Dalung Disclose What Transpired During His Meeting With Niger Delta Avengers

Date: 18-07-2016 12:08 pm (8 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 18-07-2016 12:08 PM (8 years ago)

Minister of Youths and Sports, Solomon Dalung, has disclosed details of his discreet meeting with the Niger Delta Avengers (NDA).
Dalung said he traveled to Oporoza in Gbaramatu kingdom in Delta State last Wednesday for a face to face chat with the agitators as part of the federal government’s commitment to ending bombing of oil installations in the region.

Dalung told newsmen at the end of a stakeholders’ meeting of the Southern senatorial zone of Plateau State, that he took a two-hour journey to the creeks via the sea.
He said:
“As youth minister, I know that the Avengers are mostly youths who have potentials to be great citizens of this country.”
“On reaching the community after the two-hour journey on the high sea, I met with the members of the communities who told me that their dream was to be included in the Nigerian project, that the education facilities and other basic social amenities are almost non-existent in the communities. They also raised concern of incessant attacks by the Nigerian Military.”

Dalung recalled that after meeting with the communities, he was escorted by the Niger Delta ambassadors to the leadership of Avengers who gave him a hand-written letter specifying their demands which he said he was yet to present to President Muhammadu Buhari.

He said he has not open the letter but that the Avengers had raised three important issues to him.
“The issues include the Niger-Delta Maritime University, pipeline community policing which they said the government had denied them, and the inability of the government to continue with the amnesty programme established by former President Umaru Musa Yarádua Yar’Adua.”

He lamented what he saw while there, saying the level of degradation in Niger-Delta communities was disturbing.

“After going round some of the communities, I noticed that government projects were almost non-existent. I saw a secondary school signboard somewhere but the school is yet to be developed, the community has a clinic but still at the foundation level and a borehole that is not functional.”

Posted: at 18-07-2016 12:08 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Kennycynth at 18-07-2016 12:14 PM (8 years ago)
pls tell them oooh
Posted: at 18-07-2016 12:14 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- GermoDon at 18-07-2016 12:17 PM (8 years ago)
abi o
Posted: at 18-07-2016 12:17 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 18-07-2016 12:25 PM (8 years ago)
You see the problem, them go dey go abroad for treatment and dey send their children abroad for school and dsame treatment while where the money came from is almost a forest without no school ,water or hospital, our leaders are evils and wicked
Posted: at 18-07-2016 12:25 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 18-07-2016 12:32 PM (8 years ago)
Govt should start developing that area as a matter of urgency,to cut all d long story short period.
Posted: at 18-07-2016 12:32 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 18-07-2016 01:25 PM (8 years ago)
i just dey look una
Posted: at 18-07-2016 01:25 PM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- EDDYPRINCE at 18-07-2016 02:15 PM (8 years ago)
OBSERVING U GUYS
Posted: at 18-07-2016 02:15 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- zezprincess at 18-07-2016 02:18 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmm,buha go soon sack&replace you.
Posted: at 18-07-2016 02:18 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 18-07-2016 02:23 PM (8 years ago)
MAKE DEM HEAR,,,,,
Posted: at 18-07-2016 02:23 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 18-07-2016 02:31 PM (8 years ago)
The 2016 budget for the NDDC as approved by  President Muhammadu Buhari is N241.1 billion,

The breakdown of the budget includes N212.2 billion for development projects;    N1.3 billion as internal capital expenditure; N9.980 billion overhead expenditure and N17.560 billion personnel expenditure.

the Managing Director Sir Dan Abia listed some of the achievements of the NDDC in the last year  He said that the commission empowered 500 youths through the skills acquisition programme and equally empowered 500 women who were trained as traditional birth attendants.

he said that about 550 kilometres of asphalted roads were completed in various parts of the region, while 4 new 500-bed hostel complexes were handed over to 4 universities in the Niger Delta.

he said: “We trained over 2,000 young men and women across the region in agricultural methods and provided them with farming starter kits for fishery, snail keeping, cassava, rice and animal rearing.”

they seems to be doing something useful over there.
Posted: at 18-07-2016 02:31 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- CHRISETTE at 18-07-2016 03:52 PM (8 years ago)
Osarobo don't be deceived
Posted: at 18-07-2016 03:52 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 18-07-2016 04:12 PM (8 years ago)
Observing things activated.
Posted: at 18-07-2016 04:12 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kison at 18-07-2016 05:32 PM (8 years ago)
Y'ALL BETTER be careful, be very very careful, CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 18-07-2016 05:32 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- dickieponga at 18-07-2016 06:00 PM (8 years ago)
And wats d outcome of ur conversation..?
Posted: at 18-07-2016 06:00 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- osarobo62 at 18-07-2016 08:31 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: CHRISETTE on 18-07-2016 03:52 PM
Osarobo don't be deceived
i just quoted what the managing director said.....so if he is lying, he was appointed by Jonathan.
Posted: at 18-07-2016 08:31 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- zoe61 at 18-07-2016 08:37 PM (8 years ago)
national cake should be equl right to all
Posted: at 18-07-2016 08:37 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 18-07-2016 09:25 PM (8 years ago)
And uvsay they shld not bomb d facilities?Huh? Thank GOD u went there to see things for ur self. U pple eat d money up north and expect them to sit and watch. Wat is d north contributing to d country, NOTHING.
Posted: at 18-07-2016 09:25 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- scottchris at 19-07-2016 12:00 AM (8 years ago)
I served in bayelsa....  Truly FG neglected these regions like dey are not Nigerians,  and to think that the crude oil we pride on comes from these places..... FG do something oo

Posted: at 19-07-2016 12:00 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Otikadinje at 19-07-2016 10:31 PM (8 years ago)
All these is just repetition, we already know you know why not do the needfull fast Grin

Posted: at 19-07-2016 10:31 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- okatee at 21-07-2016 03:56 PM (8 years ago)
D GOVT SHUD GO TO DEIR AIDX
Posted: at 21-07-2016 03:56 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac