DIEZANI SAGA! N30m I Collected Was For Logistics Not Bribe – Ex-INEC Official, Christian Nwosu

Date: 03-11-2017 6:58 am (6 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 3-11-2017 06:58 AM (6 years ago)

A former INEC officer, Christian Nwosu on Thursday told a Federal High Court in Lagos that he was not bribed by former Petroleum Minister, Diezani Alison-Madueke to rig the 2015 general elections for the PDP.

He, however, admitted that the N30 million he collected from her was for “logistics”.

Nwosu, a former Administrative Secretary of the Independent National Electoral Commission in Kwara State, spoke while testifying in a trial-within-trial before Justice Mohammed Idris.

Nwosu was charged by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) alongside another official, Tijani Bashir, for allegedly receiving N30 million bribe from Alison-Madueke.

Speaking under cross-examination by the EFCC prosecutor, Mr Rotimi Oyedepo, Nwosu claimed he did not personally benefit from the money.

“I did not personally benefit from the N30 million; the ad hoc staff benefited because the elections went smoothly with the logistics support”, he said.

“The money was not given to me by way of cheque; we were asked to go to the bank to collect it.

“No cheque was given to me at the bank. I just signed a document at the bank which confirmed the receipt of the money.

“I did not instruct the bank to transfer the money to any account because it was not for me but for the coordinator who is to ensure that the money gets to the ad hoc staff.”

Nwosu said N13 million and N17 million was paid into his accounts on April 7 and April 13, 2015 respectively.

Justice Idris adjourned continuation of trial until November 15.

Posted: at 3-11-2017 06:58 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kixme at 3-11-2017 07:11 AM (6 years ago)
 Roll Eyes ::)N30million for logistics alone?? Abeg na the whole country logistics??
Posted: at 3-11-2017 07:11 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 3-11-2017 08:53 AM (6 years ago)
He no benefit from d moni, so how the money take waka go?
Posted: at 3-11-2017 08:53 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruthie at 3-11-2017 09:54 AM (6 years ago)
BASTARD THIEF!
Posted: at 3-11-2017 09:54 AM (6 years ago) | Hero
- tunlade70 at 3-11-2017 12:33 PM (6 years ago)
See lie! These think all Nigerians are fools. What is election logistic having to do with Deziani? Is she the INEC Chairman? Tell that story to your village people, they are the only ones who can believe you. 
Posted: at 3-11-2017 12:33 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- BournIdentity at 6-11-2017 11:31 PM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 6-11-2017 11:31 PM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero