Miss Independent Vs Miss Submissive: Can women really be both?

Date: 10-03-2010 3:38 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 10-03-2010 03:38 PM (14 years ago)

Okay I am confused! Neyo says he wants miss independent, someone who walks like a boss and talks like a boss, car and her crib paid for and all of that. Every guy I meet seems to echo the same sentiments, “we want a woman who doesn’t depend on us for everything”. And truth be told, most women seem to have heard that message loud and clear with more women in the business world than ever before. In fact recent statistics from the US Labour union shows that 49.83% of all US jobs are held by women and that 51% of all workers in high paying professional and management jobs are women!

Okay, so what’s wrong with this picture? Well, I recently met up for drinks with an old male friend. He has been in and out of relationships for the past 2years and I could sense he was getting a bit frustrated with the woman folk. So I asked him, Bayo, what really is the problem? Why can’t you stay in a relationship longer than it takes paint to dry?  His answer annoyed me. “Glory, my last girlfriend’s wahala was too much.  She was too stubborn, she wasn’t submissive enough. I want a

submissive wife”. Bayo and I go way back, so I decided not to give him the tongue lashing he deserved. I just smiled and said “may God provide you with a door mat!” and continued sipping on my drink.

But my anger was further fuelled by this month’s issue of Essence Magazine. In an article posted by the magazines relationship columnist, the writer seemed to suggest that independent women are preventing men from being men in relationships. I wanted to scream! Why can’t men make up their minds, if you are a real man, then show your woman what you are made off instead of throwing hissy fits trying to shove your man hood down her throat.  (Okay rant over!)

After I had calmed down, I started thinking, is it really possible to be independent and submissive at the same time? Is there some invisible shade of grey between submissiveness and independence that we women most cross in order to become the perfect woman? The truth is I don’t know the answers to these questions. What I do know is that the world is sending us conflicting messages. It’s like we are expected to be business moguls, tearing down the barriers of the business world. Then like Cinderella, when the clock strikes five, our 400 pounds stilettos are meant to turn into aprons and our briefcases into  cooking spoons! How are we supposed to balance these seemingly polar personalities? How is it that after I have had the same job shift as my husband I am meant to come home to the cooking and cleaning and he comes home to the sofa and latest Manchester United scores?

This article seems to have raised more questions than answers. And if I am honest with you, I really do believe that a woman is meant to be submissive and should also be allowed to make her mark in the business world, if she so desires. But I also firmly believe that it takes 2 to tango. And every perfect dance requires a leading man, providing a steady hand at the small of the woman’s back and a steady footing for her to follow. What do you think?

Posted: at 10-03-2010 03:38 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 10-03-2010 04:18 PM (14 years ago)
Yes
Posted: at 10-03-2010 04:18 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Akpan01 at 10-03-2010 04:20 PM (14 years ago)
YES OO

Posted: at 10-03-2010 04:20 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- docreala at 10-03-2010 04:31 PM (14 years ago)
d ladies don talk e dey possible but not wif all.
Posted: at 10-03-2010 04:31 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- erikaakpan at 10-03-2010 05:48 PM (14 years ago)
some ladies think they can be submissive but really cant....these days its hard to find a submissive woman

Posted: at 10-03-2010 05:48 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mazi at 10-03-2010 05:56 PM (14 years ago)
yea...i agree...
will be much better wit d a man who is very understanding nd ready to offer some form of assistance, cos it will too difficult 4 d woman to comfortably undertake d two.
Posted: at 10-03-2010 05:56 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- ebony_cutie at 10-03-2010 06:04 PM (14 years ago)
Oh yea a can can be both,being independent doesnt make your arrogant or proud as ppl paint it
Posted: at 10-03-2010 06:04 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PreetyInstinct at 10-03-2010 06:06 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: erikaakpan on 10-03-2010 05:48 PM
some ladies think they can be submissive but really cant....these days its hard to find a submissive woman
Lolz u r sounding like a man.

Posted: at 10-03-2010 06:06 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- erikaakpan at 10-03-2010 06:14 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: PreetyInstinct on 10-03-2010 06:06 PM
Quote from: erikaakpan on 10-03-2010 05:48 PM
Lolz u r sounding like a man.

lol...im being serious though..most women dnt understand wat it means to BE submissive. being obedient, not makin big decisions that affect the both of u w/o ur spouse knowing, knowing the MAN is the head of the household. u cant be INDEPENDENT and u are married

Posted: at 10-03-2010 06:14 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PreetyInstinct at 10-03-2010 06:20 PM (14 years ago)
Hmmm married woman in d house speaking ladies open ur ears and eyes and learn. . .hehe Grin

Posted: at 10-03-2010 06:20 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- erikaakpan at 10-03-2010 06:25 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: PreetyInstinct on 10-03-2010 06:20 PM
Hmmm married woman in d house speaking ladies open ur ears and eyes and learn. . .hehe Grin

tell am o  Grin

Posted: at 10-03-2010 06:25 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PreetyInstinct at 10-03-2010 06:49 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: erikaakpan on 10-03-2010 06:25 PM
Quote from: PreetyInstinct on 10-03-2010 06:20 PM

tell am o  Grin
ah ah wetin i come dey do b4?Cheesy

Posted: at 10-03-2010 06:49 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- irule at 10-03-2010 07:28 PM (14 years ago)

Posted: at 10-03-2010 07:28 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Michelin89 at 11-03-2010 01:04 AM (14 years ago)
Choose a woman whom you know you can top. Don't look above you and expect her to come down!
Posted: at 11-03-2010 01:04 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- uc-1972 at 11-03-2010 05:29 AM (14 years ago)
Wheather independence or submissive its still a men's world no matter hw riche n powerful u are as a woman
Posted: at 11-03-2010 05:29 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Dubin at 11-03-2010 07:26 AM (14 years ago)
Balancing is the formula! you need to balance both the ends.  Thats what makes a women otherwise they would be called men.  Women do have capability of balancing office and house work. Multitasking - that is the word you can give. Decision making, excellence in work,proffessionalisam should always be equalified by Love, care and the art of giving. And thus gain the respect from men.  But yes, Men have to be supportive to their lady love because its the only thing wich makes them enthusiastic.
Posted: at 11-03-2010 07:26 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ktalent at 11-03-2010 08:26 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: uc-1972 on 11-03-2010 05:29 AM
Wheather independence or submissive its still a men's world no matter hw riche n powerful u are as a woman

it's a man's world abi? Go tell that to Hilary Clinton. SMH.

Posted: at 11-03-2010 08:26 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- DarkCoco at 11-03-2010 08:31 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Vixenx on 10-03-2010 04:18 PM
Yes

Wink Wink

YEP

Posted: at 11-03-2010 08:31 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- csc070025 at 11-03-2010 09:07 AM (14 years ago)
i tink u're rite..................women can b submissive and at the same time independent.
Posted: at 11-03-2010 09:07 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- DAA4REAL at 11-03-2010 09:33 AM (14 years ago)
The Leeeft one is the Female From DAA4REAL
Posted: at 11-03-2010 09:33 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 5