I Am Extending My Annual Leave Indefinitely - President Buhari Writes Letter To Senate

Date: 11-02-2017 1:51 pm (7 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 11-02-2017 01:51 PM (7 years ago)
President Muhammadu Buhari has said he would only return to Nigeria when his London doctors certify him well enough to do so.

In the February 5 letter to the President of the Senate, Bukola Saraki, informing the National Assembly of the extension of his vacation, President Buhari wrote:

“… I am extending my leave until the doctors are satisfied that certain factors are ruled out,” Mr. Buhari said.
The letter was exclusively obtained by PREMIUM TIMES on Saturday.

Although snippets of the letter were publicised by the presidency and the Senate on February 5 and 6 respectively, this is the first time the entire text and copy of the correspondence would be made available. See it after the cut.

The President wrote,

“Further to my letter dated 18th January 2017 in which I notified the Distinguished Senate of taking part of my annual leave.
“During my leave, I took the opportunity to have routine check-ups and consult my long standing doctors in London.
“In the course of the routine examinations, certain test result indicated the need for a course of medications and further appointments have been scheduled for next week.
“I am therefore notifying the Distinguished Senate that I am extending my leave until the doctors are satisfied that certain factors are ruled out. In the circumstances, the vice president will continue to act on my behalf.
“Please accept, Distinguished Senate President, the assurances of my highest consideration.”

This is the third time Mr. Buhari has transferred power to Mr. Osinbajo since the two leaders were inaugurated in May 2015.

The first time was on February 5, 2016 when the President embarked on a five-day vacation; and the second was in June 2016 when Mr. Buhari travelled to the United Kingdom for treatment of what the Presidency described as ear infection.

Posted: at 11-02-2017 01:51 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- beneno at 11-02-2017 01:57 PM (7 years ago)
Tell me the reason why people wouldn't think this man is dead  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 11-02-2017 01:57 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sweetestdude at 11-02-2017 02:03 PM (7 years ago)
Ok o! We don hear. We de wait 4 ur safe return Mr president.
Posted: at 11-02-2017 02:03 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- angesco at 11-02-2017 02:14 PM (7 years ago)
I wish I could extend my leave from work and still GET PAID my FULL SALARY!
Posted: at 11-02-2017 02:14 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gwallyontop at 11-02-2017 02:21 PM (7 years ago)
This man is giving us every reason to beleive he is dead. No doubt. Na wa for hypocrisy ooo
Posted: at 11-02-2017 02:21 PM (7 years ago) | Newbie
- dynasty4all at 11-02-2017 02:33 PM (7 years ago)
BUHARI IS NOT DEAD, BUT HE HAS A CANCER OF THE EAR THAT IS SPREADING TO HIS BRAIN THAT NEEDED   URGENT ATTENTION ACCORDING TO SAHARAREPORTERS.
HE NEEDS OUR COLLECTIVE PRAYERS......
MY PRAYER IS FOR GOD TO HEAL HIM, AND TOUCH HIS HEART SO THAT HE WILL STOP DISCRIMINATING, STOP BEING TRIBALIST, AND TURN A NEW LEAF.
LET HIM CHANGE HIS EVIL WAYS FOR HE IS EVIL, AND BELIEVE ME GOD WILL HEAL HIM.
Posted: at 11-02-2017 02:33 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 11-02-2017 03:16 PM (7 years ago)
this is completely normal when you are in govt employment.  You can extend your leave or shorten it, if certain situations demand it.
he is only exercising his privileges.
Posted: at 11-02-2017 03:16 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- Jeonleon at 11-02-2017 05:15 PM (7 years ago)
What if the doctors certify you fit next year? What then?........ The Office of The President is for the physically and mentally fit, especially, during this period of recession.
Posted: at 11-02-2017 05:15 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dramaking at 11-02-2017 05:37 PM (7 years ago)
Smh... Old souja neva dies, so Baba take ya time and get well soon.
Posted: at 11-02-2017 05:37 PM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nametalkam at 11-02-2017 06:08 PM (7 years ago)
If Buhari have cancer then the whole purpose politics gig is not worth it, he should simply resign and cal it a day already

Posted: at 11-02-2017 06:08 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kacylee at 11-02-2017 07:41 PM (7 years ago)
now there is a cause for alarm oooo

Posted: at 11-02-2017 07:41 PM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- schmit at 11-02-2017 09:06 PM (7 years ago)
We go see d end IJN
Posted: at 11-02-2017 09:06 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- akinmanchy at 11-02-2017 11:16 PM (7 years ago)
Ok na, best of luck Mr President

Posted: at 11-02-2017 11:16 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- mjyabah2 at 12-02-2017 05:21 AM (7 years ago)
Is this another development or same news we read days ago already? Was he not suppose to return this Saturday, Feb 11, 2017? Now it makes sense why Tinubu and co would visit him while he was scheduled to come home within days. I still wish him speedy recovery.
Posted: at 12-02-2017 05:21 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- james987 at 12-02-2017 06:27 AM (7 years ago)
Funny.. Nigerians chose to be blind folded.. Hence we are in darkness yet we have many blind followers.. Till 100yrs to come Jonathan is still the best.
Posted: at 12-02-2017 06:27 AM (7 years ago) | Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 12-02-2017 08:02 AM (7 years ago)
Quote from: dynasty4all on 11-02-2017 02:33 PM
BUHARI IS NOT DEAD, BUT HE HAS A CANCER OF THE EAR THAT IS SPREADING TO HIS BRAIN THAT NEEDED   URGENT ATTENTION ACCORDING TO SAHARAREPORTERS.
HE NEEDS OUR COLLECTIVE PRAYERS......
MY PRAYER IS FOR GOD TO HEAL HIM, AND TOUCH HIS HEART SO THAT HE WILL STOP DISCRIMINATING, STOP BEING TRIBALIST, AND TURN A NEW LEAF.
LET HIM CHANGE HIS EVIL WAYS FOR HE IS EVIL, AND BELIEVE ME GOD WILL HEAL HIM.
   Why do we have to pray for him and not for thousands in IDP camp, killed and wounded IPOB protesters, thousands of innocent individuals being killed by the Fulani herdsmen, several citizens rotten alive in Nigeria hospitals bcos of inadequate medical facilities.....etc? Afterrall, we were made known he was just going for a medical checkup(Even when we have a budget of N233bn for the Health Ministry)
Posted: at 12-02-2017 08:02 AM (7 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Donchijoz at 12-02-2017 09:54 AM (7 years ago)
Yeye de  smell.
Posted: at 12-02-2017 09:54 AM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- AmazingMarie at 12-02-2017 02:19 PM (7 years ago)
PMB get well soon.
Posted: at 12-02-2017 02:19 PM (7 years ago) | Hero
- LegendaryU at 12-02-2017 03:51 PM (7 years ago)
Oooooh, we have heared oooo.
Posted: at 12-02-2017 03:51 PM (7 years ago) | Upcoming
- BournIdentity at 13-02-2017 02:43 AM (7 years ago)
I just dey observe the mata BT no kwams

Posted: at 13-02-2017 02:43 AM (7 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

6. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

7. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

8. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

9. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

10. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

11. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

12. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

13. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

14. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

15. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

16. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu

17. Daughter Of 14th Emir Of Kano Replies X User Who Described Her Husband As A ''Yoruba Man''