PLEASE ADVICE ME ON WHAT TO DO

Date: 17-05-2010 11:12 pm (13 years ago) | Author: teke
- at 17-05-2010 11:12 PM (13 years ago)
I live abroad and i'm planing on having a traditional wedding but worried about the safety of my husband, he is a foreigner white and is not safe for him going to Rivers State Port-harcourt.

So i was thinking if it is possible for us to do it here without both of us being present in Nigeria  but my father said no, so i came up with another idea of doing the traditional mariage in  lagos or abuja cos it is safer but expensive to transport everyone down there.

My dad said it will be better to do it in the village or Port-harcourt what should i do?

We already did court and white wedding here in his country and now we like to do the traditional mariage very soon but i am worried about his safety to port harcourt, my family told me that traditional mariage is the most important thing in married life.

Should we forget about the traditional mariage?
And what is so important about traditional mariage?

I just need an advice on how to go with this or to make it work and how to convince my dad to accept it, traditional mariage is very expensive in River state and once they discover my husband is white they might double the bride price, so we are only preparing for it and how we can go about it, we are legally married but i still want my traditional wedding so that i can be recognised as a married woman in my family according to custom or tradition. Your advice will be appreciated.

Posted: at 17-05-2010 11:12 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Kennee at 17-05-2010 11:28 PM (13 years ago)
If yur Dad will not Put the Safety of yur Husband into Consideration, then l believe dat Man is Selfish and Heartless

If he insists yu must go over the Rivers, then tell him to forget about it

Posted: at 17-05-2010 11:28 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Priceless-jewel at 17-05-2010 11:29 PM (13 years ago)
get bk 2 u
Posted: at 17-05-2010 11:29 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vixenx at 17-05-2010 11:30 PM (13 years ago)
Then invite your families to come out to where you are instead.
Posted: at 17-05-2010 11:30 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mallorca at 17-05-2010 11:56 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bians on 17-05-2010 11:12 PM
I live abroad and i'm planing on having a traditional wedding but worried about the safety of my husband, he is a foreigner white and is not safe for him going to Rivers State Port-harcourt.

So i was thinking if it is possible for us to do it here without both of us being present in Nigeria  but my father said no, so i came up with another idea of doing the traditional mariage in  lagos or abuja cos it is safer but expensive to transport everyone down there.

My dad said it will be better to do it in the village or Port-harcourt what should i do?

We already did court and white wedding here in his country and now we like to do the traditional mariage very soon but i am worried about his safety to port harcourt, my family told me that traditional mariage is the most important thing in married life.

I just need an advice on how to go with this or to make it work and how to convince my dad to accept it, traditional mariage is very expensive in River state and once they discover my husband is white they might double the bride price, so we are only preparing for it and how we can go about it, we are legally married but i still want my traditional wedding so that i can be recognised as a married woman in my family according to custom or tradition. Your advice will be appreciated.

you mean that my own and only one treasure base of the nation is now Danger Zone? i disagree with you unless there is still more things you need  us to know about your ex life.

Posted: at 17-05-2010 11:56 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- stillmalachy at 18-05-2010 12:22 AM (13 years ago)
i thing you shuld talk things out wit ur dad again nd if he doesnt agree then 4get it....ur husband's safety is important here since u guys are married already....most Naija guys are too desperate nd can do anything bcos of money....
Posted: at 18-05-2010 12:22 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- akjasper at 18-05-2010 01:18 AM (13 years ago)
Plan wisely.....!
Posted: at 18-05-2010 01:18 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- esonu at 18-05-2010 08:24 AM (13 years ago)
Huh???

Posted: at 18-05-2010 08:24 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- myragonza at 18-05-2010 08:28 AM (13 years ago)

take a flight straight to PH and drive in an unconspicuous transport straight to the village without any stopovers....

Posted: at 18-05-2010 08:28 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Mr-World at 18-05-2010 08:34 AM (13 years ago)

Posted: at 18-05-2010 08:34 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- docreala at 18-05-2010 08:36 AM (13 years ago)
send dem money to do the traditional for village while u & ur husband go dey abuja dey respond via satellite. if e no do dem,den just continue to dey enjoy ur sef traditional no be by force.
Na tru all those things wahala dey take enter sef.

Posted: at 18-05-2010 08:36 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ibeawuchisamuel at 18-05-2010 08:55 AM (13 years ago)

Quote from: mallorca on 17-05-2010 11:56 PM

you mean that my own and only one treasure base of the nation is now Danger Zone? i disagree with you unless there is still more things you need  us to know about your ex life.
Posted: at 18-05-2010 08:55 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chrisphemy at 18-05-2010 10:00 AM (13 years ago)
Am giving u go ahead 2 enta river state and proceed with ur traditional weddin,nothin wil happen.As 4 d bride price,let it be tripled and allow ur whity 2 pay,it shows ur quality and standard.HAPI MARRIED LIFE.
Posted: at 18-05-2010 10:00 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- OB3ICE at 18-05-2010 10:07 AM (13 years ago)
Sorry to say this but your father is greedy. Forget the traditional marriage, and later they'll accept your terms.

Posted: at 18-05-2010 10:07 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onchedu at 18-05-2010 10:22 AM (13 years ago)
Now this is a tyt spot U are in. U are married already but the traditional rites like U rightly pointed out the recognition is important.

Sorry but I don't trust Ur dad cos of his insistence in wanting Ur hubby, being white and American, to come to a village in Rivers state considering the present insecurity facing the foreigners there.

My advice is to put off the traditional rites if Ur daddy doesnt bulge on having it done on safer grounds like Abj and U all don't have any well armed security forces to provide service to U and Ur husband while u are around, is to defer the occasion to a later date. Maybe years after if U can be comfortable with that.

As for the double bride price and all that stuff, U are the one that'l talk to them to behave themselves otherwise U and Ur husband will leave the ceremony.
Posted: at 18-05-2010 10:22 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- dirtykid at 18-05-2010 11:02 AM (13 years ago)

If ur dad will not consider the fact that ur husband is not safe... Cancel the traditional marriage, send them the money to make it there without ur presence. what kind of tradition shit is that.. that u have to risk it all. Na waoo for some parents, that cant understand their children.

Posted: at 18-05-2010 11:02 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Agatex at 18-05-2010 11:18 AM (13 years ago)
stop!!! all these things you fear about is just inconsequential just come home do your thing and go back nobody is going to bite you or your whity husband or you can hire a black person to represent your husband then give them one excuse,you may tell them your husband tight schedule in the office did not allow him to come down and that he sends his apology, we even do that in Nigeria here.
Posted: at 18-05-2010 11:18 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- esonu at 18-05-2010 11:32 AM (13 years ago)
passing

Posted: at 18-05-2010 11:32 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Kennee at 18-05-2010 08:34 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: myragonza on 18-05-2010 08:28 AM

take a flight straight to PH and drive in an unconspicuous transport straight to the village without any stopovers....

Sorry

The Dad will definitely want the Whole town to know his Daughter is Marrying a White Man, so there'll be nothing hidden eventually.

And even if he Doesn't, other family members or elders will spread the word

It's gonna be Risky no matter what

Unless the Dad is influential

Posted: at 18-05-2010 08:34 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Tinubu’s Son On Chagoury’s Board Is A Conflict Of Interest Says Atiku

2. Heartbroken Father Mourns His 14yr Old Daughter Who Was Reportedly Poisoned in School

3. VIDEO: Church Service Comes To A Halt As Man Pulls Gun And Attempts To Shoot Pastor

4. Crystal Palace v Manchester Utd: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

5. "We Are Not Involved In Prince Harry, Meghan Visit To Nigeria" - British High Commissioner

6. Former Kano State Governor, Shekarau’s Residence Razed By Inferno

7. VIDEO: Nollywood Actress & Ex-Beauty Queen, Ronke Tiamiyu Welcomes First Child

8. Bayern Munich Considers Replacing Tuchel With Man Utd Rejected Coach, Ten Hag

9. VIDEO: Singer, Yemi Alade Berates House Demolition By Lagos Govt. Across The State

10. Actor, Murphy Afolabi’s Daughter Celebrates His Posthumous Birthday With Touching Note

11. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

12. Lagos Govt Shut Down 367 Churches, Mosques, Hotels, Others

13. Benue Man, Prince Matthew Regains Freedom From Kidnappers On His Birthday

14. NDLEA Intercepts 4,752kg Of Cannabis In Gas Tanker In Abuja

15. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

16. 'My Father Justice Oputa Was Socrates Of Nigerian Supreme Court'– Charly Boy Says, Pays Tribute

17. 'If You Have Erection, Size & Fertility Issues, Discuss It With Her Before Engaging Her' -Man

18. VIDEO; "Grammy Don Cast, Make We Manage Headies" – BBnaija’s Whitemoney

19. Two Police Officers, Three Vigilante Members Killed By Unknown Gunmen In Enugu

20. Ibadan Court Remands Tenant, Dickson Peter In Prison For Setting Landlord’s House On Fire

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

3. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

4. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

5. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

6. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

7. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

8. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria

9. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

10. Why I Am Hardly Seen in Public These Days - Veteran Actress, Stella Damasus Opens up (VID)