Nigeria's Minister of Finance, Mr. Olusegun Aganga, emerges World Bank chairman

Date: 26-04-2010 7:46 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 26-04-2010 07:46 PM (13 years ago)
ABUJA—MINISTER of Finance, Mr. Olusegun Aganga, in Washington D.C. has emerged as the new Chairman of the Board of World Bank and International Monetary Fund, BWIs, after a keenly contested election.

MINISTER of Finance, Mr. Olusegun Aganga, emerged as the new Chairman of the Board of World Bank and International Monetary Fund, BWIs

This was just as the World Bank indicated interest to carry out a comprehensive audit of the power sector in the country with a view to finding lasting solution to the power crisis.

The move was a follow-up to the recent parley between Acting President Goodluck Jonathan and top management of the world financial body during his last visit to the United States, US.

Aganga told journalists at the meeting in Washington DC that the new appointment had further demonstrated the important role Nigeria plays in the global economic front.

He said: “As you are aware, Nigeria was elected as the chairman, board of the BWIs for the 2010 during the 2009 annual meeting held in Istanbul, Turkey. I am delighted to inform you that I have since assumed the responsibility of that office.”

The minister said the appointment was “a unique opportunity to serve” noting that such opportunities come once in every 20 to 30 years.

Describing the new role as a huge challenge, Aganga said he will not disappoint Nigeria and the international community that offered him the role under the current global economic recovery stage.

World Bank experts visit Nigeria for power audit

Meantime, a team of World Bank experts would be visiting Nigeria on May 10, 2010 for the exercise that would proffer solution to the power crisis in the country.

Addressing journalists at the World Bank/International Monetary Fund, IMF, 2010 Spring Meeting, in Washington DC, Aganga, who was joined by the Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria, Lamido Sanusi, said because the issue of power had become central to the nation’s economy, the Federal Government was determined to engage power experts in all the fronts to tackle the problem.

Aganga noted: “The meeting was very fruitful, as the bank stands ready to assist the country. The meeting resolved to have a comprehensive audit of the power sector. A World Bank mission to this effect is envisaged for May 10, 2010.”

He told reporters that the Federal Government power committee had done its audit of the power sector, noting that what the World Bank promised to do with Nigeria was to share their own understanding of the power problem.

“They also have information to share with us and that is what the May 10, 2010 meeting is going to focus on,” the minister said.

Asked what the federal government intended to do to meet the power needs of the over 140 million Nigerians, Aganga said the acting president had assured investors and power experts of creating an enabling environment, that is giving the legal framework, in the sector as well as aligning and identifying investors that will key into the energy sector infrastructure development.

He noted that since financing was not the problem militating against the improvement of the power sector in the country, the government would, this time around concentrate on execution and having a plan that “we will adhere to” as well as ensuring that there was continuity in the entire power arrangement.

Other areas the minister said the World Bank had shown interests to assist the country include ensuring a systematic engagement and consultations on issues relating to agricultural sector.

He said the bank was also supporting ongoing reforms in the banking sector and the proposed Asset Management Company; strengthening the supervisory and regulatory framework for the financial sector and support for the Small and Medium Scale Enterprises, SMEs, in the country.

The minister said the meeting with Oby Ezekwesili, World Bank Vice President, Africa region also provided the opportunity to follow up on wide range of issues discussed with the World Bank Group during the visit of Jonathan mid April.

Posted: at 26-04-2010 07:46 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- awoyemilanre at 26-04-2010 07:56 PM (13 years ago)
mr olusegun aganga, we nigerian proud of u. carry on. naija 4 life.  Cheesy
Posted: at 26-04-2010 07:56 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- BECAREFUL at 26-04-2010 08:21 PM (13 years ago)
YES OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO,HERE WE GO AGAIN
Posted: at 26-04-2010 08:21 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- popo2009 at 26-04-2010 08:52 PM (13 years ago)
If only our greedy politician will adopt transparency in our gont.
Nigeria has got the human and natural resources.
Aganga.....we are proud of you
Posted: at 26-04-2010 08:52 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dollar22 at 26-04-2010 08:56 PM (13 years ago)
OHHHHHHHHH GLORY BE TO GOD FOR THAT GOOD NEWS OF NIGERIA NOT
419 419
althetime[/b]
Posted: at 26-04-2010 08:56 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dollar22 at 26-04-2010 09:01 PM (13 years ago)
3 nigerian in world bank now paul oguma ngozi okonjoiweala and Aganga we are proud of you
Posted: at 26-04-2010 09:01 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pinochris2 at 26-04-2010 09:07 PM (13 years ago)
Lol
Posted: at 26-04-2010 09:07 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- famous5 at 26-04-2010 10:05 PM (13 years ago)
every good thing that we aspire in life can come out of 9ja if we can only believe and hope for it
Posted: at 26-04-2010 10:05 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mayokun91 at 26-04-2010 10:16 PM (13 years ago)
Datz   good   new....pray   he   doesn't   phyukup   o,......a  very   mch   welcome   development   :-)
Posted: at 26-04-2010 10:16 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ksurrina at 26-04-2010 11:56 PM (13 years ago)
Congratulation Mr. Olusegun Aganga. But those in the  intelligentsia know that you cannot put country first and so am not looking at you to change nothing. We also know that IMF is for poor countries who you guys claim to assist and rob them blindly with high interest rate and dubious conditons. But once again congratulation on your appointment please continue to fly the flag of Nigeria with Pride and Dignity.

Posted: at 26-04-2010 11:56 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- udegeorge at 27-04-2010 12:05 AM (13 years ago)
GOODNEWS, GLORY BE TO GOD. MR  AGANGA PLS KEEP IT UP WE ARE WITH YOU  Smiley Smiley Smiley
Posted: at 27-04-2010 12:05 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Mba5 at 27-04-2010 12:21 AM (13 years ago)
Thats fine.
Posted: at 27-04-2010 12:21 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Elmumeen at 27-04-2010 01:05 AM (13 years ago)
Thanx to the Most high GOD!!!...greater pride.
Lets rise and recite the National Anthem.
Arise o compatriot, NIG........
E...l...m...u...m...e...e...n
Posted: at 27-04-2010 01:05 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- voldermort at 27-04-2010 03:05 AM (13 years ago)
Mr Aganga,rise 2 ur feet nd say no ur defeat
Posted: at 27-04-2010 03:05 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- voldermort at 27-04-2010 03:05 AM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 27-04-2010 03:05 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- voldermort at 27-04-2010 03:08 AM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 27-04-2010 03:08 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- donez at 27-04-2010 05:52 AM (13 years ago)
Mr chairman sir, BRAVO! The Lord is your strength.
Posted: at 27-04-2010 05:52 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Mekoyor at 27-04-2010 07:05 AM (13 years ago)
Gud newz.

Posted: at 27-04-2010 07:05 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- fredaesere at 27-04-2010 10:38 AM (13 years ago)
well,This is some good news but on the other hand,do you have any idea what it is to fully involve the world bank to the extent of involving agriculture,well I wonder how Nigerian farmers would cope when the world bank decides to handle issues of our Agriculture,You should take an extensive look at the Nafta agreement and its Effect on Mexico corn farmers,Other big countries give large amount of subsidies to their farmers now what happens to Nigerian farmers,God help us,Our pple perish for lack of knowledge.
Posted: at 27-04-2010 10:38 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- blings_is_back at 27-04-2010 10:53 AM (13 years ago)
u sure sey oyibo people sabi sey that man is from Nigeria?
Posted: at 27-04-2010 10:53 AM (13 years ago) | Hero

1. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

2. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

5. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

6. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

7. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

6. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

7. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

10. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider