust and overgrown with weeds.

A woman, who gave her name only as Sola, said some children in the estate now had rashes from the side effects of the use of stream water.

She said:
“In this estate, we have pensioners, petty traders and others. How can you expect these people to cough out N20,000 for a new transformer? Most of them pay less than N5,000 monthly as rent.

“That is why we are begging the IBEDC to restore power here. We celebrated Christmas and Easter in darkness. Those who have generators cannot use them again because of  fuel scarcity.”

The Owode Service Unit Manager, Mr. Abiodun Shobayo, said the issue of power supply to the estate had gone beyond him, adding that the unit had yet to receive any transformer from the headquarters for the estate.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 29-03-2016 06:14 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- willyking at 29-03-2016 06:43 AM (8 years ago)
mmmm what a change
Posted: at 29-03-2016 06:43 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emma4love3 at 29-03-2016 07:06 AM (8 years ago)
No na you cant call that kind place estate
again is now a village community..becos
real estate must have backup power...
Posted: at 29-03-2016 07:06 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 29-03-2016 07:40 AM (8 years ago)
Na wa o
Posted: at 29-03-2016 07:40 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgrawl231 at 29-03-2016 07:55 AM (8 years ago)
uhmmmm!!!! naija i dey hail oo
Posted: at 29-03-2016 07:55 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ngfineface at 29-03-2016 08:39 AM (8 years ago)
And yet Nepa will be bringing rubbish and annoying bills
Posted: at 29-03-2016 08:39 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- slimmygal at 29-03-2016 09:00 AM (8 years ago)
e be like say dem no get soldiers for dat estate to go give dem ibedc correct beating of dre life. na instantly dem go organize another transformer for them.
Posted: at 29-03-2016 09:00 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 29-03-2016 09:27 AM (8 years ago)
And when soldier dey beat them well well people go say soldier dey misused power
Posted: at 29-03-2016 09:27 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- Eazyatumeyi at 29-03-2016 10:24 AM (8 years ago)
una own na six months abi our own estate no dey use NEPA again o, na Solar, na well we dey fetch after those bastard criminals come destroy our transformer fortunately for us and unfortunately for the thief we come catch one of them, we pane beat the bastard no be small.
Posted: at 29-03-2016 10:24 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zezprincess at 29-03-2016 10:36 AM (8 years ago)
Dats power holdings for younthey really know how to peppe people,day in,day out,Rubbish.
Posted: at 29-03-2016 10:36 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Sparky12 at 29-03-2016 11:42 PM (8 years ago)
#en good
Posted: at 29-03-2016 11:42 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- imaria at 29-03-2016 11:50 PM (8 years ago)
Ok I'm passing by
Posted: at 29-03-2016 11:50 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 30-03-2016 04:45 AM (8 years ago)
Too funny the government can't afford a transformer for this people
Posted: at 30-03-2016 04:45 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 30-03-2016 04:46 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: precious Micheal on 29-03-2016 10:36 AM
Dats power holdings for younthey really know how to peppe people,day in,day out,Rubbish.

I don't like their attitude
Posted: at 30-03-2016 04:46 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 30-03-2016 04:46 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Timothy Eazy on 29-03-2016 10:24 AM
una own na six months abi our own estate no dey use NEPA again o, na Solar, na well we dey fetch after those bastard criminals come destroy our transformer fortunately for us and unfortunately for the thief we come catch one of them, we pane beat the bastard no be small.

Hahaha funny boy
Posted: at 30-03-2016 04:46 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 30-03-2016 04:47 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: mr gogo on 29-03-2016 09:27 AM
And when soldier dey beat them well well people go say soldier dey misused power

Everybody are angry with them
Posted: at 30-03-2016 04:47 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 30-03-2016 04:47 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: sanusi modele on 29-03-2016 09:00 AM
e be like say dem no get soldiers for dat estate to go give dem ibedc correct beating of dre life. na instantly dem go organize another transformer for them.

That will never bring change
Posted: at 30-03-2016 04:47 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 30-03-2016 04:48 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: ngfineface on 29-03-2016 08:39 AM
And yet Nepa will be bringing rubbish and annoying bills

That is the most annoying part
Posted: at 30-03-2016 04:48 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 30-03-2016 08:01 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: oworen obong on 30-03-2016 04:45 AM
Too funny the government can't afford a transformer for this people
...why not
Posted: at 30-03-2016 08:01 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- emma4love3 at 30-03-2016 08:03 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: precious Micheal on 29-03-2016 10:36 AM
...GBAM no wahala
Posted: at 30-03-2016 08:03 AM (8 years ago) | Hero