Nigerian Gay Rights Activist, Aderonke Apata Finally Granted Asylum in The UK (Photos)

Date: 12-08-2017 8:18 am (6 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 12-08-2017 08:18 AM (6 years ago)

A Nigerian gay rights activist, Aderonke Apata, who was denied asylum by the UK home office for over 13 years and told by a judge that she was faking her segxwality has finally won her battle.

She started a campaign by means of online networking for the UK government to concede to her asylum demands as she dreaded being prosecuted and even killed in Nigeria in the event that she ever gets repatriated to Nigeria. She was denied asylum in 2015 after the presiding judge said her appearance did not depict that of a lesbian woman. Indeed, even after she shared photographs of her Nigerian lesbian partner, Happiness Agboro, the UK Home office still said they don’t trust her claim.

Aderonke expressed delight after her application for asylum was finally granted today. Speaking to The Independent, she said

“I overwhelmed with gladness but remain angry knowing that there are other LGBTI people seeking asylum facing the same fear of deportation that I had just overcome. I was just crying on the phone with my solicitor when he broke the news to me. I must have embarrassed him. I wasn’t assimilating all of the information he was giving to me on the phone as I was crying and singing.”
She expressed anger at the Home office in the UK for accusing her of lying about her segxwality.

“Despite the gains in acceptance of LGBTI people in the UK, LGBTI people seeking asylum in the UK’s situation remains precarious and appears not to fit into the wider LGBTI community. The Home Office needs to catch up with the rest of the UK, drop its vile ‘proof of segxwality’ policy and move on from 1967. All LGBTI people seeking asylum in the UK want, like anyone else, is to be treated with fairness, dignity, and humanity. Having been forced to flee by hate and intolerance at home, being branded a liar by the Home Office is demeaning and cruel for LGBTI people seeking asylum. I hope the Home Office will look back, reflect on my case and treat everyone with the decency and respect they deserve.”

Posted: at 12-08-2017 08:18 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mykie010 at 12-08-2017 09:02 AM (6 years ago)
Dem no dey kill person for Nigeria for gay matter oo,make u go ask bobrisky,na NCOs of him dem dey reject una asylum.
Posted: at 12-08-2017 09:02 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 12-08-2017 09:23 AM (6 years ago)
Jesus said HE WHO IS WITHOUT SIN THROW THE FIRST STONE.

TRUST Nigeria to throw the FIRST stone - AGAIN!

FINAL JUDGEMENT is in the HANDS of GOD.

Posted: at 12-08-2017 09:23 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pricklong at 12-08-2017 11:34 AM (6 years ago)
THIS WOMAN NO RESMBLE LESBIAN  THIS WOMAN WHEN SHE DON  GET 3 CHILDREN BEFORE SHE TRAVEL TO UK  HER KPOMO DON SEE FIRE FOR MEN HANDS THAT TIME WHEN SHE THEY SELL RICE FOR OSHODI
Posted: at 12-08-2017 11:34 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 12-08-2017 11:39 AM (6 years ago)
I Heard Gay Right Activist.I Checked The Name, Aderonke.What A Tribal Disaster.An Epidemic Hopelessness There.Nawaa O!
Posted: at 12-08-2017 11:39 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- proly at 12-08-2017 12:27 PM (6 years ago)
Hahhahahh...this woman don't look like gay at alll....
Posted: at 12-08-2017 12:27 PM (6 years ago) | Hero
- tuscanT at 12-08-2017 12:33 PM (6 years ago)
 Who ever know this wo!!!!man should tell her never  to step his leg on  Nigeria soil as she has rejected Nigeria so as Nigeria Rejected her case close adios
Posted: at 12-08-2017 12:33 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Starnixx at 12-08-2017 01:51 PM (6 years ago)
Some people go into things that are senseless what the use of this one
Posted: at 12-08-2017 01:51 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Markeve at 13-08-2017 05:41 PM (6 years ago)
nonsense news.
Posted: at 13-08-2017 05:41 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 13-08-2017 06:46 PM (6 years ago)
Very Hopeless!Hopeless Generation Of Gay-happy-buttocks!Nawaa O!
Posted: at 13-08-2017 06:46 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ruthie at 14-08-2017 02:05 PM (6 years ago)
TOO BAD...HELLFIRE CANDIDATE
Posted: at 14-08-2017 02:05 PM (6 years ago) | Hero