FRSC To Enforce Use of Speed Limiting Device From October 1, 2016

Date: 11-08-2016 6:27 am (7 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 11-08-2016 06:27 AM (7 years ago)

The Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC) on Wednesday said that the presidency had approved October 1 for the commencement of implementation and enforcement of the Speed Limiting Device.

Dr. Boboye Oyeyemi, the Corps Marshal, FRSC, disclosed this in Abuja while briefing stakeholders on the new date for the implementation and enforcement of the device.

Oyeyemi said that the implementation and enforcement of the device witnessed four postponements from its initial launching date of June 1, 2015, before its final approval by the presidency.

“The final directive from the presidency is clear; the enforcement date for the implementation of the speed limiting device is on Oct. 1 and we have had series of stakeholders meeting.

The essence of today’s meeting is to finally convey the directive of the federal government to the stakeholders that with effect from October 1, the implementation and enforcement would commence.

We already have the portal that we will use to monitor this, we don’t need to pursue any vehicle, we will just stop you like we verify licence.

On the tablet we will check whether your vehicle has been installed with the device, if it has not, we will impound the vehicle and we make sure that you do the right thing.

We are not talking about fines now ,it’s to save lives so we will impound the vehicle then the owner of the vehicle will be made to install the device before the journey continues,” he said.

Oyeyemi said that the corps would do this for the next three to six months to achieve enforcement and compliance so as to compel commercial vehicles to install the device.

He said the FRSC was only concerned about commercial vehicles installing it for now, adding that with time the enforcement would extend to private vehicles so as to cut down crashes on the road.

He said the FRSC was relentless on the enforcement of the speed limiting device because speed had been identified as a key risk factor in road traffic injuries.

Posted: at 11-08-2016 06:27 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Kennycynth at 11-08-2016 06:36 AM (7 years ago)
dats a good ideal
Posted: at 11-08-2016 06:36 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- GermoDon at 11-08-2016 06:54 AM (7 years ago)
as long as its sport most accident on d highway no problem
Posted: at 11-08-2016 06:54 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kingcalors at 11-08-2016 07:27 AM (7 years ago)
Good Thinking, Good Product
Posted: at 11-08-2016 07:27 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- leonardi at 11-08-2016 08:25 AM (7 years ago)
Our roads are bad is the issue. I don't like the speed limit device cos driving will become boring especially when travelling long journeys. Na flight I go just dey manage take.
Posted: at 11-08-2016 08:25 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- botlex at 11-08-2016 08:55 AM (7 years ago)
Good one there by the FRSC
Posted: at 11-08-2016 08:55 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mykie010 at 11-08-2016 10:09 AM (7 years ago)
They should also put speed limits signs on d road.
Posted: at 11-08-2016 10:09 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 11-08-2016 10:21 AM (7 years ago)
We don hear
Posted: at 11-08-2016 10:21 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- clarajancita at 11-08-2016 10:51 AM (7 years ago)

The Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC) has said it will form October 1, 2016 begin the implementation and enforcement of speed limiting devices in commercial vehicles.
While speaking on the new development, Boboye Oyeyemi, corps marshal, said, 65 percent of accidents that happens in the country are caused by commercial vehicles and it is usually due to over speeding. This will help reduce a lot of unwarranted accident, he note before saying it will also be enforced in private cars too, but first commercial vehicles. What he said after the cut.
“The final directive from the Presidency is clear; the enforcement date for the implementation of the speed limiting device is on Oct. 1 and we have had series of stakeholders meeting.
“The essence of today’s meeting is to finally convey the directive of the federal government to the stakeholders that with effect from Oct. 1, the implementation and enforcement would commence.
“We already have the portal that we will use to monitor this, we don’t need to pursue any vehicle, we will just stop you like we verify licence.
“On the tablet we will check whether your vehicle has been installed with the device, if it has not, we will impound the vehicle and we make sure that you do the right thing.
“We are not talking about fines now ,it’s to save lives so we will impound the vehicle then the owner of the vehicle will be made to install the device before the journey continues.
“For car occupants in a crash with an impact speed of 80km/h, the likelihood of death is 20 times what it would have been at an impact speed of 30km/h.
“Speed is the major cause of crashes in Nigeria with commercial vehicles accounting for 65 per cent of the crashes.”

Posted: at 11-08-2016 10:51 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- ngfineface at 11-08-2016 10:53 AM (7 years ago)
Story! They obviously will be lying against innocent drivers. I can only believe them if monitoring is done by a different unit or team.Nothing is different between FRSC and Police other than the fact that one is a professional and corporate beggar while the other is non professional and dirty beggar
Posted: at 11-08-2016 10:53 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 11-08-2016 11:47 AM (7 years ago)
YES,, PEOPLE HAVE TO BE CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL WHILE ON WHEEL..................
Posted: at 11-08-2016 11:47 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 11-08-2016 11:53 AM (7 years ago)
It's a welcome idea but d problem is d roads are terrible. D muscle u flex for d presidency to sign dis implementation of d speed limits , u shld have still use it to tell d presidency of d deplorable state of d road.
Posted: at 11-08-2016 11:53 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- morgan1 at 11-08-2016 11:55 AM (7 years ago)
Are u sure dis can work out in Naija???
Posted: at 11-08-2016 11:55 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Knowman at 11-08-2016 12:03 PM (7 years ago)
Commercial drivers should learn proper air brake pressure and how to check truck gauges too
Posted: at 11-08-2016 12:03 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- kison at 11-08-2016 12:04 PM (7 years ago)
YES FINALLY...
Posted: at 11-08-2016 12:04 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- morgan1 at 11-08-2016 12:21 PM (7 years ago)
Ok,,,let's see how it works in 9ja,,,,shebi light don dey abi???
Posted: at 11-08-2016 12:21 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Mynameis1 at 11-08-2016 12:32 PM (7 years ago)
We're moving forward
Posted: at 11-08-2016 12:32 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victorstic1 at 11-08-2016 01:18 PM (7 years ago)
THIS IS A GOOD DEVELOPMENT AND  A WAY FOR BOYS TO GET MONEY FROM DRIVERS
Posted: at 11-08-2016 01:18 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Powerfulify at 11-08-2016 01:38 PM (7 years ago)
Dats a good one
Posted: at 11-08-2016 01:38 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CHRISETTE at 11-08-2016 01:43 PM (7 years ago)
Hope the device no go cause probelm
Posted: at 11-08-2016 01:43 PM (7 years ago) | Hero