Ex Governor Of Jigawa, Saminu Turaki Who Was Arrested By EFCC, Stays In Detention Until September

Date: 07-07-2017 12:33 pm (6 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 7-07-2017 12:33 PM (6 years ago)

Saminu Turaki, a former governor of Jigawa state who was arrested on Tuesday by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, may stay in the custody of the anti-graft agency until at least September 19.
Mr. Turaki was arrested at the International Conference Centre, Abuja by operatives of the agency at the launch of a book on the late Zakariya Maimalari.
Law enforcement agents had been unable to arrest him since a warrant for his arrest was issued by a federal court more than four years ago
The live airing of the book launch on TV is believed to have alerted the anti-graft agency to Mr. Turaki’s presence at the event attended by major political leaders, leading to his eventual arrest
He had been on the wanted list of the EFCC since May 3, 2013 when a Federal High Court in Dutse, the Jigawa State capital, issued the warrant for his arrest for serially failing to appear before the court.
The court, presided by Justice Sabi’u Yahuza, had directed the police and the EFCC to apprehend Mr. Turaki on sight and bring him before it.
“You are hereby commanded to arrest the said Ibrahim Saminu Turaki and bring him before me at Federal High Court, Dutse, Jigawa State without delay”, the court ordered the law enforcement agencies.
The order was as a result of Mr. Turaki’s repeated refusal to appear before the court to answer charges of massive looting of his state made against him by the EFCC.
Mr. Turaki, famous for his pet leopards, served two terms as governor of Jigawa from 1999 to 2007. He was first arraigned by the EFCC before Justice Binta Murtala Nyako of the Federal Capital Territory High Court on May 13, 2007 on a 32-count charge of misappropriating N36 billion while in office.
Following his arraignment, he was granted bail in the sum of N100 million with two federal legislators, Bawa Bwari and Bashir Adamu, standing as his sureties. It was further revealed that the last Mr Turaki appeared in court was in 2011 and has been evading arrest since 2013 until luck ran out on him on Tuesday.

Posted: at 7-07-2017 12:33 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruthie at 7-07-2017 12:37 PM (6 years ago)
I HEAR YOU!
Posted: at 7-07-2017 12:37 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- freethinker at 7-07-2017 01:11 PM (6 years ago)
NA DEM SABI
IN BIAFRA WE STAND
Posted: at 7-07-2017 01:11 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pricklong at 7-07-2017 01:25 PM (6 years ago)
just put him there in the prison no need to judge him again
Posted: at 7-07-2017 01:25 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osayan1 at 7-07-2017 09:19 PM (6 years ago)
corrution
Posted: at 7-07-2017 09:19 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 8-07-2017 03:30 AM (6 years ago)
Hausas Shouldnt Term Igbo's Corrupt And Materialistic.The Truth Be Told, They Are D Kettle That Call D Pot Black.Very Hopeless!
Posted: at 8-07-2017 03:30 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teral at 8-07-2017 05:50 AM (6 years ago)
HE WE BRIBE HIS WAY OUT. THEY ARE ALL THE SAME 
Posted: at 8-07-2017 05:50 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- WhaleDog at 8-07-2017 06:27 AM (6 years ago)
Just imagine the amount involved ! This man Na barawo

Posted: at 8-07-2017 06:27 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 9-07-2017 01:29 PM (6 years ago)
A good number of Northern politicians are fast becoming the biggest trouble with Nigeria. So corrupt and hopeless. Politically hopeless!
Posted: at 9-07-2017 01:29 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. UK-based Nigerian G@y Man Laments How Family Pressures Him To Marry A Woman Despite His Status

2. I Vow To Keep Trolling Actress Bimbo Ademoye - Actor Deyemi Okanlawon Reveals Why

3. Fulham v Manchester City: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

4. Your First Salary Belong To Your Father For His Blessings Not to Your Pastor - Kanayo O. Kanayo

5. Nottingham v Chelsea: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

6. Manchester United v Arsenal: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

7. Singer, Fireboy Dismisses Rumour Of Rivalry With His Colleague, Asake

8. One Shot As Soldiers Break Out Of Their Cells To Protest Poor Welfare In Sokoto

9. Reaction As Davido Likes Tweet Calling Samklef A ‘Fool At 40’

10. Brickhall School And Ovoke Family Issue Press Statement After Burial Of 4 Year Old

1. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

2. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

3. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

4. Suspected Sextortion Blackmailer, Olamide Made £2m Vows To Release Embarrassing PIC/VID Of Boys

5. Mercy Johnson Was With us in The Boat - Survivor of Boat Accident That Killed Jnr Pope Reveals

6. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

7. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

8. CBN Extends Suspension of Charges on Cash Deposits

9. If I Buy You A Flight Ticket, Am I Suppose To Tell You To Wear Seat Belt – Adanma Luke Attacks

10. Reactions As Mohbad’s Father Completes Renovation Of Family House In Ekiti State